RSS

Wehrmacht MG42 team (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #7)

22 Feb

Well I knew I said the next entry would be WWII British but in the end it is Germans… but still for WWII.

Last year I saw to it, that I got the entry fee for the Analogue Painting Challenge off my chest pretty fast, but this year I was a bit undecided what to do, so it took me a bit longer. Now the Peckinpah theme gave me some headaches from the start. Last summer I had asked Curt if he already had an idea what the theme for the 4th Challenge would be and based on his answer, I picked a nice mini to paint up for it. Unfortunately Curt decided to go for something different and while he offered me that I could still enter that mini, I felt this would be wrong. I felt pretty sure, that I did not want to to paint something for the Wild Bunch / Western theme, but since Curt said a mini from any Peckinpah movie would do, I decided that Cross of Iron would be a nice option. I assumed everyone going that route would be painting Germans or Russians, so I decide that Americans from Cross of Iron II would be a nice choice. Fortunately I had the presence of mind to check the credits for the movie and found that not only had the actors changed, but so had the director, so this was no option anymore. Thinking about the characters from the movie I felt that Stranski would be a nice choice. Looking through my lead pile, I found a virtual look alike from Artizan Miniatures and decided that I would paint him up… only to find out a few days later that someone had beaten me to it. I guess you can all see a theme of one step forward, two steps back developing here, can you! So I sat down with the DVD and watched the movie again. It is funny that what stuck with me the most was not one of the main characters, but the tripod mounted MG42 firing in defense of the trenches during the Soviet attack, so I decided that this would be it. Looking through my lead pile again I found that I still had a very nice MG42 team from Victory Force and so this was finally painted up. According to Curt’s preferences based as a team on a slim base. While a trench would have been a fitting base according to the movie, I went for more open ground, to give it more of an universal use. The minis are now on their way to the wilds of Canada and I hope they arrive safe and sound. Sorry for the poor photos… they look much better IRL. Hope Curt enjoys them!

MG42 team

MG42 team

MG42 team

MG42 team

MG42 team

MG42 team

 

11 responses to “Wehrmacht MG42 team (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #7)

  1. Rob

    February 22, 2014 at 21:09

    The facial expression on the spotter with the peaked cap is priceless! Well done.

     
  2. Dean

    February 22, 2014 at 21:46

    Always a pleasure to see your work, Burkhard – be it Napoleonics or Moderns – and everything else. Regards, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      February 23, 2014 at 19:48

      Thanks Dean!

      I can only return the comment, although I would love to match not only your skill, but speed as well!

       
  3. daggerandbrush

    February 23, 2014 at 09:32

    The face is indeed very special ;). Looks a bit like the cover guy of the MAD magazine. The paintjob is very good, but I really like the tree trunk on the base. How did you make it, if I may ask?

     
    • Burkhard

      February 23, 2014 at 19:55

      Thank you!

      Most of the VFM faces (especially the old ones) have lots of character and are a pleasure to paint.

      Regarding the trunk… It is just a twig I took from the forest while walking Sami. I think it is an oak. I picked one that had a nice green patina, broke it to an appropriate length and removed part of the bottom so it would look, like the dirt had build around it. It did this before the varnish. That way the varnish will prevent the moss from continuing to grow or the twig from rotting.

       
      • daggerandbrush

        February 24, 2014 at 21:47

        I was wondering if it is a “real” piece of wood. How does the moss and wood hold up long term? Did you ever have problems?

         
        • Burkhard

          February 25, 2014 at 11:08

          In my experience quiet well if you do a good coat of varnish to seal it (and as long as the wood is dry and free of vermin). I think i have some terrain pieces roughly 15 years old that still look as they did back then. (This means they look rubbish since I did not put much effort into them, but the wood is fine! ;-))

           
  4. vonpeterhimself

    February 23, 2014 at 10:04

    Great composition & work Burkhard.

    Cross of Iron takes me back a few years … ok, a few decades! I should track it down for another viewing.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      February 25, 2014 at 10:58

      Thanks vP!

      I have to say… It was nice to watch it again after a couple of years!

       
  5. Michael

    February 25, 2014 at 04:04

    It looks terrific. The spotter’s face is like ” Ruuskies, Herr Rico, zillions of zem!” Great work.

     

What do you think?

 
