RSS

WWII British Stuart / Honey Troop

12 Nov
WWII British Stuart / Honey Troop

So, ten days after Crisis in Antwerp and I can finally try to catch up with life (so expect a few more posts in coming days).

Up first is a troop of Stuart Honeys for WWII. Just like the Shermans I did a couple of months ago, these Stuarts carry the markings of Irish Guards. Since the Shermans will be my strongest British tank force, it made the most sense, to depict the Stuarts as being from the same unit. The models used are M5A1 Stuarts from Company B which I bought for this purpose about a decade ago! The tanker is from Warlord Games. Since the Company B models usually do not come with open turret hatched, i had to drill and cut this one open and build a replacement hatch from plasticard.

It is pretty hard to find definitive info on which models the Irish Guards actually used. I think it might have been the M5 model, but personally I can live with M5A1s! Why am I calling these Honeys? Officially only the M3 models were called Honeys, but most Commonwealth soldiers just stuck with calling the later models Honeys as well, so I am doing the same.

Stuart Honey troop (front)

Stuart Honey troop (front)

Stuart Honey (front)

Stuart Honey (front)

Stuart Honey (back)

Stuart Honey troop (side)

Stuart Honey troop (side)

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2014 in WWII, WWII: British

 

13 responses to “WWII British Stuart / Honey Troop

  1. peter

    November 12, 2014 at 17:06

    Great looking tanks! Maybe they had another reason why they called them honey! 😉

    Greetings
    Peter

     
    • Burkhard

      November 12, 2014 at 19:21

      Thank you Peter!

      IIRC that was actually the reason they named the M3s Honey! 😀

       
  2. Monty

    November 12, 2014 at 22:25

    Sweet painting! I really like the mods you added. Ok, I have to ask…did the Brits use these to guard the rear? With a 37mm cannon, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere near the front.

     
    • Burkhard

      November 13, 2014 at 00:14

      Thanks Monty!

      By 1944 Armoured Regiments each had an integral Recce Platoon consisting of 11 Honeys. These were in addition to the dedicated Recce units of the Brigade. As such I would daresay, that these were not expected to fight it out with anything but German Späher.

       
  3. Dean

    November 12, 2014 at 23:54

    Lovely little Honeys, Burkhard. Nice to see Company B models in your possession. The owner and sculptor are from the local area here – Bruce Meyer and Brent Dietrich, respectively. I should ask Brent why he doesn’t make them with optional open hatches. Both nice gents. Regards, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      November 13, 2014 at 00:19

      THX, Dean!

      I did not know they were local to you! I used to do a lot of business with Brent (never had any personal dealings with Bruce) until US Mail first dropped international ground mail and then raised their fees from outrageous to hilarious and German customs started checking every single package to see if they could not charge me duty. Real shame since I always loved his stuff. Very nice detail, but very robust castings which can withstand a lot of game use.
      If you speak to him, ask him if he still has some of the minis I painted for him!

       
      • aslfan

        November 15, 2014 at 20:26

        Company B are sold in the UK, not sure how well they work out cost wise but no duty on the delivery

        Ian

         
        • Burkhard

          November 16, 2014 at 00:07

          I was told so at Crisis as well (I think the UK retailer actually was there). Right now I have a out every WWII model they sell that I need, but I will keep it in mind for future releases!

           
  4. roemersworkshop

    November 13, 2014 at 12:46

    Great paint job! I can’t see myself working with such small scale!

     
    • Burkhard

      November 16, 2014 at 00:08

      Thanks, but did you not have some 1:48th scale planes on your blog as well? Those looked gourgeous and it is about the same scale!

       
      • Burkhard

        November 16, 2014 at 00:11

        Sorry mixed that up with a different blog in my mind, but 40K is not that much bigger and given your skills, this should be a problem either!

         
      • roemersworkshop

        November 17, 2014 at 08:10

        I guess you’re referring to the Sabre on my introductory post. That’s a reference picture I got to show my horrendous ideas of camouflage when I was little.

        I do dabble in tanks and planes occasionally, yes, but I’ve never gone down to the scale of 28mm in real fighting vehicles… yet!

         
        • Burkhard

          November 18, 2014 at 12:30

          I have to admit, I confused your blog with another one there. But then again… 40k is heroic 28mm so you should be doing more than fine there!

           

What do you think?

 
