RSS

Warzone Resurrection, Bauhaus: Max Steiner (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #10)

04 Mar
The favorite character round got me thinking hard again. In a way, I find it hard to name a real favorite character from history. Many choices went through my head, like the Black Duke from Brunswick or Blücher who both dedicated their all to see their home freed from the French. Or General Buford who’s decision to make a stand at Gettysburg made sure that the Union had the terrain to win. But in the end I always came to the point where I had to admit, that while I liked them (and many more) for their place in history, none of them held an affection with me greater than their historical importance. So I thought about something else.
As I said with a previous entry, I had been a great fan of Warzone when it came to the first two editions and jumped on board when Warzone Resurrection hit Kickstarter last year. It was the first proper tabletop game I played. So I looked that the characters from that game to choose from. My favorite faction had always been Bauhaus for their strong German looks, with the Pickelhauben and all. So it was kind of obvious that my favorite character came from that faction. And Max Steiner had to be my favorite. In a society ruled by aristocracy he came from a noble background, but was so unbureaucratic that he ended himself up before a court martial and had to pick the special forces as a way out and to redeem himself. And thinking back… in those days I was a teenager and what is there not to like for a teenager in a guy who wields a huge HMG and wears a skull mask in combat like all the Bauhaus special forces. Funny thing is, that this is actually the first time I ever painted a mini for him, since I never liked the previous minis.
Max Steiner

Max Steiner

This mini is virtually straight out of the box, but I had to make a few changes. The home world of Bauhaus is Venus. According to the background most of Venus landmass is covered by jungles. But the polar regions are cold and covered by snow and ice (at least in the more diverse back ground of the first and Resurrection Editions). Having painted my previous Bauhaus force for said Jungels (and assuming that virtually everyone else will do so) I decided to go for said colder regions. To depict that I added a hood with fur lining to the mini using green stuff. Small addition really, but I think it has a great effect. Accordingly I painted his clothing in a fictional snow camo. The body armor was painted in a bluish grey. This had always been the color in the background art and I had loved the tone when I painted that 2nd Edtion army (long sold off). Only trouble was finding one that fit my tastes since I have switched from Emanels to Acrylics about a decade ago.
Max Steiner

Max Steiner

All in all painting him set me a little on edge. I knew that the base would contain lots of white. Now with the show camo suits I wanted for him and the other Venusian Rangers I had to make sure that he did not look too cold with that grey armour. On the other hand I want to paint the Hussars (= the rank and file) in the standard blue uniforms, so i had to make sure the grey for the armor would fit that, too. So far I am happy with my decision. Especially since I think that the brown gloves and tan boots break it up a little as well.

Max Steiner

Max Steiner

For those of you wondering about the other entries, here is the link to the special page Curt set up for the first fortnight theme and for people to cast their votes for favourites.
Max Steiner

Max Steiner

 

6 responses to “Warzone Resurrection, Bauhaus: Max Steiner (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #10)

  1. Andrew “Loki” Saunders

    March 4, 2014 at 19:22

    Fantastic work

     
    • Burkhard

      March 4, 2014 at 19:45

      Thanks Andrew, means a lot coming from such a prolific painter!

       
  2. daggerandbrush

    March 5, 2014 at 00:53

    Very nice. I think you are right, the addition of the fur really adds a a lot of character. The armour plates came out nicely. I guess they are painted/varnished or did you try NMM? What are the green details? Granades?

     
    • Burkhard

      March 5, 2014 at 09:17

      Thank you!

      Well the plates are just meant to represent composite armor painted in grey. For NMM I would have gone for more shades to make the effect pop.
      The green stuff real are grenades. One thing I hate about SciFi minis. Things like grenades often do look like they do not belong there.

       
  3. Dean

    March 6, 2014 at 15:15

    A very interesting figures, Burkhard – not too far off the mark where technology could take us. Regards, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      March 6, 2014 at 22:52

      Well, I hope not! In the background story high tech gets corrupted by evil, so most of mankind decided to go back to a steampunk level.

       

What do you think?

 
