RSS

My birthday, a perfect day to…

26 Nov

… pick up a few loose ends and make an apology!

Lets start with the later. I know I have been quiet silent both on my own blog as well as other people’s blogs over the past two month and I would like to apologize for that. I started a new job last month and when I combine the 50+ work hours a week with the lunch break (mandatory under German health and safety rules) and the commute, there is not much time left to spend on my hobbies. 😦

So why did I not post too much on your blogs? Well with time being a premium I have to do most of my internet time on the iPad these days. Problem is… Blogspot is creating havoc these days when I try to post a comment using a mobile device (you can not click the field where you have to identify yourself). So please do not see it as me neglecting your blogs… it is not like I do not wish to post something… I simply can not most of the time. 😦
So what else happened recently? Well the results for the LaBricole Salamanca painting challenge were in a couple of weeks ago and here are the results:

1st Place:

Valleyboys´ "Under Fire"Valleyboys´ “Under Fire”
[22% of the votes]

2nd Place:

My "The Onion"My “The Onion”
[18% of the votes]

And the shared 3rd Place:

Von Blucher’s “PRUSSIAN & FRENCH COMMANDS FOR 1806″ (Combined entry)
[14% of the votes]

and

My "Uxbridge"My “Uxbridge”
[14% of the votes]

Overall I can not complain making both 2nd and third place on this one. And looking at the competition… this was not an easy one. I can only take my hat off to anyone else who took part.

OK what else? Ah yes… I finished the minis for the 12te Reserve Infanterie last month, but beleave it or not… I only manged to varnish them in the past four weeks. But I hope that I will be able to show them off soonish.

Anything else… oh yes… my birthday. As you can see I am taking this chance to catch up on life a bit (and will in a few minutes go on renovating the kitchen which has already taken up the weekend 😦 ). But the good part are the presents. I made a sidenote to my better half the other week, that I am interested in the X-Wing tabletop game and she picked up on that and got me the basic game (twice) and the expansions for another X-Wing, another Tie-Fighter, a Y-Wing and a Tie Advanced.

X-Wing

X-Wing aka. my birthday present

So with three X-Wings, a Y-Wing, five Tie-Fighters and a Tie-Advanced I should be able to play some serious space fights. Now I only need to get the new kitchen table or clear the clutter off my hobby table. Bless her… she always thinks of my wargaming needs!

 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2012 in General, La Bricole Painting Challenges, X-Wing

 

22 responses to “My birthday, a perfect day to…

  1. Atelier-Robin

    November 26, 2012 at 13:05

    Happy Birthday!

    Well done in the competition – excellent modelling.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:28

      Thank you… means a lot coming from someone as good a painter as you are!

       
  2. Monty

    November 26, 2012 at 13:28

    Happy Birthday!
    The entry for competition are each and every awesome.

    Cheers
    Monty

     
  3. Fireymonkeyboy

    November 26, 2012 at 15:05

    Happy birthday, and may the Force be with you!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:30

      Thanks… may the force be with you, too! 😉

       
  4. Ray

    November 26, 2012 at 19:02

    Happy Birthday! And a very well done on coming 2nd and 3rd in the painting comp!!!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:31

      Thank you Ray. Those rankings meant a lot to me, with all the effort put into the entries and the though competition.

       
  5. Michael Awdry

    November 26, 2012 at 20:28

    Very well done on the second place and very many happy returns; very tempted by the Star Wars game myself.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:32

      Thank you. I hope to get a game in soon and will let people know how it plays!

       
  6. Rosbif

    November 27, 2012 at 01:03

    Happy birthday, Burkhard, and congrats for your results in the Salamanca Summer Painting Comp!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:34

      Thanks a lot… it was a great one to take part in!

       
  7. Monty

    November 27, 2012 at 05:09

    Happy Birthday and congrats! 2nd and 3rd, that is a fantastic finish!

     
  8. Duke of Plaza-Toro

    November 27, 2012 at 11:57

    A big “well done” on the 2nd and 3rd. Richly deserved. I think we can say valleyboy was a worthy winner, but you ran him quite close (22% v 18% of the vote).

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:35

      Thanks and I agree it was close. I can hardly remember how often we were head to head!

       
  9. John Michael

    November 28, 2012 at 16:36

    Hi Burkhard, I have just nominated your blog for the Liebster awards. Please refer to my blog for details. Wargaming in 28 mm and smaller.

    John

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:38

      Thanks a lot John,what a birthday gift! Finally got around to passing the torch on yesterday. If it would not have meant going full circle, you would have been on my top five as well.

       
  10. vonpeterhimself

    November 29, 2012 at 11:04

    Happiest Birthday Burkhard. I look forward to seeing your 12te Reserve Infanterie.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:39

      Thank you vP. As I said… I hoe to finally be able to show them this weekend!

       
  11. Jason

    December 3, 2012 at 02:38

    Happy belated birthday! Like von Peter I’m looking forward your 12te Reserve Infanterie, and how you like the X Wing game. 🙂

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:22

      Thanks! I really hope to get the basing done on this unit this week so I can take photos of them next weekend. Regarding X-Wing… so far I have only gotten so far as to inbox them… I will keep you posted!

       

What do you think?

 
