RSS

British Universal Carriers (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #9)

03 Mar
After painting a lot of infantry for my poor bloody infantry, I felt they needed some transports to make sure they would not be so foot sore. So here are some Universal carriers for them. All the models are from Tamiyas 1:48th scale range. The tracks, tanks and flamethrower for the Wasp Carrier are from GasoLine (expensive aftermarket stuff, but well worth the money). Now I really like these models. Very nicely detailed, robust (our dog Sami stole one while drying and chewed on it without any damage that could not be repaired within 5 minutes) and they are completely accurate. And there was a time when you could get these off eBay dead cheap.
Universal Carrier Wasp

Universal Carrier Wasp

I had some fun weathering them. So far I have mostly worked with just some basic airbrush work on my WWII tanks, but I wanted to go a different route on my Brits. So these were primed with Vallejos Bronze Green primer applied with an airbrush. Up next I slapped decals (these came with the kits), sealed with Solvaset. Again the markings are for the South Lancs to match the Infantry. Afterwards I went for a wash of Dirtbrown by Modelmates. This was only to be a test since I had never used it, but I was impressed with the results. Now you do not only apply this wash, but it is meant to be partly removed again in a second step. Hard to explain, but in the end you get a nice color variation in the large areas and shadows in the recesses and near the corners. The next step was a first for me as well, as I did highlight everything with Faded Allied Green pigments from MIG. Never did that before, but it was great. The end result after the wash had been darker than what I wanted, but the pigments took it right where I had hoped for. Marvelous! Up next a coat of varnish, painting of details and another weathering with artists pigments to dirty them up. Crew added and another coat of varnish and they were done.
Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Now the mini are from Victory Force. James has always believed in his range to be compatible with scale models on the market. So when a couple of customers asked for crews for Tamiyas Universal Carriers he sculpted them. (I can claim some credit, since I donated one of my assembled Carriers so he had the measurements.) And he did a great job, providing minis that really fit the models. They even fit the cramped passenger compartment. Just not on all my Carriers, since I had been stupid enough to stuff two of them to the rim with ammo crates. so on one of them, the passenger actually has to ride said ammo boxes and is sitting higher. 😉
Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

Yes, these are actually four different carriers (plus the Wasp) as can be seen by their T-numbers and the placement of the passengers. But just to prove, here is a group shot:

Universal Carrier unit

Universal Carrier unit

 

8 responses to “British Universal Carriers (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #9)

  1. Dean

    March 3, 2014 at 15:21

    Saw these on the Analogue blog, Burkhard. As always, impressively painted and detailed. And, and you know I too love James’ figures – not only for their proportions/accuracy, but also that they go well with 1:50/1:48 vehicles. Best, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      March 4, 2014 at 08:07

      Thank you Dean!

      Well I guess we both know where to find the best minis for our needs! 😉

       
  2. daggerandbrush

    March 3, 2014 at 23:32

    Excellent weathering and beautifully painted. I also like that you took some extra time an painted the crew to a high standard.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 4, 2014 at 08:11

      Thanks a lot! Knowing how much effort you put into the weathering of your models, this means a lot!

      Regarding the crews… simply could not give them less love than the infantry, could I!

       
  3. Ray

    March 4, 2014 at 00:55

    Great brushwork!!!!!

     
  4. Darrell Hindley

    March 4, 2014 at 10:06

    Really lovely stuff!

    See my comments on the SDF for my youthful adventures :>)

    [EDIT: Here is the text from the Steve Dean Forum:]

    I spent my youth playing on a Mark I Carrier at the Durham Light Infantry Museum that still had it’s scrapes on it. someone at some point in the museum took it upon themselves to give it a lick of paint and now it has a nice false Dunkirk colour scheme!!!

    Madness!

    Darrell.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 4, 2014 at 11:21

      Thank you Darrell!

      I can remember one of the places by the sea where we used to go on holiday when I was young had an AT gun displayed (pretty unusual for the post-war Germany) and I cans till remember turning the levers, well at least those that were not rusted / painted immoveable. Those were the days. I guess by now it will have been removed as a rusted piece of scrap metal.

       

What do you think?

 
