RSS

All the little things

13 Nov
All the little things

As indicated yesterday, there were a couple of things, that I simply could not post lately, so here is another go at catching up.

First of all, there were a few small items I wanted for Crisis. One of them were dead cows. I have had some live ones for years, but if only looks at contemporary pictures from Normandy, there was lots of livestock killed by the fighting, so essentially they were a grim part of the scenery. So when they were released a couple of years ago, I bought two sets of dead livestock from Warlord Games, cleaned them up, primed them and forgot about them! But this fall they got their outing again. All in all just a simple fast paint job. I decided not to go for the typical breed of cows found in Normandy, but rather the breed found in a lot of Europe (but also in limited numbers in Normandy), to keep them generic for other settings as well. I based them on old hotel key cards cut to shape. Three of them got stack grass to match my game boards on their bases the other one was painted to match my dirt roads:

Dead cows

Dead cows

The next item I wanted to tackle were burning tank markers. In the past I had just used cotton wool airbrushed red and black. While not too bad, neither did it look good. A huge number of blogs over the past few months have started using fake candles (electric candles) lately and I thought… why should I not do the same. So I took a few candles I had lying around, sprayed the candles themselves black (most likely redundant), glued some cushion stuffing to the candles and gave the whole thing a light spray of black. Nothing too inventive, but I like the effect. I have also included a short video showing them in use… first in normal “daylight” and later in dimmed light:

Fire marker

Fire marker

Crisis 2014 - A bridge too far for this Sherman

Crisis 2014 – A bridge too far for this Sherman

And one more… I alway wanted a tabletop periscope. At times it can be hard to see if your model actually has LOS to a target or not. A laser can help, but not always and for those cases (and to get a real soldier view) I always wanted one. But I always shied away from it. I guess the basic build is not too complicated, after all it is just a box with two holes, but what always made me think twice were the mirrors. Those have to be a perfect 45° angle for it to work (at at least at combined angle of 90°) and I was never too sure if I could get that 100% right. Walt from Commission Figurines had a periscope for me at Crisis and I really love it ( as did many people passing by my table). As far as I know, they are not yet available on his website, but you can already contact him via eMail to order one. If I remember correctly, the price for a fully assembled one was roughly 20 GB£ fully assembled:

Periscope front

Periscope back

Periscope back

View through the periscope

View through the periscope

 

And last but not least… in a recent post on von Peters blog, he showed a picture from the Perry Miniatures site, showing some of their new Bavarians. I commented, that I would love to mix some of those in with my (Perry designed) Foundry Bavarians to get more diversity. So at Crisis I took a look at the new Perry Bavarians with a Foundry Bavarian to compare. As could be expected, there is a visual difference in the size and heft. Foundry are smaller and bulkier, Perry taller and slimmer. I would definitely put the former in the 25mm field and the later in the 28mm. So I did not buy any… nah, I did. I think with some card slipped under the Foundry ones, one can mix them in. Not the most pleasant idea since I wanted to mix a few Perrys in with the huge numbers of Foundry I have, so this will mean slipping a lot of card in on the bases, but I really want to get away from the cookie cutter look of the Foundry Bavarians and Front Rank are simply even bigger. So to make sure everyone can decide themselves… here is a comparison shot:

Napoleonic Bavarian comparison shot

Napoleonic Bavarian comparison shot
[Foundry in the middle]

 
15 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2014 in Terrain building, Warlord Games [WG]

 

15 responses to “All the little things

  1. Nysse

    November 13, 2014 at 15:10

    Nice work! That periscope idea is brilliant! I have to copy that sometime. Leaning in to take a models eye look always seems to result in something moving or getting caught in clothing.

     
    • Burkhard

      November 13, 2014 at 21:20

      Yes, that is precisely the reason why I always wanted one. I am pretty happy I did not have to DIY it though!

       
  2. peter

    November 13, 2014 at 21:12

    You did some great purchases at Crisis! Really like them!

    Greetings
    Peter

     
    • Burkhard

      November 13, 2014 at 21:26

      Actually only part of the purchases. Some bits and bobs from Fenris Games, Brush
      Rack, paint bottle rack, bases and a few ducks and rabbits from Warbases, German WWII motorcycle combos from Foundry, La Haye Saint and a few paints, filters and brushes. More than enough to keep me occupied! 😉

       
      • peter

        November 14, 2014 at 19:36

        I bet you are! 😀

        Greetings
        Peter

         
  3. vonpeterhimself

    November 15, 2014 at 03:27

    The cows are back!! And why not? They’re a photogenic herd. 8O)

    The fake candle smoke markers are great. I remember the Perrys using similar devices at Salute and Partizan for firing lines of Napoleonic infantry when I was in the UK.

    Th scale creep over the years is well illustrated by the Napoleonic Bavarians. At least the Muskets are similar which will help a lot when mixing the ranges together. My bet is that the mixed units will look fine on the table top. Does that Foundry figure have gaiters?

    My Bavarians are the “even bigger’ Front Rank figures. It doesn’t stop me getting some of the Foundry figures, e.g. the Bavarian foraging pack.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      November 16, 2014 at 00:03

      Thanks vP!

      I have to admit, that I bought the candles for this very purpose about 4 years ago, but just like the cows I was too lazy to do them! Which is a shame since they took less than 5 minutes a piece!

      Regarding the Bavarians. I personally think that they are close enough to allow me to build some nice mixed units.
      The Foundry mini indeed has gaiters. It is the same mini as the others, just with gaiters sculpted on. Not sure why, but I had a few of those in my boxes, but I would say less than 10%. It is funny that I should by pure coincidence have picked one of them from the box for the comparison photo!

       
      • vonpeterhimself

        November 16, 2014 at 03:23

        A few gaiters will just add to the variety of figures in the units.

        Now all you need to do is select a blue for those Bavarians. 8O)

        Salute
        von Peter himself

         
        • Burkhard

          November 18, 2014 at 12:28

          They do add a bit of variety to the mix, but then, since they are all exactly the same pose, not enough, hence the Perry additions!

          Regarding the blue… I already found one that I am really happy with. If you click on the links for “Napoleonic: Bavarians” on the right hand side, you will see the (sadly single) Bavarian Battion I painted roughly 3 years ago. [Edit: Here is the direct link]

           
          • vonpeterhimself

            November 26, 2014 at 10:54

            Regarding the blue … so you did. I had forgotten – an inherent risk of advanced years apparently. I do remember your deliberations on the uniform colour for your Östereichische Jäger so there may be hope for some parts of my memory! 8O)

            BTW, I like the way you integrated the foraging Bavarians into your 4. Bayrisches Linien-Infanterie-Regiment “Sachsen-Hildburghausen”. Inspiring.

            Salute
            von Peter himself

             
            • Burkhard

              November 26, 2014 at 11:51

              No problem vP! It has been so long ago, I almost forget I painted them! 😉

              Anyway, i am glad you like my choice of blue!

               
  4. aslfan

    November 15, 2014 at 20:33

    Very eclectic mix, how about filing down the base of the Perry’s could make them still taller but would stand out a lot less

    ian

     
    • Burkhard

      November 16, 2014 at 00:06

      Not sure Ian. Did that a couple of years ago with some other minis, and found it was more hassle than anything else and that putting a piece of card under the other minis worked better. Plus I think the base is pretty thin, so not much to file away anyway!

       
  5. Curt

    November 17, 2014 at 21:11

    Wonderful stuff Burkhard. Love the periscope. As for the Bavarians, historically you would have seen such a variation in height/heft in the ranks (hey, we’re not all built the same) so I think they look fine – but that’s just me.

     
    • Burkhard

      November 18, 2014 at 12:33

      Thanks Curt! Oh, I am in live with the periscope as well!

      Regarding the Bavarians… I wholeheartedly agree! Let’s just see how they look when finished! I think we have all grown so used to all minis in a formation being the same size, that they might still look strange. But maybe I will get a chance to get some of them done for the Challenge! 😉

       

What do you think?

 
