RSS

Napoleons command base, step six, corrections

06 Sep
Napoleons command base, step six, corrections

Ok, so we are back from Scotland. First of all let me say we really enjoyed the holidays (except for one hotel in Oban). The people were great as was the land, too. We even had luck with the weather. Only rain for about 25% to 30% of the time and temperatures around 15°C. One day we even had strong winds on the Isle of Skye that drove the Midges away, which was a good thing since the Skye variety did not seem deterred by any of the five insect repellents we had taken along. Plus I was able to learn even more about Single Malt than I already did (yeah… you live, you learn). We even managed to climb Ben Lomond and Cruach Tairbeirt on the other side of the Loch (the later leaving our trekking boots with more water inside than outside). All in all I have to say that this holiday became more of a scouting mission than anything else. 1 1/2 weeks was just too little to see even the parts of Scotland we went to, but it gave us a good idea which areas to emphasise on our next trip. I will try to sort through the photos and post a few nice ones in the near future.

But back to the minis now. While I was still waiting for the ferry to Newcastle a very knowledgable member of the German Sweetwater Forum pointed out that there were a few mistakes when it came to the two extras from the last post. For one the Carabinier general would still be wearing the dark blue coat of a general, since that would take precedence over a Carabinier coat. So upon my return I changed that, which also makes the mini look nicer as part of the base as well, since I makes him stand out less. What he also pointed out was that as generals they would need coloured stripes woven into their gold sashes. Now the medals on the normal general would mean he had to be a Divisional General and have red stripes woven in. The Carabinier helmet and Cuirass on the other hand meant that the second general could be no higher than a Brigadier, meaning light blue. So those were added, too. I also painted the spurs which I had forgotten on both minis. And this is how they look now:

Two generals

Two generals

Once the glue had dried I put filler around those two minis as well and painted the rest of the soil a dark brown. Everything was drybrushed a lighter brown and the road given a medium tan wash and drybrushed in beige to give it a slightly pebbled look. Also also painted the lenses of Napoleons and the Generals telescopes with high gloss varnish to make them pop. While you can not see it on the next photo I also repainted the edges of the base. I had painted all of the sides in the green I usually use for the edges of my bases, but did not like that. I only kept the green on the lower edge, to the hight of the original base and painted the rest in a soil brown or the dark green of the water to minic the terrain above. Really like that better now!

Napoleon base WIP from above

Napoleon base WIP from above

This is where things will stand for some time now. I have decided that I do not want just normal grass tuffs for the field Napoleon and Soult are standing on. My favourite dealer for these things tells me, that he should get the ones I want within the next two weeks. So fingers crossed they should be here before the deadline, if not I will have to go for the normal tuffs after all.

 

13 responses to “Napoleons command base, step six, corrections

  1. Conrad Hawkwood

    September 6, 2012 at 14:08

    sweet as… fantastic

     
  2. Paul

    September 6, 2012 at 15:10

    Hi Burkhard
    Glad you enjoyed your visit to Scotland, sorry about the hotel in Oban (Oban is lovely though). Great progress on the commands!
    Cheers
    Paul
    Scotland

     
  3. Burkhard

    September 6, 2012 at 16:06

    Thank you guys!

    @Paul: Oban itself was very nice. The only thing except for that hellhole of a hotel I regret about it was only having time for the shop of the Oban Destillery and not the tour as well. At least I came away with a nice bottle of Destillers Edition! 😉

     
  4. Michael Awdry

    September 6, 2012 at 21:52

    Looking splendid Sir; the water effect is top drawer.

     
    • Burkhard

      September 7, 2012 at 11:34

      Thank you, Micheal. I Will take a few more shots of it and the little “waterfall” once everything is done. I am still contemplatin adding a little bullrush to the pond. Once I have decided if I will, I shall add another layer to the water, to give it some extra depth and be able to add some foamat the lower end of the fall.

       
  5. Ray

    September 6, 2012 at 23:40

    Excellent!!!!!

     
  6. Paul

    September 7, 2012 at 00:40

    That’s good to hear Burkhard!!!

    I am sadly auctioning off my Cask strength single malt whisky collection at the moment. I Have had 37 bottles sitting around for far to long. I wave goodbye to the 1st eight bottles on 19th of this month.

    You wouldn’t mind letting me know the name of the hotel so I can avoid it? If you have the time an email would be great. My wife and I go up every year or 2 as we love Oban and it is a great place to depart and return to.

     
    • Burkhard

      September 7, 2012 at 11:30

      Hi Paul,

      well I have been drinking “too” little Scotch over the past few years (man this sentence must really sound strange), mainly on the grounds that I reserve it for special ocasions and like them best on the balcony on a warm summers night. But at time I just like to look at my collection and open the odd bottle to take a sniff. At least it does not go bad if properly stored! 🙂

      The hotel was the Regent in Oban. The room had not been renovated in at least 20 years, all repairs had been sloppy and the room was full of milldew to the level that the wallpapers were coming down. Worst of all we had a (false) fire alarm during the night and being on officer in civil defense I can safely judge that the state of the firedoors, escape rootes and the reaction of the staff would make the hotel a deathtrap in case of a real fire.
      Since we booked the trip on a very short notice, this was the best (= only one) we could get, but in the future I would rather pass Oban by than stay there again!

      BTW… if you are still looking for a good restaurant in Oban… we really loved the “Cuan Mor” just around the corner from the destillery. While the hotel was the worst of our trip this restaurant was one of the best!

       
  7. Monty

    September 7, 2012 at 01:39

    Looking great! A trip to Scotland and a beautiful diorama coming together. Life is good, eh?

     
    • Burkhard

      September 7, 2012 at 11:16

      It sure does. The jobfront also got better, which was the icing on the cake (and amde this possible)!

       
  8. Rodger

    September 7, 2012 at 11:23

    They all look awesome. Love the water effect too.

     
    • Burkhard

      September 7, 2012 at 11:35

      Thank you, Rodger!

      As I said to Micheal, there still needs to be some work done on the water, but I shall post photos once the whoel peice is finished!

       

What do you think?

 
