RSS

La Bricole Painting Competition (Part 4) / 4th Marine Regiment

10 Feb
La Bricole Painting Competition (Part 4) / 4th Marine Regiment

OK the weather still has not turned warmer here, but I could not stand having nearly finished minis sitting around here for much longer. So I decided that I would not enter by game room for one day (due to the fumes) and (spray-)varnish them indoors. So here is the first finished batch of Napoleonic French Marines for the La Bricole painting competition. Except for the varnish and basing the only new thing is that I painted the flag over even more.

But there are the minis in all their glory, ready to take on von Yorck´s Prussians at Leipzig!

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine

And some shots of the individual stands (I go a bit carried away there, but I do not really regret it ;-))

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine 1st stand

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine 1st stand

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine 2nd stand

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine 2nd stand

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine command stand

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine command stand

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine 3rd stand

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine 3rd stand

4e - 1 régiment d'infanterie de marine 4th stand

4e - 1 Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine 4th stand

I usually do not paint regimental number on shako covers or ammo pouches, since I want to keep the units generic. Because lets face it… from a normal table distance you can not make out the writing on the flags. On the other hand the numbers on the shakos and pouches are more obvious, since they are bigger and offer a higher contrast. So if I leave them off the lets say 54th Regiment can just as well depict the 77th in the next game. Since the Völkerscchlacht game will most likely be my only use of Marines, I did not care this much here.

To round the pictures off, here are two shots of the skirmishers. As I said before these will not see use with the 1st battalion, but the 2nd. Since they are finished they get their 15 minutes of fame now.

4e régiment d'infanterie de marine skirmishers front

4e Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine skirmishers front

4e régiment d'infanterie de marine skirmishers back

4e Régiment d'Artillerie de la marine skirmishers back

 

10 responses to “La Bricole Painting Competition (Part 4) / 4th Marine Regiment

  1. Der Knodd

    February 10, 2012 at 14:26

    They look great!

    Funny, on Wednesday I lost my nerves about the weather and varnished my minis in my Hobby room, too.
    (Don’t tell my wife…)

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 10, 2012 at 14:34

      Lol… maybe great minds think alike! 😀

      Like

       
  2. The Angry Lurker

    February 10, 2012 at 14:38

    I’ll spray anywhere and open a window and hide, the minis come first

    Like

     
  3. Ray

    February 10, 2012 at 19:04

    Great looking figures! I like the leader waving his shako on his sword!!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 10, 2012 at 19:10

      THX! I was not too sure if the plastic sword would be stable enough when I converted the mini, but after painting the minis I am certain it will do even during games.

      Like

       
  4. Simon Miller

    February 10, 2012 at 21:07

    I think those look great Burkhard, bags of character. I’m going to try your excellent mud technique on my next unit… Cheers, SImon

    Like

     
  5. grant

    February 11, 2012 at 07:03

    Terrific looking minis – I now plan to do a battalion or two of these Marines!

    Like

     
  6. John de Terre Neuve

    February 11, 2012 at 13:38

    Very nice, great looking unit.

    John

    Like

     
  7. Wargamerabbit

    February 12, 2012 at 08:40

    Excellent work here. They will be ready for their tabletop action……loads of gaming character. I should try your “mud work” on some older “veterans” miniatures.

    Michael aka WR

    Like

     
  8. Burkhard

    February 13, 2012 at 10:25

    Thank you guys!

    And for those who want to copy the unit or mud… they say that imitation is the greatest form of flattery. So I really feel honoured!!! 😀

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.