RSS

Napoleons command base, step four, Bonaparte himself

16 Aug
Napoleons command base, step four, Bonaparte himself

OK, OK I know I said he might take till Monday, but I managed to finish work early, so I got to finish Napoleon Bonaparte today after all. I am going to spare you his biography since honestly… if you have no idea who he was, you must have been sound asleep in school and deserve to have to look it up on Wikipedia! 😉

Napoleon Bonaparte

Napoleon Bonaparte

The one thing that gave me a little headache from the beginning was his horse. It is a well-known fact, that he rode a white horse at Waterloo named Désirée. But there is a huge variance in the hide of white and grey horses. Paintings themselves are no real help either, since Napoleon had over 150 horses, many of them white, so one can not be sure, that if you find a painting of him on a white horse at Waterloo, it actually shows the right one. Many of the painting actually seem to show Le Vizir, most likely because his pattern is the easiest to find out (he was stuffed and is still on display at the Musee d’Armee de l’Hotel des Invalides in Paris). In the end I decided to just go with a pure white horse with grey socks and muzzle. Looking at photos from Le Vizir one can clearly see that he had a branding on his left hind leg. I am wondering if Napoleon had all his horses branded and if I should add a branding to this one as well. What do you think?

Otherwise the paint job was quiet straightforward. Looking at the photos now, I realize that I still need to touch up the cockade on his hat but otherwise he is done.

So now comes the hard part. I have a vision in my mind when it comes to his base, which will be a little more extraordinary than usual. I shall start doing the landscaping for this base over the next couple of days and see if the minis actually fit into it and if they do I will need to decide if I shall need other minis to complete the diorama on it. So in the end I might end up painting more minis for this base after all.

 

8 responses to “Napoleons command base, step four, Bonaparte himself

  1. Ray

    August 17, 2012 at 08:16

    A great looking figure, Nappie would love it!

     
  2. The Angry Lurker

    August 17, 2012 at 11:31

    Boney is looking very good sir.

     
  3. Rodger

    August 17, 2012 at 13:15

    Lovely work on the great man!

     
  4. Michael Awdry

    August 17, 2012 at 13:29

    What a tremendous job, you really are on fire at the moment!

     
  5. Burkhard

    August 17, 2012 at 14:21

    Thank you, guys!

    @Micheal: It sure is warm enough around here for me to be on fire! 😉

     
  6. Monty

    August 17, 2012 at 21:17

    Beautiful. I’m ready to step into the breach just looking at him. I can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

     
    • Burkhard

      August 18, 2012 at 20:53

      Thank you, Monty. Now take up your musket and fight for France! 😉

       

What do you think?

 
