RSS

My last Bauhaus units (for now)

10 Sep
My last Bauhaus units (for now)

As you have seen over the past few months, I have been working hard to finish my first army for Warzone Resurrection. That is Bauhaus. Yesterday evening I did the bases on the last minis… well the last minis until Prodos releases new stuff.

What did I save for last? Well those troops I never liked too much and those troops that were not numerically necessary in the beginning. Up first the former. These are two squads of Etoiles Mortant. Essentially this a unit of close combat troops, who all have one thing in common. They all lost relatives or loved one to the Dark Legion and are out for revenge. While they also fight the other corporations their adversary of choice is the Dark Legion. Over the centuries, this has grown into an all female outfit, although no one really knows why, since they have no recruitment restrictions.

Why do I not like them? Well in previous editions of the rules they were never bad, but honestly, never too good either. Apparently they are far better in this edition, but since I have not fielded them yet, I cannot tell. One thing they had in common in every edition is, that I never liked their minis. Here we actually have two versions from this edition. The second squad is the Kickstarter version, the first the more dynamic post-Kickstarter version. A lot of people have complained about the scale creep between the two sets and honestly… it is massive. The newer models almost look like dwarfs next to the old ones. That being said, I think the new ones are more to scale. I painted them at the same time as some male Hussars (see below) and given the average size difference between males and females and the fact that the Etoiles Mortants wear far lighter armour, the new minis just seemed more to scale to me.

As you can see, their weapons are geared for close combat with swords and pistols. The heavy weapons troopers carry the Gehenna Puker flame thrower. This weapon was often depicted with a red plastic housing in previous editions, which was something I always loved and so I decided to paint it that way, too. Except for some pinning through the legs to make the new poses more stable and new hair on one of them, these are straight out of the box. I would have loved to give their uniforms a winter look like a did with my other minis, but their armour hugs so close that this was not possible without looking daft. I guess their burning hatred must be enough to keep them warm!

Etoiles Mortant squad #1

Etoiles Mortant squad #1

Etoiles Mortant squad #2

Etoiles Mortant squad #2

As indicated before I also painted some more Hussars. A fourth squad to join the other three I did before. In this one the heavy weapons trooper carries a rocket launcher bringing the total rocket launcher / LMG ratio to two all. This squad is six men strong, not five like the others. Why? Well playing around with the points, I found that it is often easier to field six men squads than five. I also found some combinations, where there simply are not enough points to give those squads a heavy weapon at all, so all five men (the minimum squad size) will have to carry just assault rifles. Having five men with rifles per squad will allow me to do that, too. But since I did not want the other three squads to be the black sheep, I also painted an extra trooper up for them, too,

Hussar Squad #4

Hussar Squad #4

extra Hussars

extra Hussars

For those who want to see the whole unit, I have added a Bauhaus gallery to the Gallery section of this blog, which can also be accessed via the tabs at the top like the other galleries.

Bauhaus group shot

Bauhaus group shot

So now that my first Bauhaus army is off the table, what is next? The rest of the year will be spent mostly on terrain, WWII minis and hopefully the next or possibly next two armies for Warzone. Mishima and Imperial. If time permits I also plan to add some Napoleonic minis to the fold, since I have done far too few of those this year. So I hope, there will be something for everyone there!

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2014 in Bauhaus, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

6 responses to “My last Bauhaus units (for now)

  1. Nysse

    September 10, 2014 at 14:00

    Nice work eventhough the minis aren’t that great! Quite impressive getting the whole army done in this time.

     
    • Burkhard

      September 10, 2014 at 16:13

      Thanks Samuli!

      I have to say i am surprised how fast this army developed as well. Especially once I started playing, which was a great motivation! That being said… I am happy to go for something else for a while now… I guess I have had enough light grey and blue for some weeks now! 😉

       
  2. Dean

    September 10, 2014 at 14:18

    All of the figures look great; but I like those Mortant ladies the best. Something about a young lady with crew cuts!

     
    • Burkhard

      September 10, 2014 at 16:14

      Thanks Dean! Maybe your preferences are due to your army days… I guys there were not too many guys running around in Pickelhauben! 😛

       
  3. Stefan

    September 12, 2014 at 07:16

    Warzone isn’t my cup of tea but those Bauhaus troops look good.

    Well done, mate !

     
    • Burkhard

      September 12, 2014 at 10:27

      Thanks Stefan. For me it was the first proper tabletop all those years ago and it is amazing how much affection this new version has kindled in me!

       

What do you think?

 
