RSS

The 200th aniversary of Salmanca or more importantly…

22 Jul

… the start of the second La Bricole painting competition!

To sum things up, you can enter any command base or vignette (or more than one if you like) in any scale as long as the base is 12cm or less in its biggest dimension. The competition starts today and ends on September 30th and the only condition is that you may not have started painting the minis before today (cleaning, converting and priming them is fine). There are no prices, this is only for glory and more importatnly honour.

This time I plan for two entries, mainly on the grounds that I could not decide which one to go for. As strange as it sounds, I am going to start with my safety or fall back project which is Henry William Paget, 1. Marquess of Anglesey, known to most people as the Earl of Uxbridge. The command base will show him at Waterloo with three of his four aides-de-camp… Major Thronhill (7th Hussars), Captain Seymour (18th Hussars) and Captain Wildmann (7th Hussars). They will be based on a 8cm x 8cm base for Republic to Empire.

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

The minis are all Perry. Uxbridge comes from BH2 the high command pack, the rest of the minis are from BH33 “British Light Dragoon Command on standing horses” with some slight conversion. The biggest conversion was the bugler (now Captain Seymour) who needed the horn removed, arm repositioned, a new hand sculpted on and another head.

But more on all these when I paint them. I will only finish the unit I have on my table right now (3rd battalion of the 37eme Légère) and I shall commence work on these.

So what is the second or main project? Well that shall remain a secret for now, but I can tell you that it´s main character is an Onion. This does not make sense? Well it is a riddle! Have your guesses! 😉

Onion

Onion

 

11 responses to “The 200th aniversary of Salmanca or more importantly…

  1. Atelier-Robin

    July 22, 2012 at 12:42

    Great minds eh? I have the same figures (plus an artillery officer) taunting me at the moment. I painted them last year but the varnish crackled and I stripped them.
    I think your project might be the inspiration I need to have another go.
    I really like the conversion – I wish I had thought of that first! Where did you get the spare busby from?
    I look forward very much to seeing how they turn out.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 22, 2012 at 13:01

      Thanks! Yes I too think great mind (= us :-D) think alike!

      I would have loved to do his 4th ADC as well, but I think there will not be enough space on the base, so I decided against it. Or I might need to take another look at the rules to see if have should actually go on a larger base. 😉
      The spare Busby came from the Perry plastic British Hussars set. I will hardly need those anyway, so I decided not to sculpt it myself.

       
  2. Ben AKA Victorious Secret

    July 22, 2012 at 17:30

    Oh im loving this. I also have the Uxbridge, which I want to paint it soon. I think I will get the same set as you on those ADCs.

    BTW, how is the progress on the drummer? I think you did an excellent job on it. I just want to share my experience with you, try to paint the colors intend for the area you are working on even if the adjacent area is still not painted. This will help you practice your brush control and give you a cleaner figure in the end. I did it for two years and now for detail work I dont break a sweat.

    Very excited to see this project finished, and good luck my friend.

    VS

     
    • Burkhard

      July 22, 2012 at 18:06

      Thanks Ben!

      I think the Uxbridge model is a real good one. His uniform was splendid anyway, but the Tigerskin over his saddlecloth will add yet more character to it.

      Regarding the drummer… Well he is back in line. I take a production line approach when painting units. So I paint all the jackets, then the trousers, followed by shoes, dirt, backpacks and so on (the order can change depending on the type of uniform). In this case when I was done with the jackets and trousers for the rest of the unit I tackled his jacket, which meant taking him out of line and just working on him for an hour or two. Afterwards I painted the white piping for the rest of the unit and the backpacks for them all. Today it has been the greatcoat rolls so far. Right now I am working on the crossbelts and backpackstraps for the whole unit. Which is driving me mad right now since I cleaned these models up two or three years ago and glued the backpacks on which is making it bleeping hard to reach some spots. Once that it is done it will be canteens cartirge pockets, shakos, muskets. At this time the drummer will be taken out of line to do the drum. And then it is back to buttons, plaques, skin, hair and eyes for all of them. So I hope to have the unit finished by the middle of the week at the latest. I found thisnto be the fastest way to do units.

      Regarding the painting itself. I just go for the aproach where I do not discriminate between areas for the first layer I paint (usually the jackets and if they are the same colour the trousers as well). I rahter see this as a second basecoat, so I do not care too much there. Afterwards I always make sure not to overpaint (even if the area is going to be painted later anyway) just like you do. As you said… It leads to much cleaner results!

      Thanks again mate!

       
  3. The Angry Lurker

    July 22, 2012 at 22:58

    Honour and glory is what we crave, good luck my friend!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 23, 2012 at 07:58

      Thanks Fran! A toast to honour and glory! 🙂

       
  4. Jason

    July 23, 2012 at 02:30

    Good luck! Looking forward to seeing these minis all painted up. I threw up my entry on my blog today as well. Should be fun. 🙂

     
    • Burkhard

      July 23, 2012 at 07:57

      Thanks and good luck to you, too!

       
  5. John Michael

    July 25, 2012 at 13:42

    Looking forward to seeing them painted Burkhard, all the best in the competition.

    John

     
    • Burkhard

      July 25, 2012 at 20:45

      Thanks John… I really like your entry… Quiet fitting as well!

       

What do you think?

 
