RSS

Bauhaus Hussars

08 Apr
Bauhaus Hussars

Now it is finally time to show the Bauhaus Hussars that almost made it into the Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge. They have been done for well over a week now, but I was (first) in no mood to do the basing and then (second) in no mood to take photos. Yes I know, shame on me!

Before I go on to show you the minis, I wanted to give you an idea where I want to go with them background wise. All my ideas for Bauhaus this has been heavily inspired by the Artwork of Paul Bonner and his paintings of Bauhaus troops and their setting. The unit mentioned and described here has been my idea though and is not based on anything in the background itself.

battle_painting

As I said on the Max Steiner post, in the Warzone setting Venus is the home world of the Bauhaus corporation. Venus has been terraformed and is mostly covered by jungles. But the further you get to the poles, the colder it gets and there actually is a region called “The Circles of Ice” that contains a number of human cities. One of them is Torburg which is a more mountainous region. For over a millennia Torburg has been the home garrison to the 23rd Gebirgssturm Brigade (Mountain Assault Brigade), nicknamed the “Fenriswölfe” (Fenriswolves). It has for all this time specialized in mountain and winter warfare, at which the men and women of the unit excel. At the same time they have access to all the heavy equipment Bauhaus has in its inventory from armoured battle suits to the heaviest of tanks.

Mutant-Chronicles-Bauhaus-Grizzly-Venusian-Ranger

While their main mission is the defense of Torburg and the surrounding regions, time and time again they have been called to serve off-world when Bauhaus forces were called to fight in other cold regions or mountainous terrain. In those cases they have always formed the spear point for the other Bauhaus troops and have gained the respect of both their enemies and their brothers in arms. As such they see themselves as the elites of the Bauhaus cooperation. This holds true not only for the Venusian Ranger, Blitzer, Dragoons or other special forces detachments fighting in the 23rd, but down to the very rank and file. As such even the regular Hussars have taken to marking their uniforms to bring them closer in appearance to the special forces. The Hussars from the Fenriswölfe, while keep keeping their body armor the standard Bauhaus light grey, paint the faceplates of their helmets a darker grey and stylized fangs in bone white on them. Together with the green glass of their visors this gives them a feral appearance and many have been haunted by the memories of them suddenly appeared out of the arctic twilight before them.

grizzly

Now on to the minis. I have given some of them slightly more dynamic arm positions then the normal minis, but nothing too spectacular. Only the trooper with the rocket launcher got different left arm and a shoulder pad for the non-launcher side (the original mini comes with none at all). But to fit them into my cold setting, I sculpted faux fur collars and cuffs onto the minis with green stuff. The minis themselves were painted with their uniforms in a dark blue grey uniforms, the holsters, backpacks and so on in ochre, tan boots and brown leather gloves. The body armour, and grips on the rifles were kept in an off-white. While painting them, I noticed that the faceplates had a skull like shape. But since it was longer than a regular skull I felt it would not lend itself to an imitation, so I just went with very stylized fangs. The eye slits were painted in green and given jewel effects. In the end I filled them with Vallejo water paste, which enhanced the visor look, but killed the jewel effect.

These will make up three small squads and each of the troopers got a small roman numeral on his left shoulder to show his squad. The NCO´s got laurel wreaths on their right shoulder as they had in the first edition of Warzone. I have ten more Hussars (which I will assemble when my weapon packs arrive with the second wave for my Kickstarter pledge) which will bring two of these squads to ten men.

Bauhaus Hussars (1st Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (1st Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (2nd Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (2nd Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (3rd Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (3rd Squad)

Bauhaus Hussars (all 3 Squads)

Bauhaus Hussars (all 3 Squads)

This time I took the photos in front of a red background. I found that the winter setting for Max Steiner had made him look extremely bleak.

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2014 in Bauhaus, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Bauhaus Hussars

  1. Andrew “Loki” Saunders

    April 8, 2014 at 17:31

    These are rather nice Burkhard, I do like the additional touches you have used to make these winter soldiers

     
    • Burkhard

      April 8, 2014 at 19:03

      Thank you Andrew!

      I have to say… by now I really regret going for a winter theme. It takes its time to greenstuff them up and these were the easy ones… I do not even want to start thinking about the Etoils Mortant, which are scantly clad females! 😉

       
  2. The Angry Lurker

    April 8, 2014 at 20:19

    Those are damn good, I love that second picture too!

     
    • Burkhard

      April 9, 2014 at 07:03

      Thank you, Fran!

      I always loved that painting, too! It has been my biggest inspiration for painting Bauhaus troops ever since!

       
  3. Michael Awdry

    April 8, 2014 at 22:22

    Splendid work Sir, they would have been valuable points to you tally, but great to see them now all the same.

     
    • Burkhard

      April 9, 2014 at 07:04

      Thank you Micheal! I think I have left the thought about how many points i could have had behind me. I think I can be really happy with my standing, so I shall not complain! 😉

       
  4. Ray

    April 8, 2014 at 23:54

    Great work, shame they never made the Challenge!

     
    • Burkhard

      April 9, 2014 at 07:05

      Thanks Ray! As I said… I am fine with the “lost” points. But it would have been nice to show some more of the new WZR minis on the Challenge!

       
  5. Carlos "Amilkar" Morales

    April 9, 2014 at 08:54

    Hi Burkhard!

    you have done a relly amazing work! I have asambled two week ago also my own hussars, but I didn’t have idea, how I can paint my mine. Your work is a good inspiration for me!

    P.S. I’m the Spanisch guy from Münster (Westf.)

     
    • Burkhard

      April 9, 2014 at 09:05

      Thanks Carlos. Glad you like ten and even happier if these can serve as inspiration!

      Münster is not that far away, so I am pretty sure we could meet up for a game!

       
  6. darthbrom

    April 10, 2014 at 19:52

    Great looking troops! I missed out on WZ as they were done when I lost my drive for all things 40k. I did purchase the big plastic set from Prince August and have steadily been converting, building, and forming squads from that bunch. Although I’ve been swinging more to historical, SciFi is always a good attention getter for me, the new sculpts blow the old WZ figures outta the water!

     
    • Burkhard

      April 11, 2014 at 13:17

      I played the first two editions and then shifted to historicals a decade ago. Now that I am getting older, I feel like I could use some simpler settings (read Sci-Fi) once more, which is why I got myself a Tau army (still nowhere near half painted) and back into Warzone.

      The plastic box set from the 2nd edition was great. I even thought I had the books and Bauhaus minis from that set around, but a search last year proved me wrong. No matter what… It is amazing to see how much Sci-Fi minis have evolved over the past two decades!

       
  7. Azazel

    April 28, 2014 at 08:06

    Nice work on those Hussars. The winter bases are also extremely well done.

     
    • Burkhard

      April 28, 2014 at 08:53

      Thank you… glad you like them!

       

What do you think?

 
