RSS

Catching up

09 Jun
Catching up

Live has been extremely busy over the past few weeks. So much to do (both private and work related) that I hardly found any time for the hobby related things in life. I guess not much will change in the near future, but at least I try to update this blog from time to time. And this shall be the start. These are the minis I managed to paint recently, all of them Imperials for Warzone. Not much really, as some of these were painted as much as two months ago.

Michael Farraday and Andrew Drougan

These are two special Blood Beret characters for Imperial. I have to say, I was not too much in a mood to paint these. They are limited edition miniatures from the Kickstarter era of Warzone Resurrection. As such they are noticeably different in style in size from the current Imperial models. Therefore I really hope that they will be re-done in due time and until then I will probably not use them too much (which is also underlined by the fact, that they are pretty expensive points wise). As a result my motivation to paint them was not too high, but I did anyway.

Andrew Drougan & Micheal Farraday

Andrew Drougan & Micheal Farraday

Andrew Drougan & Micheal Farraday

Andrew Drougan & Micheal Farraday

Isaac Alfreds

Now Alfreds was a team member of Drougan and Farraday´s before they became Cartel Agents. He costs as much as the other two, but I like his stats and abilities better than theirs. Plus his model is from the recent models that were created to accompany the Mutant Chronicles RPG rules, so he actually fits the current style.

Isaac Alfreds

Isaac Alfreds

Isaac Alfreds (profile)

Isaac Alfreds (profile)

Gordon Slythe

Slythe is another model from the RPG. I really like this model, since I felt that the pose was quite cool and I liked his resemblance to Ewan McGregor. I got this model shortly before Prodos released their Wolfbanes last month, so I painted him as a test piece for the other Wolfbanes. I actually like the way he ended up, but I am not sure if I went for too much tan and brown here. In the end I loosened everything up by adding a (fantasy) tartan pattern to his cloak. The blood dripping from his sword was a late addition to the mini I made, but I think it really enhances his ferocious looks. Also went for a different basing theme with him (as I will for the other Wolfbanes)… Highlands instead of trenches.

I have to say though, what slightly bleeped me off is the fact that they are using the very same model as part of their Wolfbane Commando pack, which make him less special. 😦

Gordon Slythe (front)

Gordon Slythe (front)

Gordon Slythe (profile)

Gordon Slythe (profile)

Gordon Slythe (rear)

Gordon Slythe (rear)

Grey Ghosts

The are the first of the new Imperial models I painted, a three women squad of Grey Ghosts. They act as saboteurs and snipers. Their trademark is the dark grey catsuits and I went along those lines. I am still a bit torn about them game wise. They are pretty expensive, but they might also be quite effective. I used them in a game last weekend and while they earned their points, I think you need the right types of enemy troops for them to do so. Lets see how they play out in the long run!

Grey Ghosts

Grey Ghosts

Grey Ghosts (profile)

Grey Ghosts (profile)

Grey Ghosts (rear)

Grey Ghosts (rear)

Imperial Special Forces (Sterlings)

The last infantry unit for this post is a squad of Imperial Special forces, or in this case Sterlings. There are nearly two dozen different Special Forces units one can pick from. To be honest, game wise they are no different from one another, as they can all receive the same equipment and so on. But they all differ when it comes to fluff or their uniforms. So I bought 6 packs of them and wanted something I could go wild with for the first unit. So it is the Sterlings, which wear desert camo. The plate armour was inspired by the US “Chocolate Chip” camo made famous during Desert Storm. Underneath they are wearing 3-color Desert DPM, although I think I could have left that off, since so very little of it can actually be seen under all that plate. I slightly modified these minis with scopes and laser designators from Anvil Industries.

Sterlings

Sterlings

Sterlings (rear)

Sterlings (rear)

My two favourite Sterlings

My two favourite Sterlings

Offensive and Defensive Sentry Tokens

I have the option to use Offensive and Defensive Sentry Tokens with my Imperials in the game. They are not sure to arrive on the tabletop, since I have to draw the right cards, but if they do they are mighty effective. So I often use them and I always disliked the fact, that I had no designed tokens. So I bought these small robots from Anvil Industries and based them accordingly. The HMG ones are the Offensive ones (since they have stats very similar to an HMG and fire at targets of my choice) the grenade launcher ones are the defensive ones (they react to enemies firing in their vicinity). To give my opponents another method to identify them, the Offensive ones are designated by a small Greek letter Ω, while the Defensive ones sport a Greek letter ∆.

Offensive Sentry Tokens

Offensive Sentry Tokens

Defensive Sentry Tokens

Defensive Sentry Tokens

Offensive and Defensive Sentry Token (rear)

Offensive and Defensive Sentry Token (rear)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2015 in Imperial, Warzone Resurrection

 

6 responses to “Catching up

  1. Dean

    June 9, 2015 at 18:35

    Some crackin’ (superb) brushwork again, Burkhard! Would never know your limited access to the hobby recently. BTW, I’ve recently gone through some busy spells too – or maybe, I’m just paying more attention at work 🙂 Warm regards, Dean

     
    • Burkhard

      June 10, 2015 at 12:03

      Thank you, Dean. Well in total it is just 12 minis and 10 tokens in about two months, which I would call a poor output. That being said, it could be worse, but I guess it is just a spell.

      The important question for you would be… Are you paying enough attention at work? If you do, it does not matter, if it is less! 😉

       
  2. von Peter himself

    June 9, 2015 at 22:57

    I’m grateful that you managed to shake free of life’s distractions to post this update. FWIW Gordon Slythe is my favourite of this selection.

    Here’s hoping you can break free again in the not too distant future! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      June 10, 2015 at 12:07

      Thanks vP. I am happy too I could find the time, although I fear it might stay this way for another few weeks. :-/ but I hope I will at least find the time to visit some of my favourite blogs in the future!

      Slythe is my favourite as well and he makes me look forward to doing more Wolfbanes in the near future.

       
  3. Mike Peterson

    June 15, 2015 at 13:51

    They look terrific, Burkhard, especially the first two character figures. So much personality! Very fine work.

     
    • Burkhard

      June 19, 2015 at 15:03

      Thank you, Mike!
      And sorry for taking so long to reply. Our internet is broken for the eighth day in a row now.

       

What do you think?

 
