RSS

37eme – 2 Légère

02 Feb

So here is my latest finished unit, the 2nd battalion of the 37eme Légère at Leipzig. All minis are from Perry. The command minis are metal, the rest are plastic. Not much to say about these, rather that these bring the 37eme to its full strength of 3 battalions, with this, the 2nd, being the smallest of them all. I have to say, now that I have painted three battalions worth of these, I slightly regret my choice to use the Perry plastic boxed set as a base. Being light infantry these would have been rather nice in skirmishing poses, instead of the marching that gets dictated by the Perry plastics. The good thing is, that while these already give me a good strong base for my Légère, I will eventually need more. When that day comes I will get myself some proper action posed minis.

37eme - 3 Légère

37eme – 3 Légère

37eme - 2 Légère (battalion command)

37eme – 2 Légère (battalion command)

37eme - 2 Légère (Chasseuers 1st and 2nd Coy.)

37eme – 2 Légère (Chasseuers 1st and 2nd Coy.)

37eme - 2 Légère (Chasseuers 3rd and 4th Coy.)

37eme – 2 Légère (Chasseuers 3rd and 4th Coy.)

37eme - 2 Légère (Carabiniers & Voltigeurs)

37eme – 2 Légère (Carabiniers & Voltigeurs)

37eme - 2 Légère (skirmish deployment)

37eme – 2 Légère (skirmish deployment)

There is one more thing I would like to point out with these. They were based on half bases like I always do with my lights. Now those looking at the details will notice that the order of the company colours is not right or in other words that some minis are on the rear half that should rather be on the front half. The reason behind this is that all three battalions are pretty small. I based them in a way that the 1st and 2nd ones (the smallest ones) can be used together to form a larger one. Hope this will work out when needed.

Last but not least all three battalions together.

37eme Légère

37eme Légère
(all three battalions)

I tried a slightly different painting technique to paint these. I usually prime everything light grey and base-coat most of the mini in the dominant colour. After the highlights I painted the crossbelts white and shaded them. This technique still hails from my WWII and Modern minis, where I had to paint the belts anyway and where I could save time by going from the largest areas to the smallest. Now with these, I left them light grey and shaded the crossbelts. After that I blocked out the uniforms. I think this really speeded things up. Right now I have a huge Prussian Battalion on my table and I am trying to figure out if that technique really makes things faster… lets see!

 

 

12 responses to “37eme – 2 Légère

  1. John Michael

    February 2, 2013 at 15:51

    Very nice Burkhard. It is interesting how you have stuck with the RtE OB’s. Do you get to play many games?

    John

     
    • Burkhard

      February 2, 2013 at 21:47

      Thank you John!

      I realised, we did not play a game last year, but we have one up and running now (had to take a break after the first round last week since we started late). You can actually see it in the background.

      I like R2E since it gives you the freedom to,go with actual OOBs as opposed to other rules that make you use generic battalions and brigades!

       
  2. Jason

    February 2, 2013 at 16:01

    Excellent job on these Burkhard. I agree on the poses. I’ve given my friend Eric the same advice to spring for the Perry metals when doing his Light battalions. Just looks/feels better.

     
    • Burkhard

      February 2, 2013 at 21:49

      Thank you Jason.

      Point him to this post… It should only underline your wisdom! 😉

       
  3. Dalauppror

    February 2, 2013 at 18:26

    Very nice work !!!

    best regards Michael

     
  4. Atelier-Robin

    February 2, 2013 at 22:43

    Excellent! I know many folks like their legere to look like ‘lights’ but realistically they were pretty much the same as the line

     
    • Burkhard

      February 4, 2013 at 00:40

      I know. I think this holds especially true for the French which seem to have preferred to just smash into their opponents. But with every plastic mini being released these days being marching poses, I am getting bored! 😉

       
  5. Rosbif

    February 2, 2013 at 23:27

    I keep missing your entries on Curt’s blog, but I saw these and lovely they are too!

     
    • Burkhard

      February 4, 2013 at 00:46

      It is funny… Saw your last entry on Curts blog the other day and thought that you would love those. Never did I realise, that they were actually yours! Lovely work on those, too. (I have had problems posting to your blog today, so I will try this way!)

       
  6. vonpeterhimself

    February 3, 2013 at 08:57

    Another great addition to your 1813 armies Burkhard.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      February 4, 2013 at 00:47

      Thank you vP! Although I dare say you shall like the next unit more… Westpreussische Grenadiere! :-p

       

What do you think?

 
