RSS

I know what I will do this X-Mas

12 Dec

Yes it sounds vaguely like one of those teenage horror movies so popular a couple of years back, but in reality, it is just the result of the poll I started the other weekend. If you do not remember, I asked you what I should paint over the festive season… Either my Byzantines for SAGA or my Tau for 40.000. Well the Byzantines won hands down with a whopping nineteen votes vs. two. I guess the followers of this blog are mainly historical wargamers at heart like me. So Byzantines it will be. Thanks for that BTW… I do not have any of the minis prepared for painting! 😉

Byzantine Troops

Byzantine Troops
[copyright Osprey Publishing Byzantine Armies 1118-1461]

But this should tie in rather nicely… Curt at Analogue Hobbies is hosting his third annual painting challenge and I have signed up to be one of the contestants. Now during the challenge you get points for every historical mini completed (since I will be painting 25/28mm minis 5 per mini) and style and detail are not taken into account, this will be mostly about numbers. So I do not really see a chance for me making any of the top spots, but since I dropped behind my schedule for the Möckern scenario lately, this should be a great thing to get me going. And I hope to gain a few extra points. Each and every one of us needs to set an ambitious goal what to achieve to get a bonus. I have chosen 500 points. Given the fact that the challenge will run for about 90 days, this equals one mini a day plus ten. This should be manageable, but would also be the minimum I should need to keep my project on track. Lets see how it goes.

3rd Annual Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge

3rd Annual Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in General, Medival, SAGA

 

8 responses to “I know what I will do this X-Mas

  1. Monty

    December 13, 2012 at 00:20

    I’ve wanted to paint a Byzantine army for some time. In lieu of actually doing it, I’ll greatly enjoy watching your figures come to life!

    And have fun in the painting challenge.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 13, 2012 at 08:04

      Thank you Monty. I am really looking forward to painting these. These should be a nice diversion from my Napoleonic minis, too.

       
  2. James Brewerton

    December 13, 2012 at 01:35

    Good luck my fellow Ronin, we will be here to push your through that 500 barrier, looking forward to the Byzantine figures
    Peace James
    Exiles Painting

     
    • Burkhard

      December 13, 2012 at 08:14

      Thank you James! If the job keeps on taking up as much time as it does right now, I will need all the motivation you guys can give! 確かに

      In case anyone wonders… This years theme are the 47 Ronin. Which only means that the starter field is limited to 47 people (which will be a herculean effort for Curt, that one can only appreciate) and that each of us will have to paint a 25mm Samurai and send it to Curt. He is not getting those for free though, since he will donate 5 Can$ to a foundation against animal cruelty for every one received, which is a worthy cause IMHO.

       
  3. vonpeterhimself

    December 13, 2012 at 07:23

    As a vote caster for the Byzantines might I say how delighted I am with the result.

    I have a soft spot for the Byzantines but none of the current ranges really inspired or suited me. I shall watch your progress with interest to see if you change my mind.

    What I do have hidden away is a bunch of Late Romans in lieu of Byzantines. They will be Eastern Late Romans of course!! 8O)

    You’d better start cleaning up the castings Burkhard. There’s no time to loose!

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      December 13, 2012 at 08:08

      I have to say that I must agree on the minis. None really,seemed to match the illustrations I found online. In the end I went for the Gripping Beast offering for easiness sake… Lets see how they turn out!

      Regarding the cleaning. We shall be visiting my better half’s family from Saturday till boxing day and what I usually in the evenings when the TV is on, is cleaning up minis while everyone else is helping themselves to eggnog (vile stuff IMHO) ;-)!

       
  4. John Michael

    December 13, 2012 at 08:51

    Good luck Burkhard, I have something similar planned for the contest for my secret SAGA warband. I will look forward to seeing how the Byzantines

     
    • Burkhard

      December 19, 2012 at 20:39

      Now you got me exited! 😉

       

What do you think?

 
