RSS

A Happy New Year (and a resolution)

31 Dec

Obviously the year is about to end and I would like to thank you all for keeping my company over these past twelve month.

Now what are the next few month going to bring? Well I hope even more painted minis and more games. But this year I will do something that I have never done before in my life… make a new years resolution. So what is it going to be? Well over the past few years I have always bought more minis than I painted. It always evened out on aggregate, since I also sold some minis off that I had bought for projects, that I lost interest in. But the past two years have seen the stocks increase immensely. This is mainly due to the fact that I stocked up on all kinds of minis for the Napoleonic era. Right now I can sport enough (unpainted) lead and plastic for substantial Austrian, British, French, Prussian and Russian armies, as well as small Bavarian, Dutch-Belgian, Nassau-Usingen, Saxon and Württemberg armies. And I see no way, I will sell those. So my resolution for next year is not to buy any new minis in 2013. Shock horror… yes no new minis in 2013.

Yes... I can see the look on your face!

Yes… I can see the look on your face!

The only exception are those minis that will not increase my stocks or in other words…  that do not have to be painted (= new additions for X-Wing). I am not too positive that this is going to be easy, because lets face it… I am a lead addict. And between Calpe, Eureka, Perry and Victrix (all in alphabetical order) there is sure going to be a lot of must haves. The other big problem I see is actually going to be 40K. As a said a few weeks ago, I have decided to start playing Tau and if rumor is right they are going to be revamped next year. As far as I understand it with GW you virtually always need the newest stuff to be able to play, so that is going to put me into a tough spot as well. But I am positive that with your help I am going to make good on my resolution… lets see.

I hope to be back with a summary of this year in blogging (I really hope WordPress do a cool animated summary like they did last year [which I unfortunately could not use since I posted my own summary too early]) and pictures of the last minis painted in 2012 soon.

Until then… have fun tonight and do not party too hard!

party hard

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in General

 

16 responses to “A Happy New Year (and a resolution)

  1. The Angry Lurker

    December 31, 2012 at 00:48

    Happy new Year and a good one yourself sir.

     
  2. Monty

    December 31, 2012 at 02:35

    That will be a tough one. I’ll be following your adventures into 2013, even if you don’t keep your resolution!

    Happy New Year!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 31, 2012 at 14:49

      Oh, I know this is going to be tough. Especially with Calpe releasing more of their French, but I will try my best to be strong!

      Happy and a healthy New Year to you and your family, too!

       
  3. Rosbif

    December 31, 2012 at 11:40

    I will keep an eye on you in 2013 to hold you to your promise! 😉

    Happy New Year, Burkhard

     
    • Burkhard

      December 31, 2012 at 15:10

      Thank you, I shall do my best and any surveilance will help! 😛

      Happy and a healthy New Year to you and your family, too!

       
  4. jose neira

    December 31, 2012 at 13:20

    Without doubt, a similar resolution of yours will be formulated by hundreds of wargamers and governments alike around the globe. Complying with it will be a different scenario. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 31, 2012 at 15:11

      Ah lets see. In theory I have everything I need for my imediate projects… now it is keeping te impulse buys down! 😉

       
  5. Ray

    December 31, 2012 at 19:19

    Happy New Year to you and yours Burkhard!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2013 at 09:16

      Thank you Ray.

      A happy and healthy New Year to you and your family as well!

       
  6. vonpeterhimself

    December 31, 2012 at 21:53

    A Happy, prosperous and productive New Year to you and yours Burkhard.

    I shall watch the progress of your armies, games etc with the usual great interest but now I can also watch the progress of your New Years resolution … especially as I am fairly sure that some major tempters will be revealed early in 2013. And that’s just the start of the year! 8O)

    You will have the joy of watching your lead & plastic mountain erode over the year. I would enjoy that if it was me. But sadly I also derive pleasure from watching my mountains grow!! Perverse I know but somebody has got to keep all those backyard manufacturers solvent.

    I shall continue spending for the greater good of the hobby and do what I can to ensure I hand on a vibrant – and still existing – hobby to The son & heir as part of my legacy on this earth.

    There, I’ve nearly convinced myself!! 8O))

    BTW, nice red shoes!! 8O))

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2013 at 20:30

      Well, I will certainly enjoy seeing the lead mountain shrink. I agree, that there shall be many temptations this year, but I hope to stay strong. The positive thing is that I have everything for my immediate projects, so I hope I will be able to resist. Although it might be hard for some manufacturers to get their children through college without me this year! 😛 maybe you will just have to take my place! 😉

      Thanks for the nice comments about the shoes. My better half just said, that they do not match the helmet! :-O

       
      • vonpeterhimself

        January 3, 2013 at 11:23

        Your better half is right. What were you thinking?! 8O))

        Salute
        von Peter himself

         
        • Burkhard

          January 3, 2013 at 12:09

          Yeah… I am such a sorry character! 😛

           
  7. Dave

    January 3, 2013 at 00:37

    Well done Burkhard, however……………….. 🙂

    Look forward to seeing your contributions in the new year

     
    • Burkhard

      January 3, 2013 at 12:05

      Thank you Dave. Also looking forward to your new adventures!

       

What do you think?

 
