RSS

A fine piece of French military music

24 Jul

Now the riddle about the onion for my second mystery entry to the La Bricole painting competition, prompted Jason (aka Der Feldmarschall) to suggest that it would be French Imperial Guard based on a battlesong that were quiet popular with them. While the nationality is right, it was no hit. But I had not known this song and wanted to share it with you, since I found it ridiculously funny!


By the way, if you want to know what it means and your school french is no good… the subtitled version starts at 1:05!

 
 

10 responses to “A fine piece of French military music

  1. Atelier-Robin

    July 24, 2012 at 13:17

    well I rather like onions too!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 24, 2012 at 23:28

      Me, too. But I doubt it makes anyone a better fighter. 😉

       
  2. Rosbif

    July 24, 2012 at 14:08

    Maybe it was their secret weapon; breathing on the enemy after eating onions!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 24, 2012 at 23:29

      Might this have been the first time the world saw biological warfare? 😛

       
  3. Tom Halpin

    July 24, 2012 at 15:18

    The haliototic attack/defence should never be underestimated

     
    • Burkhard

      July 24, 2012 at 23:30

      Yes, but must rulesets really underestimate and thus neglect it! 😉

       
  4. Jason

    July 24, 2012 at 17:30

    Although Google wasn’t much help to me in solving your riddle, it did produce this very entertaining video. The vision of a chorus of open mouthed Imperial Guard miniatures charging with onions stuck to the end of their bayonets making everyone cry was too funny not to suggest as an answer.

    The tune did get stuck in my head for the rest of the night, much to the annoyance of the Prussian figs I’m working on. It’s even more silly because I hate onions. I’ll probably share this on my blog too, but hopefully no local French opponents of mine start signing this across the table. 🙂

     
    • Burkhard

      July 24, 2012 at 23:33

      Well Google will not help much since the riddle came from my mind. As I said on the La Bricole forum… I guess the riddle will be easiest to solve for those with children.

      I agree the tune has a certain ring to it, especially the chorus. I,have been humming it today, too. Although I have some French Légère on my table right now and they do not seem to mind! 🙂

       
  5. The Angry Lurker

    July 25, 2012 at 00:45

    I like it, I’d march to it!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 25, 2012 at 20:44

      Hey Fran, does this mean Franonia has a national anthum now? 😛

       

What do you think?

 
