RSS

Happy New Year and 2014 in Review

01 Jan
Happy New Year and 2014 in Review

So, I guess everyone is in 2015 by now. In this sense, I hope all of you made the change to the New Year in stride. But most of all, I wish all of you and the people you love a healthy and prosperous 2015.

Happy-New-Year-2015-SMS-300x166

As has now become a custom for me… here is my look back at the last year. Every year WordPress.com creates a little report about the statistics of this blog itself. For those of you interested click here to see the complete report.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 95,000 times in 2014. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 4 days for that many people to see it.

The good thing about those numbers is that they are back up to 2012 levels, now that I had more time to concentrate on my hobbies again. So close actually, that there were only 98 more views in 2014 than in 2012!

But again, most amazing for me was you, the readers. Over the past few years I have accumulated a strong Napoleonic follower base. Since most of my painting this year concentrated on my Warzone minis, I am sure there were some times when there was hardly anything interesting. So I am really happy, that you all kept the faith. At the same time, I am really happy for the constant rise of new followers and your participation in the blog.

And I really want to say thank you for all your comments on the blog (both positive and critical)… those really, really mean a lot to me, so please keep it up!

But now on to the numbers, that WordPress cannot know. All in all I painted / build:

  • 267 Miniatures (down 88 from 2013)
  • 51 Vehicles and guns (up 47 from 2013)
  • 8 Buildings and a large bridge (up 5 from 2013)
  • About 5 meters of roads and 2 of hedges (nothing to compare it to)

That is still almost one item per day. The slight drop does not bother me too much, given that the number of vehicles (which take a lot more time) rose quite substantially.

And just like previous years, I would like to share some of my favourites with you once more:

 

British PIAT team [BA]

British PIAT team [BA]

95th Rifles (front view)

95th Rifles (front view)

Prussian Landwehr casualties (front)

Prussian Landwehr casualties (front)

Universal Carrier

Universal Carrier

British 6pdr. [WG]

British 6pdr. [WG]
“Those skirts are not going to help you here!”

Shermans lined up in bocage field

Shermans lined up in bocage field

Napoleonic French crossing the large bridge

Napoleonic French crossing the large bridge

Corner ruin 2 (inside)

Corner ruin 2 (inside)

Mishima Meka Suit "Cherry-blossom"

Mishima Meka Suit “Cherry-blossom”

Hedges

Hedges

British Infantry group shot

British Infantry group shot

Duchy of Warsaw 3rd Line Infantry, 1st Battalion (Voltigeurs)

Duchy of Warsaw 3rd Line Infantry, 1st Battalion

Grizzly

Grizzly

SS forward observers

SS forward observers

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus group shot

Bauhaus group shot

Trencher Imperial Banner

Trencher Imperial Banner

Valpurgius

Valpurgius

Guardiani Oblati

Guardiani Oblati

Panzerwerfer battery firing

Panzerwerfer battery firing

(new) Venusian Ranger models (front)

Venusian Marschall

Venusian Marschall

Stuart Honey troop (front)

Stuart Honey troop (front)

Golden Lions (2nd squad)

Golden Lions (2nd squad)

Michel Ney and ADCs

Michel Ney and ADCs

Looking back, what were my goals for last year?

  • Painting my WWII Brits… done that… there are only a few odds and ends to do as well as the Churchills, Cromwells and Funnies, but I never planned to get those done in 2014 so I am fine with that!
  • Painting at least two complete factions for Warzone… Painted one and some odds and ends for the others. Not perfect, but OK.
  • Paint at least another army for SAGA (either Normans or Saxons)… completely failed that.
  • Get those pesky Tau for Warhammer out of the painting queue… completely failed that. And I doubt I will even try in the future and rather sell them off.
  • Paint some Napoleonics (preferably Russians)… While it ended up being more Frenchmen, Brits and some Poles… yeah done that.
  • Terrain… Did some, but not as much as I wanted. But a lot has been prepared, so that should make things easier this year.

So what are the plans for this year:

  • Painting some early war World War II (Poles, Germans, maybe some Russians, too)
  • Painting at least two complete factions for Warzone (and keeping Bauhaus up to date)
  • Painting some late war World War II Germans
  • Paint some Napoleonics
  • Terrain

Lets see how it goes this time!

But I want to leave you with a few game shots from last year:

French Artillery firing at the Prussian lines

French Artillery firing at the Prussian lines

Opposing lines crash

Opposing lines crash

The plains of Russia

The plains of Russia

JS-2 in the fields

JS-2 in the fields

Panzergrenadiere debussing

Panzergrenadiere debussing

Panther lying in ambush

Panther lying in ambush

US Infantry in the open pinned by mortar fire

US Infantry in the open pinned by mortar fire

Header 1_bearbeitet-1

Venusian Ranger deployment zone

Venusian Ranger deployment zone

PaK 40

PaK 40

Brotherhood forces emerging from the forrest

Brotherhood forces emerging from the forrest

Praetorian Stalkers attacking the Vorreiter

Praetorian Stalkers attacking the Vorreiter

Crisis 2014 - A bridge too far for this Sherman

Crisis 2014 – A bridge too far for this Sherman

Crisis 2014 - Panzer in defensive positions

Crisis 2014 – Panzer in defensive positions

Etoiles Mortants attacking Necromutants

Etoiles Mortants attacking Necromutants

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2015 in General

 

15 responses to “Happy New Year and 2014 in Review

  1. Jim Duncan

    January 1, 2015 at 17:28

    Never mind the quantity you have nothing but quality!!

    Happy New Year

    Jim

     
    • Burkhard

      January 1, 2015 at 17:42

      Thanks Jim!

      Hope to meet you again at this years Crisis!

       
  2. daggerandbrush

    January 1, 2015 at 22:15

    Happy New Year. Pretty good turnout throughout the year. Call me impressed. The quality is also top notch. Looking forward to more in 2015.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2015 at 18:41

      Thanks a lot!

      I am happy with both output and quality. I know I am neither the fastest painter, nor the best painter, but I am happy to be in the middle field!

      > >

       
  3. vonpeterhimself

    January 2, 2015 at 00:05

    Happy New Year Burkhard

    There’s lots to be proud of in your 2014 production listing. A top effort in my book.

    You have presented some truly lovely pictures … but … and I apologise for this … whenever I see your Valpurgius figure my brain such that it is screams “Nagash”. Obviously the sign of a misspent middle age! (I can’t even blame the formative years of my youth!!)

    Here’s to a prosperous and productive 2015 for everyone.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2015 at 18:41

      Thank you, vP.

      You are not the first to say he looks like Nagash. Would be interesting to find out which one was actually first. Valpurgius was already in the 1st Edition of Warzone in the early 90s. > >

       
  4. Phil

    January 2, 2015 at 09:30

    Gorgeous! Prussian Landwehr casualty seems to be my favourite…Happy New Year!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2015 at 18:41

      Thanks Phil!

      It was one of my favourites as well. For some reason I thought I had painted them the year before, so I was more than happy to see them amongst last years photos! > >

       
  5. Michael Awdry

    January 2, 2015 at 10:32

    Some truly wonderful work in 2014; seeing them altogether like this is such a treat – bravo Sir. Really looking forward to seeing what you produce this year.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2015 at 18:41

      Thank you Michael. I have to say I am really looking forward to seeing your output, too! > >

       
  6. Eng

    January 2, 2015 at 11:28

    Its been a nice year to follow your work.
    Cheers/ Jonas

     
    • Burkhard

      January 2, 2015 at 18:41

      Thank you Jonas… Hope to entertain you this year as well! > >

       
  7. dean

    January 3, 2015 at 03:24

    Amazing works in 2014, Burkhard. Looking forward to more great stuff in the new year.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 4, 2015 at 21:23

      Thanks Dean. But I think you can really be proud of your output well!

       
  8. Michael

    January 5, 2015 at 12:30

    Congratulations Burkhard. You had a very strong year. I would be hard pressed to pick a favourite from all the work you did. Best for 2015.
    Michael

     

What do you think?

 
