RSS

Endoskeletons for Terminator Genesys (3rd Entry, 6th AHPC)

05 Mar
Endoskeletons for Terminator Genesys (3rd Entry, 6th AHPC)

As I put it last week… Ei will be bäck. So here I am. Nothing special this week, actually very simple fare. 20 Endoskeletons for the Terminator Genesys game.

Terminators

Terminators

All in all these were a very simple paint job. I airbrushed a coat of Chrome paint on and a airbrush blue wash over the weapons, for a very light OSL effect. Red eyes, light grey teeth a satin varnish and they were done.

Terminators

Terminators

I kept the bases very simple and bare to depict a ground with nuclear fall-out and no feels and whistles.

Terminators (heavy and support)

Terminators (heavy and support)

As I said very simple. Cleaning them up, basing them and preparing them, took longer than painting. Why repairing them, you ask? Well some genius decided to do the heavy and support Endos (the picture above) in metal. The models for Terminator are 28mm. Since the Ednos would have to fit inside the human skin (if used as infiltrators) they are essentially very slim skeletons. with the plastic minis that is fine… they are a bit thicker and robust, but the metal ones are not. One broke off at the ankles during painting, with another the arm broke in half. The legs and arms are so thin, that I could not pin them, even with a .1mm wire. So I had to glue the wires to the outside. I guess the game would have been better served in 32mm. I hope they survive a couple of games!

Terminators (crawlers)

Terminators (crawlers)

 

10 responses to “Endoskeletons for Terminator Genesys (3rd Entry, 6th AHPC)

  1. Dean

    March 5, 2016 at 15:57

    Very nice – great results for a relatively straight forward process. As I’ve mentioned before, I never got off the ground with airbrushing. The mixing and clean up has always put me off.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 7, 2016 at 16:31

      Thank you Dean.

      To be honest… in the past I always mixed the paints, but that was a lot of effort and you had to keep at them in at least mid-sized amount (I would guess 30+ ml) just to make sure you never ran out of a colour when needed. But you always had the problem that due to all the mixing you might have chips or denser globs in there, which would then clog up the airbrush and require extensive cleanup during the use.
      I then switched for Tamiya, but those colors always required thinning and they seem to tend to build a thicker layer at the bottom of the glass and at some point that just becomes outright tricky to thin down.
      So I switched for the airbrush colors from Vallejo and those are just fine.
      Regarding cleaning the airbrush. Yes that is a must. Which is why my first and foremost advise to anyone buying an airbrush is to buy one that disassembles easily. Since you come from an army background, I guess you will see the similarities. Just like a gun, an airbrush needs cleaning up after each use. But just like a gun, you should be able to disassemble it, clean it and put it back together with minimal tools and in minimal time.
      I have one (actually I have two by now) from a German company called Harder & Steenbeck. They are a charm to clean, since all the parts that need to be cleaned can be disassembled without any tools and (as long as you use a little common sense) can not be damaged in the process. This is really important, since airbrushes work with extremely minimal tolerances in their parts and it is really easy to fit something too loose (creating too big a tolerance) or too tight (actually damaging the parts). And if you require tools or the parts are hard to fit together this can happen easily.
      All in all it takes me a maximum of 5 minutes to give the airbrush a complete and proper clean-up, which I am really happy with.

       
  2. von Peter himself

    March 5, 2016 at 22:21

    “One broke off at the ankles during painting”. Eeek – you obviously have a very robust painting technique Burchard … or the figures are very fragile! 😎

    Obviously these are really fragile figures. A shame. They look good all painted up … and you never know perhaps a few layers of paint have added extra strength to the figures! 😃

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      March 7, 2016 at 16:34

      Hi vP, I would really blame it on the minis there. I am usually very good at not breaking my minis during painting. Even with the Victoria bayonets (which everyone complains about) I only managed to break one in over 100 minis. And I fear those thin layers of paint will not make them much sturdier.
      Glad you like them.

       
  3. Azazel

    March 6, 2016 at 03:36

    They’ve come up well at least. What do you think of the game itself?

     
    • Burkhard

      March 7, 2016 at 16:40

      Thank you.

      Regarding the game… no idea actually, since I have not gotten around to read the rules. Will do the humans soon and then we will give it a try. I will let you know!

       
  4. Michael Awdry

    March 6, 2016 at 10:21

    You’ve done a great job on these, but sorry to hear that they were so fiddly!

     
    • Burkhard

      March 7, 2016 at 16:40

      Thank you! It cannot be helped that they are fiddly… I just hope they survive gameplay!

       
  5. daggerandbrush

    March 9, 2016 at 21:53

    I love those sculpts. They look just like the ones in the movies. I think they look very good, but maybe some controlled wash would bring out the details more. You already did this, but I think some of the details don’t pop in the pictures.

    Good background choice by the way. Reminds me of the backflash scenes in Terminator 1.

     
    • Burkhard

      March 10, 2016 at 13:51

      Well I did use chrome before on my Valkyries for Warzone last year. I had to find that washes, even pin-point washes, can be extremely tricky on chrome. Slight washes will hardly be noticed, stronger ones will ruin the chrome effect. In the end, I went with the former solution. On these it actually works fine, especially to the eye, since they have so many recesses, that even the chrome gives you nice effects. Which does not mean, that I am 100% happy with it… it is just the lesser of the two evils.
      Regarding the background… just what i had been aiming for… glad it worked!

       

What do you think?

 
