RSS

WWII Soviet snipers (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #1)

22 Dec

So now the time has come to show off my first entry into Curts Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge. Well actually it is my second entry, but since the first entry is for the fortnight theme (which will only be push listed by Curt today) I am showing this as the first.

Now these are nothing special, just two Soviet snipers from Victory Force. These will augment the rest of my Russian infantry force. So far I have only had one sniper, but in scout uniform and I wanted snipers from the regular infantry.

Now when I painted the other infantry, I felt that the WWII soviets and their uniforms were extremely boring subject. So I simply blocked out the colours and gave them a brown wash. These were just painted to match.

Soviet Snipers

Soviet Snipers

Soviet Snipers

Soviet Snipers

Obviously only a very humble start, but I hope that the next one (French Hussars) will make up for it.

These gave me 8 points for my 1000 point target. Almost there! ­čśŤ

 

6 responses to “WWII Soviet snipers (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #1)

  1. Michael Awdry

    December 22, 2013 at 13:19

    Loved these, a great start to the challenge.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2013 at 21:11

      Thank you, although I think you are far too kind in this case!

       
  2. Dean

    December 22, 2013 at 18:28

    Nice to see these VFM figs – didn’t some of their uniforms have blue-grey trousers? That would add some splash. Best, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2013 at 21:18

      Yes, there were some greyish trousers as well, but the books I have suggest that those were rare and I wanted to convey the feeling that these were just one mass of troops instead of individuals, so I kept their colours extremely uniform.
      I went more elaborate with the Assault Engineers (https://dhcwargamesblog.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/wwii-soviet-assault-engineers/) and will do the same for my second batch of scouts and the Naval Infantry!

       
  3. vonpeterhimself

    December 22, 2013 at 22:01

    A humble start but a start all the same. I’m looking forward to the French hussars.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2013 at 22:08

      Oh, Imthink you will like them!

       

What do you think?

 
