RSS

Game of Thrones

23 Mar

I know this is old news to those of you living in the US (as I understand it HBO will air the second season in less than 1 1/2 weeks) but today sees the first season being aired on German TV. I liked the book (at least the  2/3 of it I managed to read over the last week) and I am looking forward to it. The whole first season will be aired over this weekend, but I am a bit torn if I should see it straight away anyway.

First of all I would love to finish the book first. The station has said that the episodes will be cut (less sex and blood) to make it suitable for the early airing time and it will be released on Blu-Ray (uncut) next week anyway. And last I am away to play Poker with some friends this evening and will have to record it anyway. On the other hand I am excited… tough call… it seems Winter is coming for my decision! 😉

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in General

 

6 responses to “Game of Thrones

  1. Ray

    March 23, 2012 at 10:42

    There’s not a great deal of difference between the book and the series, they’ve done the book justice. Normally I like you I like to read the book first, then see the film/programme, but in this case just go for it!!!!

     
  2. Burkhard

    March 23, 2012 at 10:58

    THX Ray. I guess I shall look how my mood is tomorrow. If I can not restrain myself, I shall watch the recording. If I can I will see how far I get with the book and wait for Amazon to deliver my Blu-Ray´s.

     
  3. Monty

    March 23, 2012 at 15:33

    I just started watching it on DVD (uncut) and I’m very pleased. I think they cast it well and spent a lot of money to get the feel of the series. A warning Burk, reading this entire series will put a serious dent in your painting time! But it is worth it and this is coming from a guy who reads mostly nonfiction historical books. Enjoy!

     
  4. Robin

    March 24, 2012 at 08:16

    Hi Ray,

    I’ve seen the whole first season and loved it. I picked up the book because I wanted to know what happens next and couldn’t put it down. I’m up to book 5 now and still hooked. I’ve read there’s a 6th book to be published so as Monty says it will take up a lot of your free time. Enjoy.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2012 at 08:34

      Robin, Monty… THX for the feedback! Right now I think I will read on and wait for the BluRay’s next week. I am not too worried about the time soend reading. I usually read in bed, so no time I would be spending painting otherwise. 😉

       

What do you think?

 
