RSS

Catching up (second attempt)

14 Jul

So last month, I posted, that I had wanted to keep a steadier flow of posts on this blog. So far so good. Just a few days later we were supposed to get high-speed internet and that was when things started going down the drain. Here in Germany all the telephone and internet infrastructure is owned by one company (the formerly state-owned provider). If you get your services from a different company (like we do), they only rent the cables. If anything goes wrong, it is still the owners job to correct it. In our case the owner wired us up wrong in the last switch box, so we actually did not get a signal at all. But since we were using another provider. they took their own sweet time to correct the mistake, including appointments for the technician to fix things where no one showed up. So after more than two weeks without internet or phone (except on my mobile) we were back. But it is amazing, how many things you actually need the internet for these days. Which created a huge backlog of things. Once I had worked my way through that, German mail ended their 4 week strike and I had to work my way through the backlog of snail mail. Bottom line is… I am only now back on track. So this will be the second attempt to catch up. I actually took a lot of photos this weekend so there should be enough to post for about a week now. So let’s get started with some minis. Again these are for Warzone: Resurrection. Up first is Timothy McGuire, one of the Warlords for the Imperial faction. He hails from a unit called the Golden Lions. Now as you can see on that link, I painted the unit in classic red body armour. Most times they are also depicted with black-grew tiger stripe camo on their armour. Back then I was unsure if I should do that or not, so I planned to try it out on McGuire (better repainting one mini if it goes wrong than a whole unit). But then Prodos published new artwork of him in yellow armour with blue-grey and red tiger stripes. I felt that looked a bit ugly, but non the less wanted to try how it looked on a mini, so the plan was hatched to paint him that way, which I did. I think the results look a bit strange, since I can imagine no place where such a camo would work, but I like him none the less, so he will stay this way. Looking at the photos though, I think I will have to go back and add some colour to the hinge of the right arm and the valves on his chest plate.

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Timothy McGuire

Up next is Morten Oakenfist, Chieftain of the Wolfbanes. He is a bear of a man and the mini is huge for a human as well (even larger than MacGuire in his power armour). If you remember Slythe from the previous post, I felt that his colors were  to earthen, so I went classic Wolfbanes on him and went for blue clothing and only did his armour in browns. I really liked that, so my other Wolfbanes will receive blue clothing as well. I also tried some different brown combinations on his armour, but that was not my cup of tea, so the next ones will revert back to what I tried on Slythe. The bigger problem was his tartan. I have now decided, that all my Wolfbanes will have some tartan items, both to give them some colour and to be able to distinguish the basic squads later on. But most obviously, there is no Clan Oakenfist today, so what pattern to pick? Well his mother is a Murdoch and today the Murdoch families is allied to the Clans MacDonald and MacPhearson. But in the Warzone universe the Murdochs have become a clan of their own and a powerful one at that, so they should have their own tartan. I personally liked the MacDonald tartan better than the MacPhearson one (and being a big Runrig fan MacDonald seemed to be a better homage), so I took that as a basis for my Murdoch tartan:

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Chieftain Morten Oakenfist

Up next are the Pathfinders. These can be taken either as advisors to squads (essentially making them faster and allowing them to pass through terrain more easily) or as Warlords. The one on the large base is the Warlord, the rest are the advisors. As you can see they are a mix of Oakenfist and Slythe colourwise… blue clothing and lighter brown leather armour. One thing that gave me headaches here were the grenades. As the reader with a keen eye might notice, they have grenade launchers strapped to their right forearm and the corresponding grenades to their right leg (yes I know, they would make more sense on the left legs, since you would have to load them with your left hand). Since they can fire different types of grenades, I wanted to represent that. So some grenades got golden tips, while other had blue or red metallic ones (as in real life). The big problem was, blue did not show up on the blue clothing and red looked strange, so in the end they all got golden tips. They other thing I am still unsure about is their faces. They are supposed to have blue tattoos on their faces, but I did not like that though too much, since I felt it might ruin the character of their faces, so I did without those. On the other hand it does not fit the background, so I might still go back to them, but I guess I will decide that once I have most of the Wolfbanes painted! Up first are one advisor and the Chieftain. The advisor is sporting my Murdoch tartan, while the Warlord wears a pattern based on Clan Munro. Since my unit is based on the Black Watch, I felt that it would be nice to have a Warlord that features the same colors as their first commander. Plus it is yet another homage to Runrig.

Wolfbane Pathfinder (Advisor left, Warlord right)

Wolfbane Pathfinder (Advisor left, Warlord right)

Wolfbane Pathfinder (rear view, Advisor left, Warlord right)

Wolfbane Pathfinder (rear view, Advisor left, Warlord right)

And another two advisors. The one on the lest is wearing a tartan based on clan Stewart and the right one a Government tartan. Both patterns have a strong association with the Black Watch (the former is their pattern, the later was often worn by their pipers), so these just felt the way to go. All these patterns will feature strongly amongst my Wolfbane forces, although i could kick myself for the Munro and Steward patterns, since they take a bleeping long time to paint!

Wolfbane Pathfinder Advisors

Wolfbane Pathfinder Advisors

Wolfbane Pathfinder Advisors (rear)

Wolfbane Pathfinder Advisors (rear)

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2015 in Imperial, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

13 responses to “Catching up (second attempt)

  1. Rob Shackleton

    July 14, 2015 at 12:04

    Burkhard – you have done a fine job with the tartan patterns!

     
  2. Nysse

    July 14, 2015 at 16:31

    Nice work on those minis! As Rob said your work on the tartan’s is top notch!

    I had similar issues with the internet service when I lived in Germany. Seems to take ages for them to react to any issues and even then dealing with the technician was a bit tricky as he was from somewhere in the south and I could hardly understand his accent 🙂 Though I’d imagine he had the same issues with my German as well… But good that everything is now sorted. Can’t wait for your posts!

     
    • Burkhard

      July 14, 2015 at 16:44

      Thank you Samulii!

      It seems to be a common problem here. When your provider is the same the the network owner everything seems to go fine all the time (at least everyone I know who is using their services, has never had any problems like that). But if you are using another provider, they always seem to botch things when connecting your line (oddly enough everyone I know who is using a different provider has reported this). At times I think they are like the mobsters asking for Danegeld in the US movies…: Oh, you have such a nice computer / telephone there. Would it not be a shame if it never got connected. But if you choose our services, we will make sure you are always connected!”

      At least the technician that actually kept the appointment was a nice guy and we could talk shop (me having been on a C3 unit on my national service).

       
  3. kaiserbill

    July 15, 2015 at 06:23

    Wonderful minis as always Burkhard Not really my cup of tea, but at least they are humans, (my favorite kind). And to add to the conversation about the net providers, I totally understand you as it’s the same here in Greece, the former state owned telephone company owns the lines and rends the cables (and YES, it is now owned by almost 60% by German companies), and they cause problems to the other providers, like HOL which is a Vodafon subsidiary.
    Anyway, keep the figures coming

     
    • Burkhard

      July 15, 2015 at 16:19

      Thank you! I know all the SciFi stuff for the past 1 year or so has really been pushing the patience of my mainly historical readers, but I hope to remedy that in the later half of the year when I will need to switch to WWII.

      Regarding the telephone / internet situation… I guess being left out in the rain in situations like these is the wonderful side of market liberalisation world wide these days.
      And on a more political note… I hope German companies will not start buying up the rest of Greece. What happened on Monday was shameful enough as it is, without it turning into a gift for German companies!

       
      • kaiserbill

        July 15, 2015 at 19:03

        I do not “despise” Sci-Fi figures, in fact I own hordes of GW Imperial Guard troopers ( the metal ones by the Perry’s) And I watch a Star Trek saga or SG1 once a year, and that’s over 400 episodes combined. and on a footnote: I have all of -the now defunct- Phoenix Icons Stargate figures that I want to paint ASAP.
        And without wanting to start a conversation that leads to nowhere, because there is not black or white , I just hope that everything will turn out all right, and live to see it.
        Keep up the good job
        Andreas

         
        • Burkhard

          July 15, 2015 at 20:32

          I know a lot of people do not have any objections to SciFi, but the main focus of the group has always been historical minis, which is why I am always expecting most of the readers to be more historical minded.

          I have to admit, that I view at least one of the Stargate and Star Trek series a year as well. Usually while painting. And I have to say, I am envious of your Stargate minis! 😉

          I agree there is no black and white, but (regardless of who is to blame for the basic situation) we can not act in a way that people see no light anymore. And I agree, let’s keep our fingers crossed, that it will turn out right!

           
  4. Dean

    July 15, 2015 at 14:28

    Sounds like a tough time with the internet and mail, Burkhard. Nevertheless, your new figures are superb! Love the tartan work, as well as the rest of the details on these great figures.

     
    • Burkhard

      July 15, 2015 at 16:24

      Thank you Dean! I actually loved the tartans, always do, just not sure if I will still do so after the whole army. But then again… The whole army will be about as larger as two Napoleonic units, so it should be half as bad!

      Personally, I even enjoyed the tranquility the missing internet and postal worker strike meant, but unfortunately the world does not stop. The funniest part was getting a one + month old doctors bill and the due notice for it just two days part last week.

      I just hope to be able to give all your blogs the attention they deserve again now!

       
  5. von Peter himself

    July 16, 2015 at 08:46

    A warm welcome back Burkhard. I’d be a nervous twitching wreck if deprived of the internet for any length of time. Who knows what I’d be missing out on! Sad really. One of those first world problems that people rightly laugh at.

    Another splendid bunch of figures. Perhaps one of the reasons that I paint the armies and figures that I paint is because there is not a tartan to be seen! Cowardly? Perhaps. 😃 You’ve done well with your tartans. Congratulations.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      July 16, 2015 at 14:42

      Thank you vP!

      As I said… it was actually quite nice to have a couple of weeks week from the outside world.

      Glad you like the tartans. Maybe you should try out some Napoleonic Highlanders for a change!

       
  6. RVA

    July 21, 2015 at 19:18

    miniature of Timothy McGuire have a worse design like warmachine miniature+warpath or something

     

What do you think?

 
