RSS

Modern Russian T-55 (5th Entry, part 1, 5th AHPC)

21 Mar
Modern Russian T-55 (5th Entry, part 1, 5th AHPC)

With the Challenge drawing to an end and me being about 100 points short of my target, I knew I needed something and I needed something fast. My output for this year has been abysmal so far, but with the weather getting better here in Germany I was hoping to catch up. So over the next couple of days, you are going to see what made up my 5th entry.

Now this first one was quite simple one. The model is a 1:48 die-cast (although it has a lot of plastic for that) from the James Bond collection (the one Pierce Brosnan drives through St. Petersburg). I have had that for ages, but never got around to work on it. Those who have been following this blog for a while now will remember, that I actually purchased this model about three years ago (almost to the day)… those who have not been along this long… this is how it looked back then. Since I like my 2nd and 3rd Tier Russian tanks for Ultra Modern to look quite unspectacular, I decided to keep it in its original single colour green looks. But I cleaned away the mould lines, painting imperfections and so on. The green was faded, skirts and mantlet painted in a different colour and minor details (like oil stains on the barrels) added. Last but not least it got a liberal coat of dirt and dust with an airbrush (which unfortunately blended too well with the fading 😦 ).

T-55

T-55

T-55

T-55

T-55

T-55

 

 

4 responses to “Modern Russian T-55 (5th Entry, part 1, 5th AHPC)

  1. Jason Ralls

    March 21, 2015 at 15:55

    Looks good. It’s a reasonable model for the money and looks better with a bit of work. Your original post inspired me to get some and I also repainted them.
    http://welshwargamesdevon.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/are-you-bored-with-it-yet-i-hope-not.html

     
    • Burkhard

      March 22, 2015 at 09:52

      Thanks Jason.

      It sure is a good model for the price. And I am glad I could inspire you… especially when they are looking as good as yours!

       
  2. Dean

    March 22, 2015 at 06:39

    Very realistic model, Burkhard. I think you should put a Bronsan head sticking out of the driver’s hatch 🙂

     
    • Burkhard

      March 22, 2015 at 09:53

      Thanks Dean!

      But I guess I would want a better driver… Otherwise I would have to place a statue on top of the model! 😉

       

What do you think?

 
