RSS

German guns

28 Mar

I finished these in January, but never managed to take a good shot on my first two tries. Gave them another attempt yesterday and the photos turned out fine.

First up is an Artizan PaK 38. As I said in another post, I was less than impressed with the model. Lots of flesh and the wheels had lots of bubbles in them. I used some Bolt Action wheels (PaK 40) which I had lying around. These were a bit too large, creating a gap between the gun shield and the carriage shield. I covered that up with some Tamiya tarpaulin.

The crew on this one is from Victory Force. While the Artizan crew is nice, it is too small (just two men), so they will see use as crew for some vehicle. The gun itself was done in a grey base with field applied camouflage paint, to make it look like one from an early production run.

PaK 38

PaK 38

Wehrmacht PaK crew (VFM Miniatures)

Wehrmacht PaK crew (VFM Miniatures)

 

I also did an IG 18. This is a Bolt Action model (still from the time before they were sold to Warlord Games / I do not think it is available right now). Again it was painted in a grey base with field applied paint. I do that a lot with my early war vehicles and guns. That way they look suitable for early war games, but can still fit the odd early model that survived till the later stages of the war.

IG 18 (Bolt Action)

IG 18 (Bolt Action)

IG 18 (rear view)

IG 18 (rear view)

 

5 responses to “German guns

  1. The Angry Lurker

    March 28, 2012 at 11:06

    Excellent but the faces on those figures are epic sir….

     
  2. John Michael

    March 29, 2012 at 01:42

    Very nice, I love the faces

     
  3. Burkhard

    March 29, 2012 at 08:06

    Thank you guys… always love painting the faces, especially on VFM minis.

     
  4. Wargamerabbit

    March 31, 2012 at 03:43

    Both guns look the business. Who are their opponents? Great job!

     
    • Burkhard

      March 31, 2012 at 09:15

      Right now Soviets and US Army are done. Will post pictures of my older work (minis painted before this blog started) over the coming weeks, when the light is fine and I find the time!
      US Airborne, British (both Army and Paras) and Poles will be painted in due time.

       

What do you think?

 
