RSS

X-Wing Repaints

08 Dec

Hot on the heels of our first X-Wing game, I decided to repaint my craft. Nothing special… just a little paint here and there.

First up are the X-Wings. Just added red engine glow and painted the Astrodroids. To add a little variety, one is red, one green and one blue (if I should play Luke Skywalker, this will be his craft and the Astrodroid R2D2). I briefly contemplated matching the red markings to those found in the movie, but I did not have a color to match their base coat and was in no mood to do a complete repaint. After all I wanted a game where I did not have to paint the minis from scratch!

X-Wings [Repaints]

X-Wings
[Repaints]

Up next is my lone Y-Wing (in due time he will get a wingman, just as the X-Wings will be upgraded to four as well). As with the X-Wings I added engine glow and painted the Astrodroid red. I never liked the looks of the Gold Squadron craft, so I painted the markings over in blueish dark grey to make him a member of Grey Squadron.

Y-Wing [Repaint]

Y-Wing
[Repaint]

And my two B-Wings. Again added engine glow (the great thing with these is that the plexiglass stand enters the craft in the middle of the exhausts which allowed me to enhance the effect). No Astrodroids on these, so none were painted. With these I felt their squadron markings were too sublime, so they became members of Blue Squadron.

B-Wings [Repaints]

B-Wings
[Repaints]

And the last bigger repaint of them all is the HWK-290. Just added the engine glow here. Since this was not part of the movies but just the computer games, there was footage showing the engines and I went for a blue instead of the red of all the Rebel fighters.

HWK-290 [Repaint]

HWK-290
[Repaint]

Now I also did some repainting on my Ties, but this was very sublime. I just touched up some of the parts where they had not been properly painted (real problem only on the Tie Fighters) and highlighted the wing panels a bit. I wanted to add engine glow, but looking at the movies, I had to find that they have no engine glow. I am still contemplating if I should give them blue engine glow like the HWK-290 anyway. What do you think?

Ties (Tie Figher, Tie Advanced, Tie Bombers) [Repaints]

Ties (Tie Figher, Tie Advanced, Tie Bombers)
[Repaints]

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2013 in Sci-Fi, X-Wing

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “X-Wing Repaints

  1. aslfan

    December 8, 2013 at 14:55

    These start off looking nice but the added touches really make them.

    Ian

     
    • Burkhard

      December 8, 2013 at 16:31

      THX Ian! I agree that they already are pretty nice, but this makes them better!

       
  2. Loki (andrew)

    December 8, 2013 at 16:20

    this really makes a difference to the out of the box jobs

     
  3. dragoonregt

    December 8, 2013 at 22:56

    Nice job

     
    • Burkhard

      December 21, 2013 at 15:45

      Thank you! (And sorry for taking so long to reply… your comment got classed as spam and dropped under my radar!)

       
  4. dragoonregt

    December 8, 2013 at 22:58

    Excellent. I love the shading

     
  5. Burkhard

    December 8, 2013 at 23:49

    Thanks a lot!

     

What do you think?

 
