RSS

Bauhaus Vorreiter

27 Apr
Bauhaus Vorreiter

Before there will be a hiatus in posts and painting in May, I wanted to finish my Bauhaus Vorreiter (I simply can not get myself to use a plural “s” on a Germanic word).

This is one of the new units implemented for Bauhaus under this edition. Together with the Mounted hussars (who ride giant lizards), these form the scout cavalry of Bauhaus. And I feel that these fit the winter feel of my Bauhaus force quiet well. Essentially what they ridge are twin-tracked motorcycles with double HMGs into combat. And I can imagine nothing better to plow through the snow with!

The riders themselves follow the paint scheme I have adopted for my other Hussars… same colors same stylized feral grin on the helmet front. The bikes themselves are something different. According to the background I imagined them as the rough guys amongst the Bauhaus troops, who are happy with their gritty appearance. As such I felt they would not paint their rides in any fancy camo, but just give them a winter whitewash over the basic paint job they arrive in from the factory. Since the near future will also see me paint more WWII troops again, I wanted to try out some new techniques for them (and also some that could be duplicated for the WWII). So these were airbrushed with Vallejo Panzer Grey primer, highlighted with their regular Panzer Grey (which is slightly lighter in colour). Afterwards came varnish and hairspray and a light coat of off-white. The off-white was then partially removed with a damp brush. Afterwards I did the details and the minis were done. Now this was my first ever attempt at the hairspray technique. Not entirely happy with it yet, but I am getting there. also i feel the exhausts look a bit too rusty, but otherwise I am real happy with them.

Bauhaus Vorrreiter (group shot)

Bauhaus Vorrreiter (group shot)

Yes, the NCO lost the Pickel (spike) to his helmet. These things are far too fragile, but they minis look far too cool with them to be left off. So I will need to find a replacement!

Bauhaus Vorrreiter NCO

Bauhaus Vorrreiter NCO

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #1

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #1

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #2

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #2

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #3

Bauhaus Vorrreiter #3

Bauhaus Vorrreiter (group shot)

Bauhaus Vorrreiter (group shot)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2014 in Bauhaus, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Bauhaus Vorreiter

  1. Dean

    April 27, 2014 at 15:56

    Nice looking “nauts” – I think it shouldn’t too difficult to replace the spike – especially with your skills/experience. Looks like the tip of a pin could fit into a drilled hole on the helmet. Are you taking a vacation in May? Enjoy in any case. Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      April 28, 2014 at 08:59

      Hi Dean. Well I thought about the pin as well. Just not sure yet, if a steel pin on the top of a mini is such a good idea, unless I want blood smeared over the helmet after one game! :-O

      We will be off to bonny Scotland for a good part of May (again). I am pretty sure we will enjoy that. It is still a couple of days before we go, but there are so many things to do before we can leave, that i hardly expect to get much done. I still have an AAR in the pipeline and will probably write some book reviews while we are away (as i finish them), but that will be it.

      Thank you!

       
  2. Curt

    April 27, 2014 at 20:40

    Those are crazy looking bikes – I love them. I wish I had one this past winter as it would have made freezing my n*ts off a bit more fun…

     
    • Burkhard

      April 28, 2014 at 09:02

      Thank you, Curt!

      Well I guess, if you have to freeze your n*uts off it is best done while having fun! 😉

      It is amazing… while we had a couple of weeks earlier this year when it was cold (and it took another dip the other week) it was actually a mild winter here and we did not have a single day of snow! Crazy how different it can be!

       
  3. Michael

    April 29, 2014 at 19:31

    Very simple and effective weathering, the bikes have that “used hard and put away wet” look. Nicely done.

     
    • Burkhard

      April 30, 2014 at 14:36

      Thank you Micheal!

      In that case I am really happy, since this is what I wanted to look like!

       

What do you think?

 
