RSS

It is the end of the world as we know it…

19 Dec
Weather report December 21st 2012

Weather report December 21st 2012

… but I feel fine! Everyone seems to be hyped up about the end of the world that is supposed to happen this coming Friday. Why is that… Well the Mayan calendar is going to end that day. What leaves me irritated right now is the fact that this is going to be such a big deal. I mean if my calendar ends (which it usually does once a year) I go to a shop and buy a new one. Well actually I am usually buried under calendars given as advertising, but you know what I mean. What is it that makes people think that the Mayans would not simply have chiseled a new one as well? I can think of no answer to that. But maybe I have just gotten too used to a new apocalypse every few years! Do you still remember the Y2K scare thirteen years ago (yes it has been that long already), how planes were going to drop from the sky and nuclear power plants would blow up? Well the worst thing that happened was that my PC thought some files were written in 1980. I expect nothing worse this time.

And to be honest… I still got far too many minis to paint. So I believe we will speak again next Saturday.

But if you like to live in fear of the impeding doom… Well the next apocalypse is just around the corner… January 1st 2013! 😉

Fiscal cliff

Fiscal cliff

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “It is the end of the world as we know it…

  1. JonDanzig

    December 19, 2012 at 21:48

    The predicted world’s end on 21 December is irrational scare-mongering nonsense – but the ‘Millennium Bug’ was not. There’s a difference, and it’s important to the human race that we understand what it is. See my latest blog: ‘Mayan Catastrophe versus Millennium Bug’:

    http://jondanzig.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/mayan-catastrophe-versus-millennium-bug.html

    Short link: goo.gl/nok1y

     
    • Burkhard

      December 25, 2012 at 14:24

      HimJon,

      I actually agree. What I meant to say is that many people seemed to belief that in spite of all the Y2K efforts the world would end that day. So it was rather a reference to some peoples irrational “wish” for the world to end.

       
  2. Atelier-Robin

    December 19, 2012 at 23:05

    When the S***T goes down on Friday -do we know what time?- I will raise a glass to you Burkhard!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 19, 2012 at 23:36

      Well, Since the date spells out so nicely, I would assume that it will be around noon… Since it was the Mayas, that would make it Mexican time and since daylight saving was not introduced when the Mayas vanished, that would make it one hour earlier… So sometime around 1700h CET. Hey wait… That would mean I will still be at work. What a place to face the apocalypse!

       
  3. Rosbif

    December 20, 2012 at 00:10

    I now have a reason to justify why I haven’t done any Christmas shopping! Thanks Burkhard!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 21, 2012 at 23:01

      Looks like that did not go as planned! 😛

       
  4. Joe Schulze

    December 20, 2012 at 03:38

    I have a game next Friday so it can’t end until then. BTW Merry Christmas.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 21, 2012 at 23:01

      Hope you are having a good game… And obviously a Merry Christmas!

       
  5. vonpeterhimself

    December 21, 2012 at 06:06

    My sneaking suspicion is that you are right Burkhard – the end of the world as some people seem to think the Mayan calendar presages will not be a happening thing. And if I’m wrong, well nobody is going to know! 8O)

    And assuming that the world will not end – Merry Christmas Burkhard … and to all others as well of course.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      December 21, 2012 at 23:05

      Well I had been thinking about buying The fabulous movie 2012 (what was John Cussack thinking when he signed up for that one) only to sue the studio for getting the fact wrong incase the world actually ended after all… But that must have been the lawyer in me!

      Merry Christmas to you and yours as well vP. Hope the son and heir gets some minis as befits the sons of a proper wargamer!

       

What do you think?

 
