RSS

Birthday giveaway

01 May

As announced in a recent post, I was going to do a birthday give-away on this blog.

So what are we celebrating? Well, three things actually. For one this blog turned two last month. Second this blog reached 150 followers (actually this figure was actually breached this week, so welcome to the two newest followers). Third we breached 150.000 hits. So with three such benchmarks within 1 1/2 weeks I feel it is time for a giveaway.

Wappen (groß)

So what is up for grabs?

Well as some of you may have noticed this blog is mainly about historical wargaming. You may also have realized that for me, historical wargaming is not just about taking stats out of a rulebook or army book, but about getting a feel for the background and understanding the history behind it. Obviously one needs to do some historic research for that and for me, the best thing to do that are still old-fashioned books. So I am giving away books and in this case from my most played eras. So in historical order:

First up there is “1815, The Waterloo Campaign, The German Victory” by Peter Hofschröer. (Paperback, read once in good condition). I like Hofschröers books. They are off the beaten track when it comes to the Waterloo campaign. since they do not just focus on the view of things based on Wellingtons memoirs, but try a broader approach. Especially taking into account the German perspective of things. I often feel that this makes sense, since the majority of Allied troops actually came from Prussia, Hannover and Brunswick or in other words… what is now Germany. The nice thing about this particular book is, that it also goes into what happened after Waterloo when the Allies marched on Paris.

1815, The Waterloo Campaign, The German Victory, Peter Hofschröer

1815, The Waterloo Campaign,
The German Victory
Peter Hofschröer

Up next is “The Battle of the Bulge in Luxembourg, Volume II: The Americans” by Roland Gaul. (Hardcover, unread [for some reason I bought this one twice, so I am giving away the mint one]). Gaul, a historian from Luxembourg , covers the events from the American perspective, breaking the events down to into small actions. The book is ripe with first person accounts and photographs. I think this offers great ideas for skirmish games set during the Battle of the Bulge.

The Battle of the Bulge in Luxembourg, Vol. II, Roland Gaul

The Battle of the Bulge in Luxembourg, Vol. II
Roland Gaul

Up last is “American Soldiers” (Paperback, unread). This one features excerpts from a number of books outlining the actions of American elite forces during the last two decades. While not a coherent book, this should also give people a good inspiration for small unit actions.

American Soldier

American Soldier
[various authors]

Now what do you have to do to get into the draw?

  1. Comment on this post If you prefer one of the above books above, mention it. If it is still available at the time your name gets drawn, it is yours.
  2. Be a subscriber to this blog. There are essentially four ways to do this. (i) If you have a WordPress account you can follow this blogs, via WordPress. (ii) You can subscribe via eMail (first option from the top on the right). (iii) Or you can be part of my Facebook friends list. (iv) The fourth option is to have this blog on your blogroll on your own blog (I know there are people who follow blogs that way). You need to be a subscriber at the time of the draw obviously, but I would be happy if you remained one after it, too!
  3. You do not need to post about this give-away on your blog. But if you do, you get a second ticket in the draw.

And this is it. The draw will be held on the 12th of this month 0800h CET, so make sure you toss your hat in the ring by that time! Good luck!

 
32 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2013 in Books, General, Historic research

 

Tags: , , , ,

32 responses to “Birthday giveaway

  1. Ray

    May 1, 2013 at 09:45

    I’m in!!! 1815 Waterloo book for me please! And congrats on all your milestones!!

     
  2. Iain

    May 1, 2013 at 09:46

    A nice give away mate and happy birthday to the blog 🙂

    Iain
    flagsofwar.com

     
  3. Aart Brouwer

    May 1, 2013 at 11:40

    Happy blogaversary, Burkhard! And what a nice gesture to give some stuff away. I have read Hofschröer’s other book, Wellington’s Smallest Victory (Faber & Faber, 2004) and his views are refreshing to say the least. So if you can spare that copy for me…

    Cheers,
    Aart

     
    • Burkhard

      May 3, 2013 at 08:11

      Got “Wellingtons Smallest Victory” as well. I bought it based on a review on Amazon that actually summed to the book up in a way that suggested it actually dealt with Waterloo. So right now it is not on top of my reading list, but I shall definitely tackle it later on.

       
  4. rodgertherebel

    May 1, 2013 at 11:45

    Congrats on the milestones. Some excellent reading there!

     
  5. Paul

    May 1, 2013 at 12:28

    Brilliant milestone Burkhard, Happy Birthday. I have been fallowing you Prussian army for inspiration and yer research has helped me out a lot.
    If the Bulge book is still available I would love to get my hands on it.
    Cheers
    Paul

     
    • Burkhard

      May 3, 2013 at 08:12

      Thanks Paul. I am always humbled, if people take me for inspiration!

       
  6. rosbif

    May 1, 2013 at 13:50

    Hi Burkhard,

    Congrats on your milestone. Please put me down for the Hofschroer book.

     
  7. Kris

    May 1, 2013 at 14:26

    Burkhard, congratulations on hitting those milestones. I suspect my own blog is still a long way off from hitting some of those. The Battle of the Bulge book for me!

     
    • Burkhard

      May 3, 2013 at 08:13

      Kris I am sure you will get there soonish enough as well! After all your blog is a very good one!

       
  8. Fireymonkeyboy

    May 1, 2013 at 14:56

    Happy blogday! I’d prefer the Waterloo book, and subscribe via blogroll.

     
  9. Jose Neira

    May 1, 2013 at 15:55

    Your work inspire us, a small group of wargamers in Ecuador. Keep up the good work. I am interested in the battle of the Bulge book.

     
    • Burkhard

      May 3, 2013 at 08:15

      Thanks, Jose!

      Now this explains the hits from Ecuador I am getting! Glad to inspire you and have a readership so far around the world!

       
  10. Thomas Foss

    May 1, 2013 at 16:49

    Many Bloggy Returns Burkhard! I had no idea about the Hofscroer book. I’ll be ordering my own copy, as I am currently gearing up to paint some Brunswickers.
    Cheers and keep on Bloggin, man.
    Ths

     
  11. The Angry Lurker

    May 1, 2013 at 18:14

    Congrats on all the milestones sir, put me down for theAmerican Soldier book!

     
  12. Paul Baldwin

    May 1, 2013 at 18:14

    A great idea, I like the look of the battle of the bulge book, might have together that anyway.

     
  13. Michael Awdry

    May 1, 2013 at 20:14

    What a fabulous set of milestones, very many congratulations Sir.

     
  14. Dalauppror

    May 1, 2013 at 21:58

    Congratulations Burkhard !!!

    best regards Michael

     
  15. vonpeterhimself

    May 2, 2013 at 11:17

    Congratulations on the milestones Burkhard. No entry for me though …. I have the book I’d be interested in!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
  16. Burkhard

    May 3, 2013 at 08:16

    Thank you all for the nice comments! Your preferences will be noted. Really looking forward to seeing whom luck will pick!

     
  17. Jeff

    May 4, 2013 at 16:58

    Congratulations! May your next years on your blog be as fortuitous as your first two! Don’t worry about the giveaway for me. I’m just happy for you! – Jeff

     
  18. Brian Cottrell

    May 5, 2013 at 21:16

    No need to add me to the drawing, just wanted to drop a congrats on your number 2! Look forward to seeing more from ya in the future.

    Brian

     
  19. sebastosfig

    May 5, 2013 at 22:02

    Hiya! Just stumbled upon your blog, thanks to Fran. Well, congratulations on your blogday, and count me in for the waterloo book.

    Cheers

    Seb

     
  20. Jeff

    May 6, 2013 at 02:15

    Congratulations on the milestones.

    Interested in the Waterloo book.

     
  21. Whisperin' Al

    May 6, 2013 at 09:50

    Three important milestones there – congratulations! I must admit that I hadn’t spotted your blog before so the giveaway certainly prompted some useful PR for you. If I were lucky enough I’d be interested in the Bulge book. Thanks.

     
    • Burkhard

      May 6, 2013 at 10:14

      Thank you, Al!

      I have to admit that a little promotion was what I had in mind. I try my best to post on Ffora to keep people in the loop, but there are so many people you can reach, so some other “routes of attack” are helpful. With with the hemof some prolific bloggers like Fran and Ray (in purely alphabetical order) who were kind enough to post on their blogs, it seems to be working out.

      BTW… The funny thing is. Until now I had largely missed you blog as well. So this actually helping both ways.

       
  22. Gary Barr

    May 6, 2013 at 12:27

    Bulge or Waterloo grab my attention.

     
  23. Belgian

    May 6, 2013 at 17:54

    I’m in for the Battle of the Bulge book!

     
  24. Mike

    May 6, 2013 at 20:40

    Congrats on the milestones. I’d like to be added for the Waterloo book. Very cool blog; really like the post on updating your bocage.

     
    • Burkhard

      May 7, 2013 at 07:49

      Wow Mike, you really took one good look at what I posted in the past to get this far!

      Really like the results of my updated bocage. So while it was an heck of a lot of work last year (and very boring one at that) I am really happy I did that!

       
  25. Phyllion

    May 6, 2013 at 22:28

    Happy Blogday!

    I could go in for the Waterloo book.

     
  26. The Kiwi

    May 7, 2013 at 03:23

    Cool. New to this blog so going to look around. Put me down for the Bulge and American Soldier books.
    Cheers and happy 2 years old to the blog.

     

What do you think?

 
