RSS

SAGA, Flemish Mercenaries

08 Dec
SAGA, Flemish Mercenaries

After the preparations for the Battle of Berlin game were done, I felt it was time to paint some minis for SAGA. The German Grand Melee has really re-kindled my interest in SAGA, so I am planning to paint up a few new Warbands for it. I already have Normans, Anglo-Saxons, Scots and Spanish to paint, but before I get started on those, it was time for some Swords for Hire.
I had bought these Flemish Mercinaries about two years ago. The big problem with these guys was, that their rules could not be found in any of the SAGA books, but only in their packages. So I kind of bought these unseen. So after buying them, I found they did not fit my Vikings too well. So they were just stored away. When I prepared for this years Grand Melee, I felt they would fit my Byzantines. So I cleaned the minis up and primed them. Only then did I realise, that Byzantines are not allowed Swords for Hire. But since they were already cleaned up, they made a natural choice for the first minis to get back into SAGA. Plus they should fit into some of the other Warbands and will be useful for both Dark Ages and Christian Crescent & Cross Warbands, since the rules for (Flemish) Mercinaries are similar in both.

Not much to tell about the paintjob or minis. The bugler was a but of a letdown, with lots of flash on the mini, which required a lot of cutting and sculpting. All the rest was straight forward paintjobs. The shields are all hand painted. I decided to only add some dirt to them, but no battledamage. Never liked the looks of damaged shields too much, so that was it. The colours for the shields were kept in yellows and blacks. Not too sure if those were already the Flemish colours during the dark ages, but I felt it was fitting. Some for the Flemish Lion. I kept that one deliberately simple, to make sure it fits in with medival  theme of SAGA. 

Hope you enjoy them!

Flemish Mercenaries

Flemish Mercenaries


Flemish Mercenaries

Flemish Mercenaries


Flemish Mercenaries

Flemish Mercenaries

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2015 in Gripping Beast, Medival, SAGA, Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “SAGA, Flemish Mercenaries

  1. Azazel

    December 8, 2015 at 22:19

    They look great, and work very well as a coherent unit. I love the freehand work on the shields. Kudos!

     
    • Burkhard

      December 10, 2015 at 20:10

      Thank you. I also painted a unit of Norman spearman after these (pictures coming soon) and they lack consistent colours on their shields. It is amazing how different that looks!

       
  2. imperialrebelork

    December 8, 2015 at 22:49

    The shields are impressive. Very good lines. Well done

     
    • Burkhard

      December 10, 2015 at 20:11

      Thank you… very happy with them myself! 😉

       
  3. Nysse

    December 9, 2015 at 11:45

    Nice work on them! Look very nice as a group. Ruleswise they are a bit tricky. Might fit in quite well with a more defensive army. They can be quite a pain to kill of if you can get them on an objective, but getting there can be tricky.

     
    • Burkhard

      December 10, 2015 at 20:28

      Thanks!

      Rules wise I think the same. Which is the source of my problems. For my Vikings they are too defensive (plus Jarl Sigvaldi and his Jomsvikings seem that be a far better match when it comes to Swords for Hire for the Vikings).
      The Byzantines are defensive enough. I usually have two units of archers right behind a row of spearmen. They would have been a nice replacement for those spearmen. Only that Byzantines are not allowed SfH.
      With the Anglo-Saxons, one seems to need as many Anglo-Saxons as possible within each unit to get as much mileage out of the board as possible. So no room for them.
      Normans might work, but I am not sure if such a slow unit makes sense in such a highly mobile army.
      Same might apply to the Spanish, but due to their def naive nature they might be a good mix.
      Not sure about the Scots yet, but with their defensive nature it might work… Let’s see!

       

What do you think?

 
