RSS

Lord Uxbridge WIP part 6, non metalic metal technique silver

06 Aug
Lord Uxbridge WIP part 6, non metalic metal technique silver

Ok the last few days I did not get as much work done on these as I wanted. While I painted a lot on Friday, it was not minis, but I helped my better halfs sister paint her flat. Saturday and Sunday were spend painting minis. And today? Well today I helped a friend of mine cart 21 metric tons of soil into his new garden. I do not even want to know what my shoulders will feel like tomorrow!

But on Saturday I did the NMM silver on Captain Seymour. And I shall use him to go through the paces with you.

Now the first step with NMM silver is simple as it was with gold… you need a base colour. Here I chose Vallejo Panzer Aces “Feldgrau” (338). Just block the silver areas in.

The next colour is the first highlight. Here I went for Vallejo “Pale Greyblue” (907). This colour is used to pick out the highlights. So I paint the edges and raised points (folds or tassels) with it. Same goes if the fabric has a pattern stitched into it. In this case the belt for the cartridge box has interlocking triangles stitched on. Pick such patterns out with this colour as well. If you need to do some freehand patterns (like the cyphers on the saddle cloth) pick your spots where you feel a highlight should be, usually at spots where lines cross or make turns.

The final colours is used to give extreme highlights. In this case I used Vallejo “Silver Grey” (883). As with the gold you should go easy with this one. I found it best to paint besides the highlight from the second step or just put a dot at the end of such a highlight for best effect. For small tassels you can make a line of small dots to accentuate the fabric. Unfortunately it does not really come out on the photos, so you will have to look pretty close.

Captain Seymour, step by step NMM

Captain Seymour, step by step NMM

On sunday I saw to it, that the minis progressed in general. Did the highlights on the light blue, and red accents on the cyphers. I also did the black items (sabretache and sabre belts, shoes, visors…) and the highlights for the black. For highlights on black I use a very dark blue, that is almost black (did the same for the highlights on the horse by the way). In real life black never seems to have grey highlights (unless it is faded fabrics), so this gives the best results. Also started on the skin and did the eyes. Lets see how far I get tomorrow.

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s (WIP 5)

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s (WIP 5)

Tomorrow I shall post some photos of the Offensive Miniatures French artillery that I painted the last month.

 

5 responses to “Lord Uxbridge WIP part 6, non metalic metal technique silver

  1. John Michael

    August 6, 2012 at 18:05

    The NMM technique is quite interesting.

    Thanks for the tip about the black highlight, I am painting some Skraelings, there hair is quite black, so I will try the dark blue. I think I still have some GW Midnight Blue which was very dark, I will give it a try.

    John

     
    • Burkhard

      August 6, 2012 at 19:54

      It should work fine for you. I am quiet happy ever since I changed from grey to dark blue for black highlights. I just use artists acrylic black mixed with prussian black, since it was the cheapest solution. I can not comment on the GW blue though since I hardly use GW paints (found they were hard on the brushes).

       
  2. HerrFranz

    August 7, 2012 at 01:03

    Das NMM könnte noch etwas stärker ins Schwarze gehen – NMM lebt von starken Kontrasten. An der Rolle aufm Rücken ist es gut, aber an der Seite kann es viel mehr schwarz vertragen!

     
  3. Jason

    August 7, 2012 at 16:00

    Just catching up on all your WIP’s. Your minis are really starting to come to life. The NMM step by steps are interesting, thanks.

     
    • Burkhard

      August 8, 2012 at 08:48

      You are welcome Jason… glad you like it!

       

What do you think?

 
