RSS

French Foot Artillery

08 Aug

Finally finished these. They must have been sitting on my table for about a month, but somehow real live always seemed to intervene. But to be honest… I should have known, for these minis seemed to be cast under a bad moon from the beginning.

I had bought these used in 2009. Back then I was no big expert on the Napoleonic era (I am probably not one now either), but back then I did not notice that the seller had given me British guns to go with these. So when I took them out of their bag, this was one of the things I noticed. But there was worse to come. When I looked at the minis themselves they looked horrible. They had been half painted when I bought them. But during the time they had spend in storage the paint must have reacted with the primer or something else. As a result the minis looked like they had been rolled in sawdust while still wet. So they spend a couple of days in acetone, were brushed off afterwards and detail-cleaned with a sharp knife. Not that it worked 100%, since in some spots flakes of the old paint had lodged that simply would not be removed.

Anyway, I started to paint them so many weeks ago, and I have to say it was a mixed blessing. While these Perry miniatures have a great animation, some of the faces were not really my pot of tea and there were some things that did not make perfect sense. Like one mini having a canteen strap but no canteen. But I am happy with the results and these should form a nice nucleus for my French Artillery for Möckern. So here come the pictures.

French 6pdr. gun

French 6pdr. gun

French Foot Artillery crew loading 6pdr.

French Foot Artillery crew loading 6pdr.

Loading 6pdr.

Loading 6pdr.

Gunner

Gunner

Priming 6pdr

Priming 6pdr

Priming 6pdr

Priming 6pdr

Firing 6pdr

Firing 6pdr (absolutely hated the guy on the front left... horrible face to paint)

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Loading Howitzer

Infantry helping hand looking amazed at the commotion by the gun

Infantry helping hand looking amazed at the commotion by the gun

The whole battery

The whole battery

The whole battery

The whole battery

As usual, these are based for Republic to Empire.

 

2 responses to “French Foot Artillery

  1. Peter Anderson

    August 8, 2011 at 23:15

    Nice job. I especially like the basing; can’t be bothered with that much detailing on my own stuff, though!

    Peter

     
    • Burkhard

      August 9, 2011 at 17:34

      Thank you Peter!

      It is not complicated. I am thinking about posting a breakdown of how I do it some time soon. In the end it is less then 5 minutes work for a base this size.

       

What do you think?

 
