RSS

2012 in review

01 Jan

As indicated yesterday… WordPress.com was kind enough to create a summary for this blog for 2012 and here it is: Click here to see the complete report.

Here’s an excerpt:

19,000 people fit into the new Barclays Center to see Jay-Z perform. This blog was viewed about 96,000 times in 2012. If it were a concert at the Barclays Center, it would take about 5 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Those numbers were actually quiet amazing to me. This huge rise visitors came as quiet a surprise. This blog started slow in April 2011 with a total of 25K visitors. By comparison the day with the most hits this year (July 4th) generated more hits than 2/3 of the months last year.

But what meant the most to me was not these hits, but the huge rise in followers of this blog. It seems I must be doing something right for so many people in our small microcosmos to follow my ramblings. Thank you all a lot for this… you can not imagine how much this means to me!

But there are also some numbers that WordPress cannot know about, that I would like to share with you and that is what I did this year. In total I build 8 buildings, painted 15 tanks, 5 guns and 379 minis. All in 25/28mm. So on average I painted more than one mini a day. Given how little time I had over the past three months and how much time I spend on each Napoleonic mini, I was quiet surprised it ended up this way. And I would like to share some of my favourites with you once more:

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

12te Reserveinfanterie (in line with skirmishers)

12te Reserveinfanterie (in line with skirmishers)

French 12pdr 1

French 12pdr

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand

Major Klüx

Major Klüx

Soviet Assault Engineers (group shot) 2

Soviet Assault Engineers (group shot)

Hirdmen

Viking Hirdmen

Viking Warlord Jarl Thorson

Viking Warlord Jarl Thorson

2te Preussische Leibhusaren

2te Preussische Leibhusaren

SeAL team (DEVGRU)

SeAL team (DEVGRU)

4e - Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine, all 3 battalions

4e – Régiment d’Artillerie de la marine, all 3 battalions

Major-General Sir John Byng, with ADC and foxhounds

Major-General Sir John Byng, with ADC and foxhounds

I am quiet happy that I did not just paint Napoleonic minis this year, but also some other periods. This year the focus will be on the Napoleonic period even more though. I need to finish my minis for our Möckern (Völkerschlacht von Leipzig) project in time for Crisis in Antwerp (the firs Saturday in November) this year. I just updated the rosters (those units highlighted in green are done):

As you can see, there is still a lot of work to be done. 61 minis plus one battery for the French, 103 minis plus 15 cavalry and three batteries for the Prussians. And both sides still lack their casualty and battery area markers and virtually all their commanders. And I will have to build the riverboards for the game as well as the village of Möckern itself. So essentially I will need to keep the pace set this year up. Not sure how I am going to do that though. So I guess you can stay tuned for one interesting year!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2013 in General

 

8 responses to “2012 in review

  1. The Angry Lurker

    January 1, 2013 at 00:45

    Well have a good year in 2013 my friend.

     
  2. Ray

    January 1, 2013 at 06:04

    Great figures!!! Have a great New Year!

     
  3. Victorious Secret

    January 1, 2013 at 20:36

    Happy New Year Burkhard!! Man, love the works!! It’s nice too see them all again.

    By the way, where are those fox hound come from again?

    VS

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2013 at 20:32

      Thank you Ben! Looking back at 2012, I was quiet happy with my turnout. And those were only my favourites shown here.

      Those Foxhounds are from Eureka, from their George Washington set.

       
  4. vonpeterhimself

    January 3, 2013 at 11:19

    An impressive year result Burkhard. I wish I was half as productive!! Nice to see a selection of your years work.

    Good luck for the year ahead. I’ll be watching you know! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 3, 2013 at 12:08

      Lol… I wish I was twice as productive! :-D Right now I am just hoping I can get everything in time for Crisis… Only eleven month to go for thirteen units… This is not looking good! :-/

       

What do you think?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

