RSS

Medical interruption of normal service

04 Jun

Well just a short note with some bad news. Over the past few days I have had problems hearing, which found its climax in a sudden hearing loss on both ears yesterday. The doctors say that it is probably due to work stress and related high blood pressure.

With medication and some calm I can already see (or rather hear) minor improvements but I am supposed to take it easy and avoid stress and noise for at least the rest of the week. And they are positive that it should go away since I went to the doctor as soon as possible. Good thing is… I am allowed to paint as long as it calms me down. I shall keep you posted!

ear trumpet

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2013 in General

 

14 responses to “Medical interruption of normal service

  1. Paul

    June 4, 2013 at 12:41

    Hi Burkhard,
    Hope your hearing is back ASAP. Hope painting calms you down!
    Take it easy.
    Cheers
    Paul
    P.S. Thanks again for the book. My brother has pinched it at the moment as he just finished a similar book (from the British viewpoint strangely).

     
    • Burkhard

      June 6, 2013 at 08:02

      Thanks Paul!

      Glad to hear the book arrived save and sound and is finding its first (new use). It will be interesting to see what he thinks reading two books on a similar topic but from different points back to back.

      I once read two books by two of the most highly acclaimed authors on the subject. One on a unit from the Confederates and one on a Union unit from the ACW back to back. They met in one engagement, but reading those books, one could not have believed it to be the same battle. Even the terrain description seemed vastly different. Which only proves how subjective history can be!

       
  2. Rosbif

    June 4, 2013 at 13:16

    I hope you won’t have to carry around the hearing aid too long; it doesn’t look very portable 😉

    Seriously, take it easy and I hope you get well soon.

    The book arrived late last week and is already being read on my daily tram trip to and from work. thanks again!

     
    • Burkhard

      June 6, 2013 at 08:05

      Thanks!

      Ahh, the aid is portable enough… it is the doors that cause the problems! 😉

      Glad to hear the book arrived. Although it took mighty long! I have never had anything shipped to the Asia / Pacific region take longer than 1 1/2 weeks! Hope you will enjoy it!

       
  3. Fireymonkeyboy

    June 4, 2013 at 15:08

    That’s rotten news, but at least it’s treatable. Rest and feel better.

    FMB

     
  4. Curt

    June 4, 2013 at 18:28

    Take it easy my friend. Paint Napoleonics. I always find that particularly calming. (or paint some more Black Watch in yet another period)

    Curt

     
  5. Dalauppror

    June 4, 2013 at 18:44

    Sorry about your illness:( god to know that it already geting some what better:)

    best regards Michael

     
  6. Loki

    June 4, 2013 at 20:55

    Sorry to read this news, having been rather unwell lately I understand the need for rest and relaxation

     
    • Burkhard

      June 6, 2013 at 08:07

      Well I hope you are doing better, too! I find it amazing how your body can suddenly decide to tell you that you are overdoing things, even when you yourself think you are not!

       
  7. The Angry Lurker

    June 4, 2013 at 21:37

    Sorry to hear that mate, you get better soon.

     
  8. vonpeterhimself

    June 5, 2013 at 02:34

    Yikes, it’s amazing what stress can do to you. Do you drink a lot of (strong) coffee Burkhard? A friend was told to cut back on his coffee (caffiene) to help his hearing.

    Get better soonest.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      June 6, 2013 at 08:14

      Can not be the reason! I do not drink coffee at all, I do not smoke and I usually drink less than four units of alcohol per month. Yes I know… I am quiet a hedonist, am I! 😉

      I think the biggest problem has been work, where things have been stressful over the past few months. Plus I think I might have ignored a minor cold infection last month. According to the doctors both might have contributed to the current situation. 😦

       
  9. Burkhard

    June 6, 2013 at 07:51

    Thank you all guys!

    The hearing is already getting better. There is still a lot of static noise my hears are producing, but I can see real improvement by now.

     
    • vonpeterhimself

      June 6, 2013 at 09:41

      “but I can see real improvement”

      Ha ha ha. I’m glad to see that you retain your sense of humour and mischievousness through these difficult times. 8O)

      Salute
      von Peter himself

       

What do you think?

 
