RSS

Tau Pathfinder

24 Nov

I had actually planned to paint a lot this month. Well I did not really turn that into reality so far. This is the only thing I got done. So let me present you my Pathfinders for my 40K Tau.

As the name indicates these are the scouts in a Tau force and rely more on stealth than on armor for protection. I wanted their uniforms to represent this. So while my Firewarriors wore simple black “clothing” with olive green armor, I wanted these to be camouflaged. As such I Painted their clothing in blurry shades of green and brown to represent camp clothing on their part. Once done I felt I should rather have home for a more hard edged camp, but I was in no mood to go back and start anew. I had always planned to go for a very hard edged camp for their armor and that is what I did. Olive green base (although a different shade than with the Firewarriors) with brown splinter camp edged in sand. Really happy with that (although it does not really come out on the photos). I kept the weapons black. I know this is not the best for camouflage, but I wanted the strong contrast this provides. Now the only thin missing were the red optics lenses and the blue lenses for the lasers. I did the Railrifles in blue as well to represent the energy used in them. And that is about it. I had originally bought metal Pathfinders, but really liked the new plastic ones so I bought another team of those as well. So right now there are two teams. the first one mainly in plastic, the second one in metal. I know there are too many Railrifles and Pulse Rifles in there, but I wanted the option to choose either, so I simply did more.

Tau Pathfinder Team #1

Tau Pathfinder Team #1

Tau Pathfinder Team #2

Tau Pathfinder Team #2

As you will notice, there are no drones here yet… I shall paint those once I takle all the other drones as well!

And to round things off… some closeup´s of some of my favorite minis of the lot:

Tau Pathfinder Shas'ui

Tau Pathfinder Shas’ui

Tau Pathfinder

Tau Pathfinder

Tau Pathfinder

Tau Pathfinder

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2013 in Sci-Fi, Tau

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Tau Pathfinder

  1. aslfan

    November 24, 2013 at 15:06

    These look great, I do like the camo you have done

    Ian

     
  2. Michael Awdry

    November 24, 2013 at 17:53

    Fabulous work the detail is amazing!

     
    • Burkhard

      November 24, 2013 at 18:31

      Thanks Micheal… Great praise coming from a painter like you!

       
  3. Joe Fish

    November 24, 2013 at 18:13

    Very nice camo job on the pathfinders. Tau are such a neat platform for ideas with the smooth armor and ‘hi-tech’ look.

     
  4. Burkhard

    November 24, 2013 at 18:32

    THX Joe. I agree about their looks (which is why I chose them instead of any other force from the 40K universe). Now I only need to paint the rest and actually develop enough interest in the setting to play (or sell them off instead).

     
  5. Lasgunpacker

    November 26, 2013 at 03:08

    Nice work, and I am pleased to find that I am not the only one painting Tau with olive green armor

     
    • Burkhard

      November 27, 2013 at 11:06

      Thanks! I think going for a style suitable for woodlands or jungles is a nice great from the tan or even bright colors you see a lot for Tau… and it suits them!

       

What do you think?

 
