RSS

SAGA again… this time Normans vs. Vikings

18 Oct

Last Sunday Martin and I had an early morning game of SAGA. Yes you are right… Sundays are for sleeping in and not getting up early to play, but hey.

Since I still only have my Vikings to play, Martin went for Normans to give us a change from the old routine. We also went for “The Challenge” to try out another scenario.

The Normans consisted of a mounted Warlord, three units of mounted knights (Hearthguard), two units of Sergeants (Warriors), one of them armed with crossbows and one unit of bow armed Peasants (Levies). Martin would amalgamate two of his Knight units into a large one.

I had my Warlord, Jarl Sigvaldi and his Jomsvikings (Hearthguard / Mercenaries), one unit of Berserkers (Hearthguard), two units of Hirdmen (Hearthguard) and one unit of Bondi (Warriors). Just like last time I would amalgamate both Hirdmen units into one large unit.

The table

The table
Normans would deploy on the left, Vikings on the right

The table featured a Viking village in one corner and a Norman keep in the opposite one. Made me wonder if they had a zoning permit for the keep! Lets see what good it did them! ;-). The other corners features some small woods, but the centre of the table was fairly open except for a small hill.

Martin won initiative and placed his Warlord in the centre and I placed mine close to his as per set-up rules.

So close and yet so far away

So close and yet so far away

Then we alternated placing our units. Seen from my point of view the Norman cavalry was in a long line on the left with the Sergeants behind them. On the right the Levies brought up the front, with the Crossbows behind them.
I placed all my Vikings in a long line… left to right the Jomsvikings, Bondi and the Hirdmen. The Berserkers started behind the Hirdmen to keep them safe from all those arrows on that flank.

Since I was done setting up first, I got first initiative. At first I contemplated attacking the Norman Warlord right away, but this would have meant that the Norman cavalry would reach him far before the Vikings would be there to support their Warlord. So I just moved my Warlord back towards my line and the Vikings forward. Honestly I was hoping for Martin to come after me, but he did not do me that favour and just moved his line forward as well. On my next activation I moved forward once more and my Warlord moved behind the Heathguard screen.

Opposing battlelines

Opposing battle lines

Now the Knights were in range to charge and so the did. The double sized unit made contact with my Hirdmen. Since the SAGA dice gave them extra attacks, I decided to trade half my attacks for four extra defencive dice. In the end only two Vikings died, but they killed four Normans and they had to retreat. Now I was time to follow this up. The Hirdmen pushed after their attackers and killed them all.

Norman cavalry make contact

Norman cavalry make contact

The other units just moved forward, while the Berserkers pushed out to the side and attacked the Levies on the hill. I gave them a few extra attacks, but rolled below average. So only half the Levies died for the price of two Berserkers. Unfortunately the Levies would now retaliate and annihilate the Berserkers in a hail of arrows. The Crossbows would loosen off against the Hirdmen, but only with limited success.

But now things got interesting. I had rolled low when I rolled for the Jomsviking abilities that round. So when I moved them forward I was hoping for Martin to go for them, since they are usually his Nemesis. And he did charge them with the small unit of Knights accompanied by his Warlord. Two of the knights were killed, the Warlord got one wound (in this scenario he has twelve wounds instead of two), but the Jomsvikings were wiped out. A bad result? Not really. While my Bondi are my weakest unit they were right besides the Jomsvikings. They made use of the Valhalla special ability and traded three of their own for twelve extra attacks, enough to give the Warlord seven wounds. Were the Bondi contend? No. Now they stuck in for another round of combat and the Warlord had to trade the life of the two knights to get away with just one wound. Only two of the Bondi remained, but the Warlord was in a bad shape. Unfortunately my Warlord did not manage to make contact. The Norman Warlord decided to retreat towards his Sergeants to get some protection, but due to a bad roll of the SAGA dice this was about all Martin could do.

Not long to go now

Not long to go now

So on my next activation I activated my Warlord twice to catch up with his Norman counterpart ignoring the Sergeants, which he did. The resulting combat was one-sided. The Normans Warlord got five wounds which was quiet an overkill while the Viking Warlord got no wound. So things ended with another Viking win.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2012 in Medival, Normans, SAGA, Vikings

 

8 responses to “SAGA again… this time Normans vs. Vikings

  1. The Angry Lurker

    October 19, 2012 at 07:56

    Come on the vikings!!!!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 19, 2012 at 08:41

      Hey Fran, this almost makes you sound like an expat from Minesota! 😉

       
  2. Ray

    October 19, 2012 at 08:04

    Excellent report and pics!

     
  3. pogo

    October 19, 2012 at 10:44

    Just a remark on the Bondi against Warlord combat
    With all the Bondi within VS of the Warlord they start with 8 dice, so they cannot get beyond 16 attack dice, no matter how many sacrifices and other capabilities they use
    Alex (the other one)

     
    • Burkhard

      October 19, 2012 at 10:52

      I think we actually played it that way and limited the number of attacks. After all we talked about the maximum number of attacks rule at that point during the game. So I just forgot about it during the AAR write-up.
      But you are obviously right!

       
  4. Tankred von Tarent (@Tankred_UA)

    October 19, 2012 at 12:13

    Really nice to learn from your game. Unfortunately I made exactly the same experiences. Normans need to make use of their bowmen and crossbowmen before charging Vikings.
    Thanks for that report and images.

     
    • Burkhard

      October 19, 2012 at 14:22

      You are right… especially the crossbows are a pain in the behind. When I can spare them, I always put some SAGA dice on the ability that turns your opponents shoot action into a move action. Not cheap, but well worth it when the lines are just closing in and you can still spare the dice!

       

What do you think?

 
