RSS

2013 in review

08 Jan

Since it has now become a custom for me…  here is my look back at the last year. Lets start with the official part and see what WordPress.com was kind enough to create: Click here to see the complete report.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 85,000 times in 2013. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 4 days for that many people to see it.

Those numbers are a bits of a mixed bag here. In total this meant a fall of about 11K visitors in 2013 compared to 2012. Which was no big surprise actually. I posted less than I did the year before, which I think is quiet natural when you spend between 50 and 60 hours a week at work plus at least 10 hours commuting. But the numbers also had a positive note. The most visits on a single day was November 3rd and that virtually annihilated the previous best (4th of July 2012). Plus November narrowly missed being the best month for this blog.

Again the most important thing for me was thou the readers! The number of followers saw a constant rise once again and for me this is a sign, that some of you find something interesting in my ramblings. Same goes for the constant rise in comments. It always amazes me, how many take an interest (especially since I have had times when I did not have the time to browse other blogs and comment so much). Thank you all a lot for this… you can not imagine how much this means to me!!!

But there are also some numbers that WordPress cannot know about, that I would like to share with you and that is what I did this past year. In total I build 10 river boards (yet unpublished on this blog), 4 buildings, painted 4 guns and 355 minis. All in 25/28mm. So on average I painted a little less than one mini a day and only 22 less than 2012. Given how much time I did spend at work and on the roads, how I concentrated on Sami from November on and that a lot of these were Napoleonic minis (real time drains), I was quiet surprised it ended up this way.

And just like last year, I would like to share some of my favourites with you once more:

Seven point Byzantine SAGA Warband

Seven point Byzantine SAGA Warband

Westpreussisches Grenadierbattalion (top view)

Westpreussisches Grenadierbattalion (top view)

French Colonel (Victrix)

French Colonel (Victrix)

Östereichische Jäger

Östereichische Jäger

Tau Firewarrior Shas'ui (Sergeants)

Tau Firewarrior Shas’ui (Sergeants)

Prussian mounted infantry officer

Prussian mounted infantry officer

Brandenburg Infanterie Regiment (Command base)

Brandenburg Infanterie Regiment (Command base)

Tau Stealth Suit Team

Tau Stealth Suit Team

Leibgrenadierbattalion (top view)

Leibgrenadierbattalion (top view)

Generic French regiment [three battalion shot]

Generic French regiment
[three battalion shot]

Oberst Katzeler

Oberst Katzeler

SS Eichenlaub (front)

SS Eichenlaub (front)

5th Hussars officers

5th Hussars officers

Major von Hiller

Major von Hiller

What else did 2013 bring? Well as the kind reader of this blog will know. Sami joined our lives in October. And although he has given me some headaches (like the day he decided to swallow a mini) he has on aggregate been a huge enrichment to our lives.

In other news, I have also been made redundant at the end of the year. I have not found anything new yet. I realize, that in my field (I work as a corporate counsel… I guess now the number of followers will go down ;-)) I will never do with short working hours, but right now I am looking for something closer to home to face less of a commute. The other option we are looking into is a complete change of scenery. So I am also contemplating a move to the UK. So if any of you know a company which is looking for someone who can speak German and English, has a degree in German law and experience in international law… let me know!

So back to brighter topics… what is planned for the rest of 2014? Well I am planning to finish some projects this year. For one I want to paint my WWII Brits, do at least two complete factions for Warzone, paint at least another army for SAGA (either Normans or Saxons), get those pesky Tau for Warhammer out of the painting queue, plus paint some Napoleonics (preferably Russians). But the most important thing will be terrain. I feel that over the past three years, I have done far too little terrain and I want to catch up there. So a lot of time this year and especially during the summer, will be dedicated to terrain building. Now that I see it written out… that will be one nut to crack! Lets see how I will do! I hope you will all follow the progress!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2014 in General

 

12 responses to “2013 in review

  1. Monty

    January 8, 2014 at 00:14

    Good luck on the job front, Burkhard. If you get to move, that would be very cool. A change of scenery can be a wonderful, refreshing thing.

    As for your painting and wonderful blog, 2013 was a great year and we look forward to more good stuff in 2014!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 9, 2014 at 11:16

      Thank you, Monty.

      Not sure if a change will actually work out, but one can dream and I will certainly look in that direction.

       
  2. Ray

    January 8, 2014 at 00:20

    Damn! That’s bad news about being made redundant! Hope you find something soon. That’s a wonderful collection you have their. I love the Byzantines!!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 9, 2014 at 11:18

      Well Ray, I know you have recently been there, too, so I knew you could empathize!

      And thanks… really like them Byzantines myself (unfortunately they do not completely fit my style of play :-()

       
  3. Dalauppror

    January 8, 2014 at 10:41

    Greate painting during 2013 !

    I hope you will find a new work soon Burkhard !

    Best regards Michael

     
    • Burkhard

      January 9, 2014 at 11:18

      Thanks Micheal!

      Hope so too and i shall do my best to make next years selection just as nice!

       
  4. Stefan

    January 9, 2014 at 15:25

    Hi Burkhard,

    it was a great and interesting year on your blog and it was always a pleasure to come hear and watch your excellent results. Thanks for bringing some of them back to mind in your review.

    Good luck with finding a new job and all the best for you and your family
    Stefan (aka. Monty from Monty’s Caravan)

     
    • Burkhard

      January 10, 2014 at 11:00

      Thank you on all accounts Stefan! And I can only return the comment… your blog has served as an inspiration for me as well.

       
  5. vonpeterhimself

    January 9, 2014 at 23:59

    Thanks for 2013 Burkhard. Your blog has been active and interesting and kept me returning and returning.

    Congratulations on a successful year of painting as well. I’m looking forward to what you may bring to us in 2014. Roll on with the terrain … and those Napoleonic Russians! 8O)

    Good luck with the job hunt.

    Say hello to Sami for me .. and please supply a nice juicy bone/dog biscuit/dog treat on my behalf. 8O)

    A belated Happy New Year.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 10, 2014 at 11:02

      Thank you vP! Glad you liked it!

      And Sami shall receive a nice piece of dried rumen on your behalf later today.

       
  6. Birger Kuhlwilm

    January 10, 2014 at 18:22

    hey Burkhard happy new year and thanks for your blog!!
    Birger

     
    • Burkhard

      January 13, 2014 at 22:51

      Thanks Birger!

      Glad to see you here!

       

What do you think?

 
