RSS

Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge recap

24 Mar
Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge recap

wildbunch_ivpc_posterv6

Well as they say… all good things come to an end and so did the Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge last Thursday.

So how did it go? Well I would say not too bad. Although I found less time to paint this year than I did last year, I actually managed to raise my points total. All in all I became 16th out of 61 participants being sandwiched between two regulars on this blog Samuli right above and Ray right below me on the standings. Top spot went to another regular on this blog Andrew (aka. Loki) who came out top with a massive output, which by itself was impressive, but got even more so taking into account the quality he managed to produce.

The only sad thing for me is, that I ran out of time in the end. I had two troops of Shermans on my table that only needed the tracks and weathering done and 15 Bauhaus Hussars for Warzone that only needed their weapons, gloves and bases done. All in all I guess another 6 or 7 hours of work and it would have been 195 points more (which would have brought me to 11th place).

Photo of shame

But on the last night I got too tired and decided to do it properly instead of just doing it fast to get the points in. I have to say that I am very happy with that decision. For example I spend Thursday afternoon redoing the hessian tape camo on one of the Shermans (far left of the front row) that I had not been happy with anyway and will now do some extra details that I would have skipped otherwise. But I guess you will see that in the coming days!

This being my second Challenge participation I have to say I immensely enjoyed it. For one thing it has given me a huge boost over the cold months here. For example, I have meant to paint my WWII British for three or four years now and had gotten nowhere so far. Now they are about 70% done. The only things missing are the riflemen, scout cars, Cromwells and Churchills and I have a full platoon of Infantry will all support elements and transports as well as four troops of tanks of various types. I doubt it would have found the motivation to do so otherwise. Plus I still found the time to do and paint other stuff (mainly through the theme rounds). I found these to be a great thing. As I said in the past I think it best to change topics from time to time to keep motivated and these allowed me to do so with a mix of Napoleonics, SciFi and other stuff. What I really enjoyed was painting the ACW trooper, since I had not touched that subject in over a decade.

5th Hussars officers

First real entry into the Challenge, 5th Hussars officers pillow fight

Before I give you an outlook of what is to some on this blog, I would like to take the time to say a few words to my fellow Challengers and Curt.

95th Rifles (front view)

95th Rifles (front view)

To the Challengers go my thanks for the good company and comradie you have given me. It was great to receive your feedback and the quality of the field was so great that it served as a constant motivator. One could not ask for a better band of (painting) brothers (and sisters)!!!

British 6pdr. [WG]

British 6pdr. [WG]
“Those skirts are not going to help you here!”

And a very special thanks goes out to Curt for hosting this event. Even if he says he enjoyed it, I still imagine that it must be a huge drain on his personal time catering for the entries of 60 other people for a quarter of a year. For this he has my most heartfelt gratitude! And above all this, he does it for no personal reward. While we all have to enter a mini (or in some cases by our own choice a selection of minis) as an entry fee of sorts, he donates 5 Dollars for every mini to a charity against animal abuse. I guess he has the most heartfelt gratitude for this from many a unknown puppy or kitten! Thanks a lot Curt for doing this!!!

I personally would be most honored, if I was to be allowed to participate in the next installment, if there is to be one!

MG42 team

my entry fee MG42 team

So what does the future bring now? Well obviously I am going to finish those Shermans and Hussars next. After that I will begin the terrain building phase I had planned for this year. As I said before, I have concentrated on minis so much over the past few years, that my terrain has not really kept up and now is the time to remedy that. There will be lots of small items like hedges, dances and fields to medium sized ones like a new bridge for my river boards, some new houses to large ones like the WWII inner city ruins. For those who chose this to follow blog for the minis… do not despair. I obviously will finish my WWII Brits soon (no use in dropping the ball now, right) and I plan a paint minis in between every step of terrain building. One to keep me entertained and two to make sure I do not loose my edge for painting minis!

So stay tuned tuned!

 
 

22 responses to “Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge recap

  1. John Michael

    March 24, 2014 at 13:03

    Great job, your figures are always painted in the most impressive way.

    John

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:37

      Thank you John, you really humble me!

       
  2. Dean

    March 24, 2014 at 14:13

    Congratulations once again, Burkhard. Not only to your standing, but your continued excellence in the hobby. Best, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:38

      Thank you Dean! I only fear that if I keep up the quality, my lead pile will last till I retire. :-O

       
  3. Curt

    March 24, 2014 at 20:46

    Thanks for the kudos Burkhard, much appreciated (and a big thank you as well for the MG team!). I really am delighted that the Challenge motivated you to get a good bite into your WWII British project. Those Shermans are gorgeous, especially festooned with the assorted stowage, and I look forward to seeing them all arrayed together soon.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:54

      Thanks Curt. The Challenge gives me a great opportunity to get things done early in the year so I can tackle the rest of the year in a relaxed manner. Last year it was the Byzantines, this year it was the WWII British, lets see what is up next!

      Glad you like the MG team and hope it comes to good use!

      Shermans should be ready some time this week. I admit to relaxing a bit late last week and the weekend was stuffed with social events and caring for the sick better half.

       
  4. Michael Awdry

    March 24, 2014 at 21:15

    A fabulous challenge with some wonderful entries! I think the 95th were my personal favourite – here’s to next year.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:55

      THX Micheal!

      Oh the 95th. I liked that a lot, too. I am only a bit sad that being a theme round entry it somehow dropped under the radar.

       
      • Michael

        March 31, 2014 at 12:21

        A most worthy effort – you did some fine work for the Challenge. I agree w Michael that the 95th was your best entry, or at least, my personal favourite, and the pillow fight was the most whimsical.

         
        • Burkhard

          April 1, 2014 at 07:30

          Thank you too Micheal! Happy to hear that, too! Since the individual theme round entries hardly get comments, it is good to know!

           
  5. Millsy

    March 24, 2014 at 22:45

    Well done Burkhard. That pillowfight scene still makes me smile.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:58

      Thanks Milsy. Honestly the pillow fight is great on many levels. There was a comment on TMP that on some sub-fora there it might have been considered too nude and I commented that I felt glad i had painted the area under their skirts simply black. The next evening a friend of mine came by and having read that comment had to pick up the base to look under their skirts to see if it was true. 😛

       
  6. Woodworking Projects

    March 25, 2014 at 01:28

    Nice work. Looks like you have a lot of fun with it.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:58

      Thanks. I really did!

       
  7. Ray

    March 25, 2014 at 02:00

    A very well done Burkhard, you produced some great figures!

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2014 at 07:59

      Thank you Ray and so did you!

       
  8. vonpeterhimself

    March 26, 2014 at 10:21

    A mighty effort Burkhard. Good for your collection and good for us the viewers.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      March 26, 2014 at 13:05

      Thank you, vP.

      Finally managed to find the time to finish the Shermans, which will be a really big boost. First coat of varnish is drying now, just another one and I should be able to post some pictures. > > >

       
  9. Gouf

    March 26, 2014 at 21:22

    A sherman team looks fantastic !

     
    • Burkhard

      March 27, 2014 at 09:58

      Thanks! I shall post a … well post in a couple of minutes showing them finished.

       
  10. Stefan (aka. Monty)

    March 27, 2014 at 08:08

    Sehr gute Arbeit, Burkhard.
    Da sind wirklich schöne Figuren dabei.

    Cheers
    Stefan

     
    • Burkhard

      March 27, 2014 at 09:59

      Danke! Bei Dir waren auch super Sachen… gerade die Napoleonischen!

      (Thank you! You had top stuff, too… especially the Napoleonics)

       

What do you think?

 
