RSS

Napoleons command base, finished

27 Sep

This week the basing material I still wanted for the base (flower and weed tuffs from Mininatur) arrived at my place and it was time to finish the Napoleon base. So now the field Napoleon and Soult are standing on features a mix of flowers, weeds and regular grass tuffs to give it a natural look. I also added a grass tuff band to the road to depict the centre strip. This was drybrushed in a dark sand tone to make the grass appear drying out, like it can in summer. And last I made some bulrush (completely DIY´ed) and added it to the pond to break up the open space that would otherwise be there. But enough talk… here it is:

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base

Napoleon base (top view)

Napoleon base (top view)

Napoleon base (Waterfall detail)

Napoleon base (Waterfall detail)

I hope you enjoy the finished product after going through all the paces with me! All pictures are also linked to larger versions if you are interested.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses to “Napoleons command base, finished

  1. Atelier-Robin

    September 27, 2012 at 08:43

    That is fantastic. I think that all the planning and imagination has really paid off. The water is really good.If I was to offer some advice – Bullrushes too big?
    I think your photography has done your model proud!

    Great.
    What’s next?

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2012 at 08:52

      Thank you Robin!

      I think my better half would hug you for saying the bulrushes were too big… she said so, too. But in the end I wanted something robust (after all this is meant to be a gaming piece), so it had to be thicker wire.

      Up next… well there is a unit of Prussian Landwehr Cavalry almost finished (should post the pictures this weekend). After that… some terrain and a large unit of Prussian Infantry.

       
  2. Rodger

    September 27, 2012 at 09:52

    I really like this masterpiece. Great work.

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2012 at 09:57

      Thank you Rodger!

       
  3. Pete

    September 27, 2012 at 10:11

    Love your water effect!

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2012 at 10:25

      Thank you Pete!

      The waterfall is fishing line with Vallejo “Water Effect Transparent Water” aplied over it. the other water is just two or three coats of their “Sill Water”.

       
  4. vonpeterhimself

    September 27, 2012 at 11:22

    A fantabulous result Burkhard. Most inspiring. The water effects have come out very well.

    I pick up some flowers and other plants tomorrow to add a bit extra to some of my basing. Here’s hoping!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2012 at 12:19

      Thank you vonPeter!

      Looking forward to seeing your entry. I am happy I waited for the new flowers and I think it will be worth it for you as well!

       
  5. John Michael

    September 27, 2012 at 12:25

    Very nice Burkhard, I am enormously impressed, the terrain is a work of art. And the figures themselves are fantastic. Very nice job.

    John

     
  6. Burkhard

    September 27, 2012 at 12:41

    Thanks a lot, John!

     
  7. Ray

    September 27, 2012 at 20:53

    Absolutly brilliant!!!

     
  8. vicsec

    September 28, 2012 at 01:22

    Excellent work my friend. I see you got all guns blazing. Every detail is superb! Job well done sir.

    Ben

     
    • Burkhard

      September 28, 2012 at 11:33

      Thank you Ben! Still not as good as your work, but I am happy!

       
  9. Rosbif

    September 28, 2012 at 01:35

    That is just superb, Burkhard. Hats off to you!

     
    • Burkhard

      September 28, 2012 at 11:36

      Thank you, very kind!

       
  10. Monty

    September 28, 2012 at 02:32

    Oh my, this is simply brilliant. So much here to learn from. Great painting, great modelling!

     
    • Burkhard

      September 28, 2012 at 11:37

      Thanks Monty!

      I have to say I really enjoyed the step by step on this one, since there were so many level to go into. Planning, painting, composition, terrain… really liked it!

       
  11. Michael Awdry

    September 28, 2012 at 21:52

    Absolutely sensational, what a stunning piece of work.

     

What do you think?

 
