RSS

Hedges and roads

03 Jul
Hedges and roads

I know it has been unusually quiet these past few days. There have been lots of personal things to take care of and I am still having problems getting into the spirit to continue (and thus finish) my WWII British Infantry. So last week I worked some more on my terrain. Up first were more dirt road pieces. Not sure if I have mentioned it, but I have been growing ever more unhappy with them. Mainly because (i) I have a lack of dedicated junction pieces, (ii) many of the pieces are rather short which makes for uneven long straits on the table and (iii) some of the older pieces have rather rough edges.

So I took out the fiberboard, cut it all to shape with a saber saw, textured paint, regular paint, highlight and some static grass in the middle and I was done. I actually wanted to apply static grass to the edges of all pieces (old and new), but found that my stocks of the colour I use for terrain (and WWII minis) is almost depleted (used a lot on those river boards), so that will have to wait until I have filled up my stocks. Not too many pictures of those here, since i feel they are ultimately boring, but you can see them on the photos of the hedges.

Hedges

Hedges

A while ago I mentioned that I wanted to do a low version of Bocage and while I said “soon” almost two years ago, I finally got around to doing so. But I am not really calling them Bocage. I rather want to be able to use them as an unkept hedge as well, so they are not completely Bocagy. Here the approach was quite simple as well. I had cut some smaller fiberboard strip when doing the roads. Onto these I glued cut-off pieces of pink foam (left from the river board project) to give the hedges a base. Structured paint all over it so I could go wild with spray primers and glues (which proved important later on), a coat of black spray primer and some brown wash. I applied static grass to the edges to make them blend in on the table and then came the clump foliage. For the first piece I painted it with white glue and just dipped it into the foliage. I found this to be a bad idea. It looked great, but the foliage had so much tension, that it kept loosening and had to be pushed back all the time while things dried. I had heard that super glue was great for clump foliage, but I did not want to got though bottles of that, so I tried hot glue, which worked like a charm. At this point the structured paint paid off, since it protected the pink foam from the heat rather nicely! So anyway 1 ½ days and roughly a dozen hot glue cartridges later this is what I got:

Hedges

Hedges

Hedges

Hedges

I also added to gate pieces. The gates were scratchbuilld from matches, coffee stirrers, miniature scantling, the working hinges are from wire and plasticard. I am very much aware that I will need more pieces including some that are shorter, contain a tree or have rounded corners. But for now this was more of a test piece and I was not too sure how far my three bags of foliage would last. Plus I have almost run out of hot glue now. But since I only used up ⅓ of the foliage, there will be much more to go for in coming months.

Hedges

Hedges

Hedges

Hedges

 
16 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2014 in Terrain building

 

Tags:

16 responses to “Hedges and roads

  1. wgrevival

    July 3, 2014 at 10:50

    Nice hedges – and that photo looking down the road with the paras and the two tanks just turning in is superb. Really evocative

     
    • Burkhard

      July 3, 2014 at 14:01

      Thanks a lot. When I took a couple of pictures over the winter on the table still set up for a game, there were lots of positive comments, so I though I best make little scenic shots the norm here when displaying new stuff.

       
  2. Stefan K.

    July 4, 2014 at 08:31

    Excellent work, Burkhard.

     
  3. Michael Awdry

    July 4, 2014 at 08:35

    They look superb, I love the different colours of foliage that help them stand apart from other creations.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 4, 2014 at 08:40

      Thanks Micheal… regarding the colours, this was exactly the idea behind that mix. So I am really glad it works not only for me, but others as well!

       
  4. 172fixer

    July 5, 2014 at 05:05

    Those are some great looking hedges! Nice job!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 5, 2014 at 07:15

      Thanks a lot, glad you liked them! And welcome to the blog!

       
  5. Phil

    July 5, 2014 at 08:01

    Love these hedges, and pictures…very nice!

     
  6. Curt

    July 6, 2014 at 05:59

    Wonderful work Burkhard. Its good to change gears if you’re not feeling the love for a particular project. This is not a job and you can always come back to it.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 7, 2014 at 09:10

      Thank you Curt!

      I have to say after three years of painting almost nothing but Napoleonics for my Batle of Möckern Project, it feels mighty good to just shift through things as I like!

       
  7. J RUTH

    July 6, 2014 at 17:20

    The hedges are particularly nice, but that little gate is over the top!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 7, 2014 at 09:12

      Thank you! Usually I just do gates like these in fixed position, but for some reason I felt that here I would need them moveable.

       
  8. Gouf

    July 8, 2014 at 00:52

    Nice scene.
    I feel like watching a World War II movies.

     

What do you think?

 
