RSS

Napoleons command base, step five, extra characters

22 Aug
Napoleons command base, step five, extra characters

Ok a quick note before I am off on holiday… I managed to finish the two extra minis for the Napoleon base. A Carabinier officer and a General. Sorry for the sloppy photos, I had already packed the tri-pod away.

Both minis were kept quiet simple. I painted the Maréchal / General mini up as a General. By the time of Waterloo Napoleon was short on Maréchals so I did not want another one besides Soult on the base. I also gave him a black crest to his bicorne to depict him as a staff general as opposed to a commanding general.

The Carabinier officer gave me some headaches. They were supposed to wear their light blue uniforms on campaign. But while in the presence of the Emperor (as this one clearly is) they were supposed to wear their whites. No big problem. Except I got a feeling that all this white and polished plate would make him stand out on the base and I did not want that (see my notes about visual weight in the previous post). So I gave him a dark scabbard to break that up. Did not really break it up, but now that the minis are glued to the base, he does not really draw attention. Phew!!!

So this is it. No more updates from me for about two weeks. I am off to the land of the Glens and Lochs. Time for the others in the Challenge to catch up! 😉

 

5 responses to “Napoleons command base, step five, extra characters

  1. Rosbif

    August 22, 2012 at 11:51

    Thanks for letting us catch up with your output, Burkhard! These look lovely. I really like the gold sashes, too.
    Have a nice trip in Scotland (or NZ or Norway!)

     
  2. John Michael

    August 22, 2012 at 14:33

    Very nice, look forward to seeing the completed base. Have a nice vacation.

    John

     
  3. Burkhard

    August 22, 2012 at 15:40

    Thank you guys!

    Scotland it is… I was not even aware they called these things Lochs and Glenns in Norway or New Zealand as well!

     
  4. The Angry Lurker

    August 22, 2012 at 20:38

    Have a good holiday sir, they’ve turned out well….

     
  5. Ray

    August 22, 2012 at 21:28

    Great looking figures and have a great time in bonnie Scotland!

     

What do you think?

 
