RSS

Change of scales

01 Apr

At times we all have these defining moments in live. Yesterday evening we were at the birthday party of a colleague of my better half. I am only 34 years old, but I was the oldest person at the party. At some point people were talking about the milestones they had set for their lives and it dawned on me, that I am spending way too much time on painting and way to little to reach mine. A couple of years back I have tried 15mm minis, but found that I still painted as many details and it even took me longer to paint them, so that is no option either. So last night on the drive home I decided that extreme times call for extreme meassures and I should rather take a huge step off the cliff. As a result I will be switching for 6mm! But I guess that might not be enough unless I burn my bridges behind me. So I shall sell off all 28mm minis, both painted and unpainted.

It will take some time to list it all. But if you have seen anything on this blog over the past few month that you liked… Just make a good offer and I will consider it. I have set up a special eMail just for this and you can reach me at:

happy-april-fools-day-2012@gotyou.fun

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2012 in General

 

8 responses to “Change of scales

  1. Rosbif

    April 1, 2012 at 11:19

    Ha-ha! Nice one!

     
  2. John Michael

    April 1, 2012 at 12:47

    Good one, I completely missed it, until I looked at the email. And to think I was actually salivating over your Prussians and French.

    John

     
  3. Christopher

    April 1, 2012 at 13:58

    You joke, but I’ve been close to that before. I was slogging through some 28s that I had gotten really bored with and looking at my shelf of 15s that took just as long. Then I started reading the Bacchus forum and telling myself that I could just order a few 6mm armies to try it out. That type of thinking is dangerous. Before you know it, you’re jumping between scales and genres looking for that painting fix that will light the fires again.

    Your post did get me briefly sad that you’d be switching but excited about you selling your beautiful figures. I was looking for my wallet and car keys by the time I got to the end of the post.

     
  4. Burkhard

    April 2, 2012 at 16:26

    Thank you guys… it is great if such a thing works out (and to know that I could make some money slling my stuff ;-))!

    @ Christopher: I think I am safe. I just love painting all the detail way too much. Plus all my terrain is geared towards 25/28mm. Would take way to much effort to do all the terrain again!

     
  5. Wargamerabbit

    April 2, 2012 at 18:20

    Seen many a player go from 6mm to 15mm to the present 28mm…due to eyesight and aging. Rarely heard of a seasoned player return to the smaller scales once the 28mm bug has bit…….Nice email for April Fools Day. Caught the rabbit till the last email address.

    Your miniatures are artwork to enjoy. Excellent work. Still think the blue beachball for Seal Team needs more glitter….

    Next station stop is 54mm if eyes can determine green from blue or red still.
    Michael aka WR

     
    • Burkhard

      April 2, 2012 at 19:16

      I will just have to hope my eyes never get worse… Would hate to start everything over in 54mm.

      The funny thing is though… When I was a child I painted 1:35th scale models. And I could never imagine wargaming in that scale.

       
      • Wargamerabbit

        April 3, 2012 at 02:09

        I remember the old 1/35th scale collection…several tanks etc. Along with the toy store 1/32 scale plastic soldiers (bags worth) the tanks engaged with friends in “dirt clods” war. Got good at pitching tight patterns with over arm toss leading to bowling in cricket (in my youth).

         
  6. Monty

    April 2, 2012 at 22:38

    A brilliant joke that had me right until the end. Scale is always an issue so that was a great hook all of us fish!

     

What do you think?

 
