RSS

SAGA Vikings… the first three points

25 Apr
SAGA Vikings… the first three points

When one is reading wargaming blogs these days, it seems like everyone is playing (or at least painting for) SAGA. Even though this might seem prolific, both me and the people I game with seemed to be reminded of the first album from the Irish band “The Cranberries” with the nice title “Everybody else is doing it, so why can´t we”. Yes, why can we not? So I painted the first three points for my SAGA warband last week. My choice are Vikings for two reasons. One I love an aggressive style of play and it seemed to me Vikings suited that. And second, I decided to tackle this project at a budget, so the fact that plastic Vikings were available came as a bonus.

The Gripping Beast plastics are quite nice minis. I was a bit annoyed with some of the beards and pigtails which never seemed to fall natural, even after bending. So in the end I cut most of these down. The other thing that required some work was the chainmail, since I wanted t use the Army Painter dip on these. The smooth areas where you glue the arms to the body and some minor undercuts forced me to re-sculpt those parts with green stuff. But since I actually like sculpting chainmail (and fur) the best, this was no big problem.

Why the Dip? Well I wanted to get these done fast, so the Dip seemed like a good idea. I knew this would make the minis a bit more boring looking then my usual work so I decided to do some nice freehand on the shields (these were done after the Dip since I did not want it to cover the designs up).

So here we go:

Hirdmen

Hirdmen

This is the first unit of Hirdmen.They are the best equipped and best trained warriors available. Most of my warband will consist of their likes. As I said, I like an aggressive style of play and I feel that these highly trained warriors with their strong armour will suit that best. The guy with the red shield has some wolf skin sculpted on.

Hirdmen

Hirdmen

And another unit of Hirdmen. At first I had planned to use the 2nd guy from the left as my Warlord, but I felt his pose was a little wooden, so he became a regular warrior and I ordered a metal Warlord who looks more  ferocious.

Berserker

Berserker

So these are the Berserkers. Hirdmen as well, but they sacrifice armour for offensive abilities. To represent this I have given them twin axes or two-handed battle-axes, spare swords (a berserker can never have enough weapons) and no shields. I sculpted on some bear skin to make them look more rugged as well. The second guy from the left is a bit of a conversion with the chopped off head coming from Warlord plastic Celts.

The snow on the bases gave me a bit of a headache. This has never happened before, but this time the glue made it turn clear when dry and all I was left was shiny patches on the bases. So I had to drybrush these white.

So here we go… the first three points. only thirteen more minis to paint and the whole 6-point warband will be done.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Gripping Beast, Medival, Rules, SAGA, Vikings

 

9 responses to “SAGA Vikings… the first three points

  1. Ray

    April 25, 2012 at 10:14

    A fine body of men!!!

     
  2. The Angry Lurker

    April 25, 2012 at 12:01

    They’re not bad sculpts at all, you did a good job sir!

     
  3. Dave

    April 26, 2012 at 04:42

    Yep I agree they are fine looking figures and a paint job to match. Curiously enough a fellow gamer mentioned on Tues he is running a SAGA day in a couple of weeks. I stuck my oar in and indicated my interest in having a bash, it is one of the few periods ouside of the horse and musket realm that has got my attention. Plastics definitely make the prospect of having a dabble more attractive.

     
    • Burkhard

      April 26, 2012 at 10:10

      It was much the same for me. The period always interested me, but I felt you needed too many minis… just like ancients or horse and musket and unless those periods I never felt inclined to paint that many.
      But being able to play with just about two dozen makes SAGA very attractive. So I am really looking forward to painting the other half and playing the first game!

       
  4. vonpeterhimself

    April 26, 2012 at 07:06

    Very fine Vikings Burkhard. Time to go a Viking and organise a raid on the UK! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      April 26, 2012 at 10:08

      THX!

      Do you need anything special, when I am off rainding Britain? 😉

       
      • vonpeterhimself

        April 27, 2012 at 11:05

        My dream wish list would fill your longship Burkhard! 8O)

        Salute
        von Peter himself

         
  5. Brendon Watts

    May 18, 2012 at 07:27

    These look awesome. Great job.
    Cheers

     

What do you think?

 
