RSS

1st Birthday

13 Apr
1st Birthday

No not mine, although I still feel young at heart! 😉 No this blog was created one year ago today. So how has this year been?

For me at has been great. There have obviously been hick-ups at the beginning. Mostly technical stuff like finding the right look for this blog, how to embed pictures best and make it work on a mobile device. But what it really has done is giving me a deeper insight into blogging. I have looked at a lot more blogs over the past year than ever before and found many gems even amongst those I had dismissed previously. I have looked a lot at how people reacted to my posts here, what interest you and have looked at the way other people have done it on their blogs and contributed more on theirs, too. And I have gotten to know a lot of great people and I experienced a lot of good natured friendship all around!

I have learned a lot about photography. It has always plagued me that while I deem myself a good photographer, I always seemed unable to take good (macro) pictures of miniatures. But I never felt the urge to get off my behind and read up on it before I started this blog. I think this has gotten far better over the past year (especially over the past few weeks) and I will take photos of my collection that pre-dates this blog now that I feel comfortable doing so.

At first (and I fear this is the same for many out there) it was all about hits, but it soon became a question of feedback, comments and usefulness to people. To be honest… everyone can lure others onto their blog, but making them return is the art. In this sense it was most amazing that the stuff I had left away in the beginning since I thought it would bore readers (like historical background on some units), actually proved quite popular. So in this sense… if there is anything you would like to see… feel free to tell me!

What really amazed me (since WordPress started this feature a few weeks ago) is where readers have actually come from. Obviously the most visitors come from the classic wargaming countries like the USA, the British Isles, mainland Europe and my native Germany. But there have also been regular visitors from all over the world and even places like Guatemala, Myanmar or Burkina Faso that one would not associate with our hobby. This means a lot to me, that this blog proves popular all around the world!

Anyway… thanks a lot to all of you who have frequented this blog over the past year and to those who will do so in the future. I have enjoyed the past 12 month a lot and I am really looking forward to many more years!

And to all those who were just lured here by the featured image… here it is (lets see if we can breach the 50.000 hits mark today :-D):

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in General

 

6 responses to “1st Birthday

  1. Ray

    April 13, 2012 at 00:33

    Happy Blog Birthday!!!!!!!! Keep up the great work!!!

     
  2. sebastosfig

    April 13, 2012 at 09:53

    happy birthday bloggy. And yes you should reach the 50,000 😉

     
  3. The Angry Lurker

    April 13, 2012 at 10:26

    Congrats on the year and Happy Birthday, it’s a good blog to revisit and 50,000 won’t be too long in coming!

     
  4. Rosbif

    April 14, 2012 at 03:30

    Happy Birthday, Burkhard’s Blog!

     
  5. Monty

    April 16, 2012 at 00:47

    Happy 1 year Burk! To many more!

     
  6. Burkhard

    April 16, 2012 at 09:29

    Thank you guys!

     

What do you think?

 
