RSS

Starting 2016 (and some Nostalgia)

18 Jan

First of all sorry for being a bit quiet lately. I guess I missed the customary New Years greetings and the look back at 2015. So far this year has been quite hectic and in parts not too pleasant (including someone thinking it was a good idea to park their car inside mine on a supermarket car park). Anyway, i will try my best to catch up a little, since I still managed to slap a little paint on some models.

Lets start with one of them. As I have done the last 3 years, i decided to participate in this years Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge. I only went for a minimal goal of 250 points (after all I have work and decided to go back to university so there is some learning to do as well). Even that seems like a big call right now, so i think I will have to participate in as many theme rounds as possible to go for the bonus points. The first of these was actually a little over two weeks ago and called “Nostalgia).

The nostalgia round gave me something to contemplate. After all I am mainly painting historical minis these days, so in a way, it is always a bit nostalgic. But in the end I decided that it would be nice to go back to the minis I started tabletop gaming with over a quarter of a century ago (I had painted scale models before, but that would have been too nostalgic for my taste and I did not have the time for something like that). So it had to be a Mech from Battletech. I quit playing and sold my collection (well over 500 Mechs plus tanks, infantry and so on) between 2000 and 2001, so I had nothing left to work with.
The first Battletech model I ever painted was a Locust, but looking on eBay, those were either incomplete or selling for hilarious prices. So I asked my friends, but the best someone had was an incomplete one as well. But the same person also had a Battlemaster, which was the second model I ever painted for Battletech.
Battlemaster

Battlemaster

Back then I painted everything in the colors of my own private mercenary outfit, but I felt that I should do something different for that friend who kindly borrowed me this model. Since he had no clear preferences, I went for my favorite House, House Kurita. Namely the 9th Ghost Regiment.
Battlemaster

Battlemaster

They paint their Mechs in a light grey / off white with darker accents. The left half of the Mech is decorated with a Cherry or Plum Tree in full bloom. I chose a cherry for this one. I had done something similar for another SciFi model in 2014 and liked the looks. Only let down for me was… that other model was mainly black and the tree would really pop. With the off-white it is not as visually impressive.
Battlemaster

Battlemaster

The Kurita markings on the left shoulder and the Japanese symbol for “4”, denoting this one to be the 4th Mech in its Lance are freehand.
Battlemaster

Battlemaster

So this is it. The next theme round is already up and I will try to post my entry later this week.

 
 

5 responses to “Starting 2016 (and some Nostalgia)

  1. Dean

    January 18, 2016 at 19:29

    Nice to see your brushwork again, Burkhard. I recall seeing the cherry/plum motif before – very nice. Best wishes on the Challenge!

     
    • Burkhard

      January 19, 2016 at 10:00

      Thanks Dean!

      It really feels like I am painting far too little these days. So lets see how I will do!

       
  2. von Peter himself

    January 19, 2016 at 10:56

    Welcome back Burkhard and a happier remainder of 2016!

    I hope the idea of stacking cars in supermarket carparks doesn’t catch on over here! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      January 19, 2016 at 10:59

      Thanks vP!

      I hope so, too. At least my car dealer made a perfect job of fixing it and it seems like the other drivers insurance company is not out for a fight.

       
  3. Michael Awdry

    January 24, 2016 at 20:52

    A stunning entry, I just loved the free hand additions – a beautiful piece of work.

     

What do you think?

 
