RSS

Birthday / Milestone giveaway

23 Jun
Birthday / Milestone giveaway

So it is time for another giveaway on this blog.

So what are we celebrating? Well, a number things actually. For one this blog turned three in April. “Uh… what… April, you say! Why only now?” Because I wanted to wait for a number of other things to happen. One is that this blog reached 125 followers (actually this figure was actually breached in April, too). Some may remember, that we were higher already, but this is before I severed the connection via Facebook, which contained a number of people, who are not interested in Wargaming and therefore just muddied things up. So being back to that level was a huge milestone for me! Third we breached 250.000 hits, Oddly enough, it seems that Fran aka. the Angry Lurker was the visitor that pushed us over a milestone once more (this has happened twice in the past). Fourth, we breached 2000 comments earlier this month. Fifth… this is actually the 250th post! Oh and we have our first follower via Twitter… Fran again ;-)! All in all I feel this warrants another giveaway!

Wappen (groß)

So what is up for grabs?

Well last year, I gave away some books on historical topics. I was thinking about doing the same once more, but honestly, all books went overseas last year and the shipping on them nearly killed me! Given my financial situation I decided  to go back to basics this year and offer you some painted miniatures and these are (in order of them being drawn):

  1. Lord Uxbridge from Perry Miniatures
  2. Edward I, King of England from eBob Miniatures
  3. Napoleon (on foot) by Perry Miniatures
Giveaway miniatures

Giveaway miniatures

All of these come from my own stocks and were not donated. The minis will be painted over the next few weeks, but it might take until after the draw that they are actually finished. Depending on request I will either change the basing on these minis or send them un-based. To give you and idea of what the finial minis will look like… here is a photo of the Uxbridge mini I painted for myself two years ago:

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

Lord Uxbridge and ADC´s

Should you feel that you are not interested in any of these minis… well you can always have something else painted by me. Essentially send me a substitute (one 28mm mini or four 20mm or six 15mm minis or even a single 20mm or 15mm vehicle are fine, but talk to me… depending on the topic this can be expanded), tell me how you would like it painted and it will be done!

Now what do you have to do to get into the draw?

  1. Comment on this post and if you prefer one of the above miniatures, mention it. If it is still available at the time your name gets drawn, it is yours.
  2. Be a subscriber to this blog. There are essentially four ways to do this. (i) If you have a WordPress account you can follow this blogs, via WordPress. (ii) You can subscribe via eMail (third option from the top on the right). (iii) Or you can follow via Twitter (second option from the top on the right). (iv) The fourth option is to have this blog on your blogroll on your own blog (I know there are people who follow blogs that way). While you can follow this blog via RSS feed, there is unfortunately no way for me to know, so that is excluded. You need to be a subscriber at the time of the draw obviously, but I would be happy if you remained one after it, too!
  3. You do not need to post about this give-away on your blog. But if you do with a link back to this post, you get a second ticket in the draw (please mention it in the comments here, as that makes it easier to check).

And this is it. The draw will be held on the 13th of this July 0800h CET, so make sure you toss your hat in the ring by that time! Good luck!

 

35 responses to “Birthday / Milestone giveaway

  1. Paul

    June 23, 2014 at 10:49

    Well done on all the milestones Burkhard!!!

    I’ll stay out of the give away as I think the book you sent me last time filled up my free gift quota from you for a lifetime postage wise ;0)

    Anyways just wanted to say congrats and good luck to everyone else!

     
    • Burkhard

      June 23, 2014 at 10:53

      Thank you Paul! Really appreciated, although by me you are more than fine to enter again. I can only hope you enjoyed your book!

      And I more than sorry, that while we were in Scotland once more this year, again we only skirted your neck of the woods! 😦

       
      • Paul

        June 23, 2014 at 10:59

        Hi Burkhard, yes both my brother and I enjoyed the book you sent! I trust you will have enjoyed your recent visit to Scotland.
        Cheers
        Paul

         
        • Burkhard

          June 23, 2014 at 11:00

          Great to hear!

          Yes, we sure did… what other reason would there be to come three years in a row. This time we went further up into the Highlands than before (Torridon area) and were really pleased!

           
  2. Jason

    June 23, 2014 at 17:44

    Congrats on all the milestones! I have a WordPress account but could never figure out how to “follow” bloggers like you and von Peter, etc. in the past, so I just added you to my blogroll (and now on Twitter). I’ve passed this post along on Google +, but I’ll pass on any giveaways. Just wanted to offer my congratulations and good luck to everyone! 🙂

     
    • Burkhard

      June 24, 2014 at 08:35

      Thanks Jason!

      I know it is not always easy for one to follow a blog, even more so if that person is using a different provider for his blog, which is why I have looked different ways for people to follow this blog. Glad that it proves useful!

      Anyway, I hope some people will toss their names in the hat… otherwise this giveaway will be useless! :-/

       
  3. Paul

    June 24, 2014 at 10:38

    Ok Burkhard, I’ll put my name in to. I would love to own a figure painted by yourself. My brother has built up a 28mm French army from perry and plans on Brits so I’ll take a stab at lord Uxbridge!

     
    • Burkhard

      June 24, 2014 at 10:41

      Noted and a I think a good choice!

       
  4. Monty

    June 25, 2014 at 00:25

    Congrats, Burkhard! Well done and here’s to many more years, followers and posts!

     
    • Burkhard

      June 25, 2014 at 10:41

      Thank you Monty! Lets hope so!

       
  5. Stefan K.

    June 25, 2014 at 09:03

    Hi Burkhard,

    many congrats for those milestones!
    The attention your blog gathers is definitely well deserved.

    Of course I would love to enter your prize draw. Knowing your skills each of your figures would be precious in my collection, but Napoleon or Uxbridge would be most useful for me.
    I’m following your blog by having it on my blog roll and promoted your celebration here:
    http://montys-caravan.blogspot.de/2014/06/levy-bowmen.html

    All the best !
    Stefan

     
    • Burkhard

      June 25, 2014 at 10:42

      Thank you Stefan. You are very welcome and into the draw with two tickets!

       
  6. Thomas

    June 25, 2014 at 09:17

    Congrats, Burkhard!

     
  7. Ray

    June 25, 2014 at 22:12

    Congrats on the milestones Burkhard, Stick my name in the hat please!!

     
    • Burkhard

      June 26, 2014 at 09:27

      Thanks Ray… will do so!

       
  8. Darrell Hindley

    June 25, 2014 at 22:45

    It’s very kind of you to do the comp give away. It would have to be the Edward I mini for me.

    Kind regards,
    Darrell.

     
    • Burkhard

      June 26, 2014 at 09:31

      You are welcome Darrell and your preference has been noted! I almost though Edward would not get any interest here! 😉

       
      • Darrell Hindley

        June 26, 2014 at 15:52

        Well, you know how addicted I am to Medieval History Burkhard!! I couldn’t help myself lol :>)

        Darrell.

         
        • Burkhard

          June 26, 2014 at 16:35

          No problem! I think it is a mighty nice era, I just do not have the time to do it in depth (which is why I will put my Rebellion minis up for sale soon 😦 ).

           
  9. ubiquematt

    June 26, 2014 at 15:13

    Congrats Burkhard, put me down for Edward as well please.

     
    • Burkhard

      June 26, 2014 at 16:33

      Thanks Matt! And you are in for Edward I (or any other mini if that has alread been taken).

       
  10. The Angry Lurker

    June 27, 2014 at 12:32

    I’d like Napoleon or a figure of my choice if that’s okay! Will pimp this giveaway as well and let you know.

     
    • Burkhard

      June 27, 2014 at 13:35

      Thanks Fran! Your preference has been noted as well. If your name is pulled from the hat, you can still decided which one you would like better!

       
  11. vonpeterhimself

    June 29, 2014 at 01:02

    All those milestones are well deserved Burkhard … and I suspect that there will be many more in your future.

    I already have a gift from you that needs some work & flaunting so I shall sidestep this generous offer.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      June 30, 2014 at 14:42

      Thank you , vP!

      Well, if I had known that that it would take this long and if your name was to be pulled out of the hat, I could have supplied the gift in painted state! 😉

       
  12. Dean

    June 30, 2014 at 14:38

    Burkhard, congrats on your milestones – belatedly as it were. Your fine painting skills are well known and appreciated. All of those figures are excellent sculpts – and quite the canvas for your brushwork. I do like the Longshanks figure the best though. Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      June 30, 2014 at 14:44

      Thanks a lot Dean!

      I like those three minis a lot, too, which is why I probably picked them for the give away. For some reason the heraldry on Edward and his horse is making me somewhat uneasy.

       
  13. Gary

    July 4, 2014 at 12:41

    Congrats on the milestone. Enjoy you blog

     
    • Burkhard

      July 4, 2014 at 12:45

      Thanks Gary!

      Glad you like it! And yours is a fine one as well!

       
  14. J RUTH

    July 6, 2014 at 17:26

    Congratulations, you have created an amazing blog.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 7, 2014 at 09:12

      Thank you… really appreciated!

       
  15. Graham Marshall

    July 7, 2014 at 12:42

    Great blog Burkhard. excellent paint work on your figures inspires me to improve my own work. The Lord Uxbridge and his ADC’s post was magnificent.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 8, 2014 at 07:22

      Thank you Graham! Glad you like it and glad to have you on board!

       

What do you think?

 
