RSS

Lt. Bromhead, Rorke´s Drift

18 Jan
Lt. Bromhead, Rorke´s Drift

When I read the topic for this theme round, my first impression was ”Oh BLEEP!”. Victorian age certainly is nothing that I ever dabbed my toe into. Being more at home with Napoleonics my first idea was to paint Marechal Soult (for he had been present as a representative of France for Victorias coronation, but I felt this would be stressing things a bit too far. But then I remembered that more than half a decade ago I had bought a Lieutenant Bromhead (limited edition) Miniature at Salute which I had never touched. It seemed like a perfect idea. For one Rorke´s Drift took place in 1879 so well within Victorias reign and Bromhead was one of eleven VC recipients for the battle, so this seemed more than fitting!

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

Lt Bromhead

While the miniature does not look too much like Micheal Caine in the movie (only enough I do not feel it looks too much like the historical pictures of Bromhead either), I based the colour choices on him in the movie. I started painting this before we left for our holidays in Wales and since I had never seen the movie UI had to work solely on pictures from the internet. Funny enough… I got to see the movie while we were away, somehow bringing all this full circle.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2015 in Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge

 

12 responses to “Lt. Bromhead, Rorke´s Drift

  1. Nysse

    January 19, 2015 at 10:04

    Nice choice of subject there! The movie is not a classic for nothing. It’s still great and the action doesn’t look too dated, which is definately something that can’t be said for most movies of the era.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 19, 2015 at 11:49

      Thanks Samuli!

      I have say i was really surprised at how good the movie was given its age. There was only one thing that did strike me as really out of age and that was the way the psychology of the characters was depicted.

       
  2. Michael Peterson

    January 19, 2015 at 16:28

    Nicely done – that was a very strong entry in the Victorian bonus round. I liked it.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 19, 2015 at 17:27

      Thanks Micheal! Lets see how it does… right now it does not seem to be anywhere near the top ten, but I am happy for every person that likes it!

       
  3. Michael Awdry

    January 19, 2015 at 21:39

    What a wonderful piece and signed too, very cool!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 20, 2015 at 09:03

      Thanks Micheal!

      Always kept it as a special piece, but I doubt, that without the Challenge I would have painted it anytime soon!

       
  4. JAMES E, SULLIVAN

    January 20, 2015 at 02:41

    GREAT FIGURE, GREAT PAINTING….Their aaniversary is coming… a moment of silence for the British, Boers, and Zulu Warriors.
    Jim Sullivan
    San Francisco, CA USA

     
    • Burkhard

      January 20, 2015 at 09:01

      Thank you James. It is nice to see the vanquished taken into account as well. Too often that is forgotten these days!

       
  5. von Peter himself

    January 20, 2015 at 10:38

    Nice work Burkhard.

    The autographed card is a nice touch. I’ll be contacting some of my favourite suppliers!! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 20, 2015 at 13:54

      Thanks vP!

      It is funny… back then they did the resin version as a special feature of the Salute Limited Edition casting, but I think these days Black Scorpion does all their casting in resin!

       
  6. Dean

    January 20, 2015 at 21:39

    I think he has the look of Caine, the pose definitely is him. Nice as always.

     
    • Burkhard

      January 21, 2015 at 12:47

      Funny thing is… i felt he had more of the looks of the older Cane than the younger one! 😉

       

What do you think?

 
