RSS

An award and you get to choose what I do over the festive season

02 Dec

This week saw a first for me and this blog we won an award. The Liebster Blog Award (if your mother tongue is not German it translates into favourite blog award) that is making the rounds these days. I was awarded mine by John from “Wargaming in 28mm and sometimes smaller“. And I would like to thank John for his very kind consideration!

liebster-blog-award

For those who do not know his blog… it is well worth looking at. His interests are mostly historical, but very diverse. He has managed to paint good-looking units far faster than I do and if you look at his blog… there are tons of superb units there. He puts a lot of effort into getting the details right, too. So his blog really strikes a chord with me. And it was actually one of the first blogs I subscribed to in the past.

Now as far as I understand it, one is supposed to pass this award on to create awareness for other peoples blogs. So let me do my part.I have been thinking long and hard which blogs to choose and these are my choices (in alphabetic order):

Up first is Curts “Analogue Hobbies“. His interests are extremely diverse and every single bit of it inspiring, often beyond belief. If you look at his blog make sure to search for his World War One minis painted in grayscale. Not only is the idea great, but the execution is from another world.

Up next Martins´ “Befreiungskriege” blog. As the name suggests his blog deal mainly with the Napoleonic era and more specifically the 1813 to 1815 period. Martin is a great painter (but takes even longer than I do) and puts a lot of effort into his research. He is more than willing to share some of the later with people, which is a great plus in my humble opinion and some of his articles can be found in wargaming magazines as well. One of the best things about his blog is that he has very close contact with Peter F. the owner of Calpe Miniatures. So his blog is the place to go if you want to see some sneak peeks of upcoming Calpe minis.

Jasons´ “Der Feldmarschall” is the place to go if want anything from Sci-Fi to historical. Everything painted really well, played on great terrain. And he often has this very well written column “this week in history” which gives you a great summary of historical events that have happened in any given week.

Now “Figuren und Geschichten” might not be for everyone and is the perfect place for everyone at the same time. Why? Well it might not be for everyone since it is written in German. But it is for everyone since there is something there from virtually every genre and era. The level of work is fascinating and even if you do not understand German… just go and enjoy the photos. Plus he has lots of photos and background history from trips to museums and battlefields.

And last we have Dean´s “WAB Corner“. I have known Dean from day one when I started playing historical games (mostly due to the fact that we share the same taste when it comes to World War Two minis) and I can say he is a real great guy. His interests are very diverse, but he manages a tremendous output of minis. He really has manages to get the best out of the Armypainter. If you want to see minis that you do not see every day (like Choson Koreans) he is a great place to go as well.

I have to say this was a very though choice and I would have loved to give an award to every single blog on my blogroll (go and check those out as well since they deserve some attention as well), but these are the ones that are my favourites.

So in other news… as some of you might already have realised the festive season is upon us. Now what I have usually done over the years is, that I have dedicated the two weeks of Christmas and New Years to some small side project. This could have been the last few units for an army I wanted done, some minis I only paint for fun and not for gaming or a unit or two for a project that has been neglected for ages. The last three years I let that lapse… mostly because the holidays were on a weekends (so it did not mean any more time off from work), since there were relatives to visit and since we were not always here at all. Actually in most cases it was a combination of at least two of those. But this year I have decided to revive that tradition. Looking at what little painting I managed to get done over the past two month and that I am starting to fall behind on the timetable for my Leipzig project, this is probably going to be a big mistake, but I am going to let myself be diverted this year anyway. So I have now managed to get everything down to two choices which are (again in alphabetical order):

beee814304bc3afcaadec2b51caab747_1M

Now one choice would by Byzantines for SAGA. As some of you will have noticed in my recent SAGA reports… I need a change from the Vikings, so I bought myself some Byzantines at Crisis last month. The should be a perfect change since I could hardly imagine any two armies being more different in SAGA. So painting a Byzantine SAGA Warband roughly 8 points since I would want some options) would be the first choice.

Tau

The other option would be Tau of Warhammer 40.000. After playing a game of 40K this summer I got a feeling that it might be a good fun game if played with the right people. So I bought myself a few minis (or rather what I call a few). After many moons of trying to decide how to paint them I am leaning towards a scheme suitable for woodlands, so rather green instead of the usual tans you see. Probably using my airbrush a lot as well. I have no idea how many points this is going to be in the 40K universe, but it should be 4 tanks, three Piranha, four to five units of infantry and lots of suits.

But between these two choices… I can not choose. So I would like to enlist your help. So what is it going to be?

Please be advised, that I am going to make the final decision next weekend (minis will need to be cleaned)… so if you want a say… vote over the next five days!

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2012 in General

 

18 responses to “An award and you get to choose what I do over the festive season

  1. Joe Schulze

    December 3, 2012 at 01:18

    Well deserved Burkhard, you have a really good blog and I enjoy the updates, Congratulations.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:09

      Thank you Joe! BTW… your posts always have a family feeling for me, since we share the same surname.

       
      • Joe Schulze

        December 5, 2012 at 01:15

        I totally agree, perhaps we are related in some way. Game on brother!

         
  2. Monty

    December 3, 2012 at 02:14

    Yes. Very well deserved. You do great work here!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:13

      Thank you Monty! Your blog ( just like Joes for example) made me contemplate extending the list of nominations to ten, but I guess that would have overdone it!

       
  3. Jason

    December 3, 2012 at 02:32

    Congrats Burkhard, your blog is always a great place to visit. Thanks too for the Nom.

    Like John nominating you, it means a lot coming from someone who not only has similar interests, but work you admire. (I’ll be copying your French Marines someday. :-)) Unfortunately time no longer permits me to write the “This Week in Military History” posts, but you should enjoy the 1813 Prussian Army I’ll be working on in the next year.

    Cheers,
    Jason

     
    • Burkhard

      December 3, 2012 at 08:20

      Thank you Jason, I know exactly what you mean. When I looked at the list of people I had nominated I realised that they all shared my wargaming “beliefs” in some way or the other.

      Regarding the Marines… Victrixes new Middle Guard set should make that quiet easy!

      I know what you mean about a lack of time, but none the less… even with a lack of “this week in history” posts, I still enjoy reading your blog immensely and am looking forward to your 1813 project!

       
      • Jason

        December 3, 2012 at 08:27

        Yep, saw those new Middle Guard and thought the same thing… 🙂

         
  4. Jason

    December 3, 2012 at 02:40

    Looks like I left the sole vote for Tau! That’s OK, I don’t really like the Tau anyway… 🙂

     
    • vonpeterhimself

      December 3, 2012 at 06:04

      Bad luck Jason. Looks like my vote for the Byzantines has cancelled out your Tau vote. Or did your vote cancel mine?! 8O)

      Anyway, congrat’s on having a great blog Burkhard. A regular stop over for me.

      Salute
      von Peter himself

       
      • Burkhard

        December 3, 2012 at 08:27

        Thanks vP… I can only return the comment!

        Regarding the votes… I guess I am starting to see a clear trend here! 😉

         
  5. Curt

    December 3, 2012 at 22:11

    Congratulations on the nomination – its very well deserved, bravo!

    I must thank you for ‘the nod’ to my blog and for your very kind words. Both are very much appreciated and encouraging.

     
  6. Martin

    December 4, 2012 at 22:17

    Thanks for the mention of my little blog, Burkhard. You’re right, I must try to paint more/faster in 2013! By the way, I’m voting for the Byzantines!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 5, 2012 at 09:38

      No need for thanks Martin… It is a great blog to begin with!

      Funny thing is… I still think I need to paint faster as well! 😉

      Byzantines seen to be the popular choice right now.

       
  7. vicsec

    December 5, 2012 at 01:33

    Hey Burkhard,

    Haha I go against the grain and voted for the Tau army! I think Tau army will offer you a different style and technique on mini painting. Good exercise!

    Warm regards to you and your family,

    Ben AKA VS

     
    • Burkhard

      December 5, 2012 at 09:41

      Thanks Ben, same to you and yours!

      I think the Tau seem to be a futile vote right now, but I will eventually have to do them anyway, so they will just be delayed.

       
  8. vicsec

    December 6, 2012 at 04:47

    Burkhard,

    Not to sidetrack you but after I wrote to you I went to check out some Tau painting patterns and it reminded me of DUST figures. I think, if you ever want to do some future camos, that would be a great subject to go.

    Ben

     
    • Burkhard

      December 6, 2012 at 09:23

      Right now my approach would be threefold. For the rank and file troopers I was planning along the lines of a simple olive green with the body armour set apart in a different colour. For the Pathfinders I was thinking a camo based on a tigerstripe pattern (always loved that one). For the suits and tanks I am still torn. I was (and am still) thinking about patterns and colours inspired by maritime animals (catfish, rays, sharks) or on a pattern based on NATOs MEDERC pattern. I was thinking about taking the later digital or hexagonal, but I fear the masking on the rounded Tau surfaces would drive me mad or would even be impossible.

       

What do you think?

 
