RSS

French vehicles in 28mm anyone?

10 Mar

Some of you might remember, that the other year, I was pointing you to a Kickstarter for Hungarian WWII tanks. Well I have to say that one went quite well, and I personally was very pleased with the return. Everything was in the expected time window and the quality was superb. So that sure was a Kickstarter I did not mind backing.

Now the Mad Bob Miniatures is back with their next Kickstarter, and it is looking just as good. This time it is mostly about French vehicles, but not the standard fare, that you can easily get from Warlord games or the like, but rather those that are missing to give you a good historical force.


What I find most interesting though (as I am not looking at building a 1940 French army) are some of the stretch goals. These feature some vehicles that will be quite useful for the 21st Panzer Division in Normandy (7.5 cm Pak 40 auf Somua MCG and Geschützwagen 39H(f) with both the 7,5 PaK and 10,5 Howitzer) as well as vehicles that are useful for the minor powers or early war Germans (Panzer 38H 735(f), Hotchkiss H39, ACG-1 / AMC-35). So if some of these ring your bell, pay the Kickstarter a visit.

By the way… at the time of writing, the pledges are already just shy of 3800 GBP, so some of the strechgoals shown, have already been unlocked.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “French vehicles in 28mm anyone?

  1. AdvanceOp

    March 11, 2016 at 00:47

    As a German player I am following this one closely and really hope it cracks at least the $5000 mark. Unfortunately I am not planning French, which means it’s not really worth backing until then. All the French players I know are already backing it 😉

     
    • Burkhard

      March 11, 2016 at 10:00

      I am a bit in between. I want an 1940 French army one day. I even got a few FT tanks for them (which the French and Poles were still using), but that is due to the fact that I got these from the US without having to pay international shipping and that I needed three for my Poles anyway. So right now the French are of little interest to me, too. So I am hoping for the 5,000 and 7,500 stretchgoals, which I am pretty sure will be reached.
      Which is why I already pledged based on that expectation. Bob has a good way of tiering his stretchgoals, making sure that they cater for different interests. As a result, his last Kickstarter usually got a good boost every time a Stretchgoal was unlocked. So I am hoping to kick that system in.

       
  2. Nysse

    March 11, 2016 at 07:00

    This seems to have gone under my radar completely! Some quite interesting vehicles on offer as the French arguably had some very unique looking vehicles. Though I’m only really interested in the Beutepanzers, so I think my pledge will have to wait until those start unlocking

     
    • Burkhard

      March 11, 2016 at 10:03

      Good that I brought these to your attention. As I said in reply to AdvanceOps post, I am pledging early in the hope that the usual boosts set in early. Only about 10 more people doing that and we will reach the PaK Unic already. 😉

       

What do you think?

 
