RSS

Introducing Sami

14 Oct

I know it has been quiet lately, but the reason is, that I had to prioritize. As indicated in the comments to my last post, my better half and I were thinking about adding a new member to our household and on the 3rd of October Sami became a part of it.

Sami

Sami

Sami is a roughly five months old mixed breed. Now he has had a very dramatic start into his life. Both he and his brother, still being small pups, had been found in a trashbin in Greece. Their good luck was they were found by the husband of an animal welfarerist who took care of them until they were big enough to come to Germany. Good thing is that he seems to have absolutely no memory of this and is as sweet and lovely as anyone could hope for.

Over the past one and a half weeks he has quickly managed to become housebroken, learn his first tricks and sleep through the night. But most important he has managed to secure a sound place in our hearts! So in the future you can expect to see some more of him!

Obviously he is taking up time as well and in order to get everything ready for Crisis in Antwerp next month I had to make a choice. So while I am still slaving away painting minis (and making good progress on it), I have decided to post pictures of them in Novemember after Crisis, when I will have more time to get the posts out. So expect a lull for the rest of the month, with a real spade in November!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2013 in General

 

Tags:

16 responses to “Introducing Sami

  1. The Angry Lurker

    October 14, 2013 at 12:32

    Good work guys, he’s a good looking fella!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 14, 2013 at 12:50

      Thank you Fran, he sure is!

       
  2. Fireymonkeyboy

    October 14, 2013 at 22:51

    Looks like a sweet pup – nice that you found each other.

    FMB

     
    • Burkhard

      October 15, 2013 at 06:55

      Oh, we are very happy we found him!

       
  3. Rob

    October 15, 2013 at 00:01

    Awwwwww! Here’s to lots of good times and happy memories!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 15, 2013 at 06:56

      Thanks Rob! Right now we are hoping for just that (and that he comes through puberty as sweets as he is now ;-))!

       
  4. Curt

    October 15, 2013 at 06:15

    Hey! Congratulations! Sami looks to be a wonderful addition to your family – enjoy!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 15, 2013 at 06:57

      Thank you, Curt. I was sure you would like him!

       
  5. Monty

    October 15, 2013 at 17:57

    What a handsome puppy! He’ll be curled around your feet while you paint for years to come!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 16, 2013 at 07:12

      I really hope so. Right now he is doing his best in this regard!

       
  6. Jim Duncan

    October 16, 2013 at 01:05

    Dog is Family

    Family comes First!

     
    • Burkhard

      October 16, 2013 at 07:12

      That is the way we see it, too! 😉

       
  7. vonpeterhimself

    October 28, 2013 at 11:34

    Hello Sami – nice to meet you. Please let us know if Burkhad is less than the ideal master, though I do not expect this to be a problem. So which is your favourite Napoleonic Army? 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      October 28, 2013 at 11:55

      Well let him talk for himself here:

      Over the past week or so I have started to try my chances and see how far I can push things. I think he has been strict, but not unfair. Although I cannot understand why they (that is Burkhard and his better half) do not leave me those socks, slippers, t-shirts, flower bulbs, toilet paper rolls and so on I keep borrowing. Those are so nice to chew on! And he never complains that I am taking so much of his time and that he has to do what he is calling night shifts to finish everything in time for Antwerp. I will be looking forward to seeing what this Antwerp thing is anyway, when they take me there next weekend.

      But most important is that I always have a full bowl to eat from and I cannot complain on that part. Oh and I enjoy those walks in the forrest they take me to every day. They are even kind enough to give me a treat when I come to them after they called for me, or when I sit, lay down or just walk by their side. Easy money… err food! 😉

      Burkhard and his better half brought me to the vet when I developed that throat infection after a week (is Germany always colder than Greece?). I did not really like it there, but at least I a feeling better right now.

      But he and his better half could go and finally buy me that bigger bed they are talking about. I am growing far too fast for the one you can see in the picture. At least they let me spend the evenings on the chouch with them. Unfortunately they do not allow me in the bed, although I keep on trying. I will keep you posted!

      My favourite Napoleonic army. Well Burkhard always keeps them away from me, so I cannot borrow these either. His brushes are nice though, as is the scalpel. Although I cannot understand why he got so hectic when I borrowed that on my first day.

      Your truely, Sami.

      Well not much to add there.

       
      • Curt

        November 1, 2013 at 20:03

        Awesome. I see Sami’s off to a good start in getting nestled in with the family. You’ll have to upload another picture of him so we can see how he’s grown.

         
        • Burkhard

          November 1, 2013 at 21:03

          I will post some pictures soon. But he has already grown a fiat bit!

           

What do you think?

 
