RSS

Warzone Resurrection: Trencher Imperial Banner and Valpurgius

22 Sep
Warzone Resurrection: Trencher Imperial Banner and Valpurgius

First of all, sorry for the lack of posts over the past 1 ½ weeks. The weekend before the last, I was pretty busy translating rules from English to German (maybe more on that in about a month time) and after all that time spend before the screen, I simply wanted to spend time with Sami and painting minis instead. But there will be some catching up this week.

Anyway, let’s start with the minis painted last week. I guess hardly anyone missed the fact that the Scottish Independence Referendum took place last Thursday. Personally I had hoped, that it would be successful, but that was not to be. But I wanted to commemorate that day with a special mini, no matter which way it went. I felt that a Trencher Officer for Warzone Resurrections Imperial faction would be a perfect choice. There is one option where the officer carries an Imperial banner to enhance the morale of the troops. Quite expensive in gameterms, so I am not sure if I will even field it, but that does not keep me from painting it. The banner got a St. Andrews Cross theme and the inscription on the banner reads 42 Highland (when given the choice, I will always go for the Black Watch). I went with muddied trench coat and boots, to tie in with the theme of the base. Said base deliberately got a trench theme. When I started Warzone in the 1990’s it was the late World War One feel of the Imperial faction that made me play and I wanted to capture that feeling with the base, too. The base is completely scratch build, with the sandbags being sculpted from Greenstuff. This is about all that can be said about the mini and here it is:

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

The other mini is Valpurgius for the Dark Legion faction. The Dark Legion is made up of various Dark Apostles, one if which is Algeroth, the Apostle of War. One of his mightiest followers is this Valpurgius, a grand magus, skilled in the Dark Art (essentially psy powers) as hardly one other. In game terms he is one mighty miniature, but also the most expensive Warlord of them all. All that being said, the miniature is extremely cool, so I simply had to paint him up. I stuck close to the original Paul Bonner artwork (his art was the second big motivator that got me into Warzone almost two decades ago), where he is depicted in robes of purple and purplish blue as well as purple emailed armour. I really enjoyed painting the face and the skulls formed by his dark magic in his cloak. The sculpting of this mini is just exceptionally nice. I contemplated for a long time how to base him (and therefore the rest of my Dark Legion forces). Someone on Facebook suggested rubbish and I liked that idea in a certain sense. One thing that always touches me about post apocalyptic movies is the newspapers, trash and other derelict items of human life strewn on the streets. I felt this would be quite fitting for the Dark Legion with their hordes of undead and other abominations invading the habitats of humanity to exterminate and enslave it. Again all the base is scratch build.

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Up next I will try to post some game reports, so stay tuned.

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2014 in Dark Legion, Imperial, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

8 responses to “Warzone Resurrection: Trencher Imperial Banner and Valpurgius

  1. Dean

    September 22, 2014 at 22:32

    Absolutely stunning figures, Burkhard! Both have so much depth and character – not to mention great background scenario and photography. I do like that Coke can too. Best, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      September 23, 2014 at 07:31

      Thanks Dean! I agree, but have tons of character which made them an absolute joy to paint!

       
  2. Stefan

    September 23, 2014 at 08:54

    Both very well done.
    I love the cans between the feet of that Valpurhius guy.

    Cheers
    Stefan

     
    • Burkhard

      September 23, 2014 at 16:48

      Thank you Stefan! I am really glad I followed the suggestion on Facebook. So different from what you usually see with Dark Legion, but I think in the end it will allow me to do lots of these little gimmicks!

       
  3. vonpeterhimself

    September 23, 2014 at 11:22

    I don’t know much … ok , anything! about the game and its setting but I can appreciate the figures and the custom basing. Bravo.

    Another vote for the Coke cans!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      September 23, 2014 at 16:49

      Thanks vP. I often feel the same when I look a some SciFi or Fantasy minis. They mean nothing to me, but I can still admire the minis and craftsmanship!

       
  4. roemersworkshop

    September 23, 2014 at 12:19

    Very nicely done! I like the details on the armor and cloak on Valpurgius.

    I also have to mention that it looks a LOT like the new Nagash model released by GW, with the crown, the expression and the spirits flowing out…

     
    • Burkhard

      September 23, 2014 at 16:55

      Thank you. At one point I was thinking about adding some patterns to the cloak, but in the end I think they plain colour with the skulls and NMM gold work out fine. So I am really glad you like it!

      Had to look Nagash up, since that one meant nothing to me! 😉 I see what you mean there and I am actually happy I used this head. There is one alternative head with a (Sauron style) crown as well and it would have made them look even more alike. But I wanted to stay Classic Paul Bonner here and wanted to keep theta head for a conversion, so it had to be this one!

       

What do you think?

 
